We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food, people & views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows to your Saves list
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows
Kemetug, Kanciana | Desa Gunung Salak, Tabanan, Bali 82113, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
7th Night Free*
1 review
“Best food, people & views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent about 4 nights in the largest bungalow here. The accommodation was impressive and we appreciated all of the extra space to relax in.
The strengths of Bali Eco Stay are definitely the food, people & surrounds. Mini's kitchen served the best food I have had all trip. It was so delightful and I really made an effort to try and get through all local dishes on the menu and it's all amazing.
The people here are all beautiful & friendly.
All in all I strongly recommend Eco Stay. Just be aware if you are a city dweller like me, the night sounds may initially come as a shock to you, I assume this is especially the case during the wet season. Having said this, it is something you will easily adjust too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
76
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I must recommend Bali Ecostay. The time and effort put into this unique site resulted in a fantastic stay. Thanks so much to John, cath, mini and the whole crew for making us so welcome and serving some lovely food. The local walks and views are amazing and well worth the journey. We were picked up and dropped off making it so easy to access and all the more relaxing.
We stayed in the Harvest bungalow and loved the extra space and style of building. Just great.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

When you visit somewhere so beautiful, peaceful and absorbing it's pretty hard to write a review that does not come across a little corny. I'll merely endorse the previous 113 reviews and add that John and family, the delightful Balinese people and this amazing place on earth should be very high on the list of places you must visit. Truly amazing does not come close. And the food in the restaurant is magnificent.

Room Tip: All beautifully designed and not a single aspect I could find fault with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We absolutely loved staying at Bali Eco Stay - an extraodinary experience in every way. We stayed at the charming Little Padi bungalow for 5 days and delighted in the wonderful and ever changing views across rice terraces, the constant sound of running water from the stream, the night time frog choruses and fire flies, and the complete peace and relaxation of the place. It was idyllic! All the staff were gracious, warm and hospitable, the food was fantastic (healthy, organic and delicious) the spring water pure and beautiful to drink, and wandering up to the dining room for meals it felt as if we were being looked after with the hospitality of friends and family. We felt we were glimpsing an old Bali, far from tourists. Loved walking nearby through rice terraces and villages. It is an truly inpsiring example of ecotourism with its well thought out environmental management policies and committment to working with the al Balinese communities in a socially responsible and sustainable way. All the praise in the other reviews is true! It is a magical place and we will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband & I stayed at Bali Eco Stay in November for 5 days. We were awed by the beauty and inspired by what John, Cath, Huey, Mini and their staff have created in this amazing location. What an incredible part of Bali. Bali Eco Stay....it is really Bali at its best!!!!
We stayed in Little Padi bungalow - it was perfect, stunning views over the rice paddies.
The first thing I needed to see was the permaculture garden... the garden supplies the veggies to the restaurant. The garden is fabulous. The meals in the restaurant were excellent, my cooking class with Mini was fun and I recommend Pepes Ikan and the homemade icecream is the best in the world!
We just took in all the amazing beauty and the overwhelming energy.... the scenery, walks and the people just blow us away! !!! it was wonderful. I enjoyed simply lying in the pristine river and reading a book...so relaxing and refreshing. I had taken over books & paints/etc for the local school. John took me for a visit....it was beautiful. Next time I visit the school will be renovated. We so loved this amazing place. If you are looking to stay in Bali...please make this resort a must stay....it really is Bali at its best
I embrasse the energy that John & Cath give to the local communities. It will take time...but they will make a difference. We will be back to stay!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Our family of 5 recently spent 5 days in the Harvest Bungalow. Everything was just perfect. The accomodation was heavenly,the food was divine (must recommend the Nasi Campur, Nasi Goreng, pizza and homemade icecream as our family's favourites-breakfast was also exquisite) the staff were truly beautiful and the natural environment was stunning. This is the only place we will stay on future trips to Bali (hopefully sooner than later). The highlights of our visit to Ecostay were participating in a children's english class with children from the local village, a cooking class with Mini, carving, basket weaving and flute making with Kadek and 2 of the beautiful elders from the village, aswell as participating in a local village ceremony. I must add that I was very appreciative of the staff's respect for guest privacy which helped in making a truly relaxing experience. During my visit my husband and I felt completely refreshed and at ease. Special thanks to the lovely ladies in the kitchen (we have remembered your names, just not sure how to spell them) and also our driver Made.
On the way home to Australia, we stayed a couple of nights in a luxury villa in Ubud. Although this place was twice the price, it was, in every respect, not a patch on Bali Ecostay.
Looking forward to our next visit and thanks John and Kath for creating this magical paradise.
P.S. One suggestion my husband had was to offer a crash course in Indonesian language.

Room Tip: Harvest room is most spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Despite the promise to myself never to stay in the same place twice in Bali, I am definitely coming back here! I stayed in Buddah which was just perfect for me, but I was able to view all the bungalows and they are all gorgeous.
The setting is completely natural here, so no manicured gardens, just raw natural beauty, not seen in many places. The rice fields were amazing. I did the 2 hour walk thru 3 villages and the barking dogs (funny, you just bend over and they go running off), up hills, thru rice paddies and loved every step. The views were to die for, and being there is much better than a photo could ever depict. You can even swim in the freshwater stream that runs alongside the property, or park yourself under the waterfall!!
I loved all the noises at night, even the resident gecko, that kept all the bugs and mozzies away. Buddah, has no doors even so you are really out in amongst it - but totally safe. I loved it - I spent many hours, reading on my daybed, listening to the stream outside.
The food was delicious - I only ate Indonesian - except for once I had the french fries, and they simply were the best chips I had ever eaten - cooked in coconut oil - yum! Oh and also the icecream - the best!
John took us to see the local school children doing their dance classes one afternoon and another day I watched the Silat martial arts lessons, just near my bungalow. There were plenty of activities, inc massage - so is a great place also for kids.
As a solo traveller, everywhere you go you pay the same rate, that you would for a couple and at sub $100 per night for Buddah, I found that to be very good value. It is a great place for any kind of holiday, whether it be family, honeymoon, solo, retreat, wedding - you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows

Address: Kemetug, Kanciana | Desa Gunung Salak, Tabanan, Bali 82113, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Eco Stay, for those who would like to escape to a rich local culture, with stunning organic rice fields & spectacular views, mountain fed streams and cascading waterfall. Three uniquely crafted private bungalows set in paradise. Nourishing and sumptuous organic meals.This is a place for you to… Unwind… Get Inspired… Be Rejuvenated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows Hotel Tabanan
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows Tabanan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.