We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows to your Saves list
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows
Kemetug, Kanciana | Desa Gunung Salak, Tabanan, Bali 82113, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
7th Night Free*
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We did enjoy much of the experience of coming this far out of the way. The hosts were very welcoming, the food very good and the setting gorgeous. We loved swimming in the waterfalls. John did share and give us some wonderful experiences including participating in the The one thing we felt was weak was the accommodation. We stayed in the largest and most expensive cottage. We did not enjoy this part at all. The location may be the worst of the cottages available in that it is lowest and shadiest. We did not enjoy sleeping in the damp, musty sheets and the cottage was dim and dark. I would not want to stay here again because of this and yet everything else was really great.

Room Tip: If you're looking for something really different from the normal tourist type experience, this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baliecostay, Owner at Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thanks so much Doris for taking time to write a review and giving us feedback both positive and negative.
Both bedroom floors have been resurfaced in The Harvest Bungalow and the rising damp problem rectified..Plus we have trimmed all the vegetation to let in more air and light.
It was particularly wet during your stay ( middle of the wet season ) which did not help matters and your son surprising you and booking you into an Eco Lodge instead of your preferred five star resort must have been a little confronting.
We are so glad you enjoyed all other aspect of your stay with us and be rest assured that those matters you raised with us during your stay in early February and mentioned in your review where acted upon as soon as the bungalow became vacant.
Trust we get the opportunity to look after you again in the future.
Kind regards,
John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
76
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at Eco Stay. We stayed in the Little Buddha cabin right on the river. Before we arrived, we had slight hesitation staying in the Little Buddha - being city folks used to comfort and convenience (and A/C). Our concerns melted away as soon as we arrived. The cabin was right on the river, looking into a mountain - it was completely open on one side, and the "bedroom" was lofted. We spent hours sitting on the oversized sofa/day-bed reading and listening to the river and enjoying the natural surroundings. We took a dip in the river right outside our cabin and the waterfall on the property. The restaurant is located on a hill, with the most jaw-dropping views of the mountains and rice paddies. The food at the restaurant was delicious, the massages (on the property) divine, and our trek with Alitt was phenomenal. Eco Stay is a magical place. One tip - burn bug repellent incense and use bug spray (offered by Eco Stay).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We loved this place - you feel sincerely welcomed by all, had terrific food, interesting walk with local farmer who explained a lot about the farms and vegetation, enlightening talks with John and Cath re sustainability, massages in a beautiful "bale", swims in the spring water stream, and absolute peace in an individual bungalow overlooking food garden, rice paddies and the coast when clear.

We felt we were participating in something that contributed to the local people and community rather than exploiting them, which was probably the best part.

We should have spent more time here.

Room Tip: We loved our "little padi" bungalow - private, quiet, good views, over running water so gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Great place with everything looked after. There is a real nice caring culture in the place. This was highlighted one day when it started raining and one of the girls ran to my room to drop the blinds so my stuff wouldn't get wet. In doing so she got herself wet when there was no need. Food was great and the people lovely.

I will be back!

Eric - Ireland

Room Tip: Buddha room is good if travelling solo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Best hotel on our Bali trip.

Plus: Great food! Mini makes Bali's best Nasi Goreng.

On a personal note, I'd strongly to recommend to spend less time at the beach in Bali, and instead spend time in the mountains. It's just so, so, so much nicer. (Though getting there is not convenient.) Just take your sunbath above the rice fields, and your bath in the breek.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

A truly wonderful experience from the time we arrived till the day we left! On arrival we were met by Johnny & Cath, Agung & Mini the smiles and welcome were genuine and warm, installing a great feeling of family.
The restaurant is very good with a fantastic breakfast included in the price and lovely choices for lunch & dinner or snacks if you wish. Mini makes a mean Chocolate cake!! (It doesn't last very long.) Organic cooking at its best nothing is to much trouble.
The views are truly outstanding and this is the "real Bali" we came to see. Built in a beautiful lush jungle amongst the rice fields its is a joy to wake up to the fantastic views across the valley.
We had arranged to stay 2 nights but ended up staying 8 as we felt so happy to be here.

Our highlights included walks/hikes across the rice fields and up to local villages as well as watching the local children swim in the stream that runs through the property and forms its own natural swimming pool. Its waterfall is lovely and you are able to stand under the water and enjoy nature at its best.
We loved the place and returned prior to our departure for the UK for another 3 nights. A place not to be missed on anyone visiting Bali.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Bali Eco Stay is the most magical destination. Our holiday began with the pick up ( dead on time) from Ubud to Tabanan with a driver who had done that trip many times. The Resort is a bit off the beaten track, but that makes for a great stay in a georgous area. We swam in the stunning river, the kids played in the tree and went tubing - we even had a tubing race - there were ducks and wildlife and stunning views from everywhere in the resort. The dining room is at the top of the resort with the most unbelievable views looking over the rice fields and the view stretches to the sea. Its simply stunning.
The accomodation was great - 2 bedrooms , 2 magnificent bathrooms opening to the outdoors but very private. We liked the mix of materials that John and Cath have used, a mix of wood, stone, carvings, all framing the rice paddies views. there was no TV which gave us a chance to catch up on playing cards as a family and reading books. Our daughter was even sunbaking on one of the outdoor daybeds one day, fully private and peaceful. She had a massage in the massage pavilion, and said it was the best one in Bali as she could only hear the sound of the tropics whilst having a glorious massage.
I havent started on the food yet. OMG ! Everything is organic and so delicious. We did a cooking class with Mini one day and learned her secrets. Fresh food cooked simply. The satays and sauces were fabulous. And the breakfasts - your allowed to have more if you want, so my kids certainly took up that option with the pancakes.
What I liked the most was the friendliness of the people, John and Cath went out of their way, we had a tour of the resort, saw the organic gardens, the animals, the rivers. There is a pool table and kids games room. We also learned Wood carving from one of the residents there and had lots to do all day.

Would I go again .. You Bet I Would. !

Room Tip: We had the villa at the bottom with the little stream outside our room. Was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows

Address: Kemetug, Kanciana | Desa Gunung Salak, Tabanan, Bali 82113, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Eco Stay, for those who would like to escape to a rich local culture, with stunning organic rice fields & spectacular views, mountain fed streams and cascading waterfall. Three uniquely crafted private bungalows set in paradise. Nourishing and sumptuous organic meals.This is a place for you to… Unwind… Get Inspired… Be Rejuvenated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows Hotel Tabanan
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows Tabanan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.