We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different Bali experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Taman Sari

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Taman Sari to your Saves list
Puri Taman Sari
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dusun Umabian, Desa Peken | Kecamatan Marga, Kabupaten Tabanan, Tabanan, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tabanan
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A different Bali experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

When this resort popped up as a compliment to my flight booking on Expedia I was skeptical initially, however with the past positive reviews here on Trip Advisor I gave it a shot with my fiancee. How glad I was when I arrived to this distinctively different Bali experience. The staffs here generally speaks English and more often than note serves us with a smile.

Though being close to nature also means some accompaniment by her habitats such as insects and all but the well kept and tranquil setting and surroundings should not be discounted on. Travelers should lower their expectation in accordance to the price paid and natural beauty in order to enjoy the stay.

Recommend: Agree that room looks gloomy sometimes and could do with an additional lighting in the bedroom.

Would like to thank Agung Nancy and Agung Bagus for all arrangements.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    40
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights and was pleased with hotel. Food was excellent and rooms were clean. Decorations on hut door had a sharp edge which can be dangerous to anyone over 5' 10". Location is remote and you are at the mercy of the hotel for driver pricing, visited ubud for half a day, be careful as driver stoped on way at a shop and my wife bought bag which subsequently was offered at 1/3 the price at the market in ubud. First night wifi worked in our room but then was blocked and had to use wifi in reception area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Me, my husband and 5 year old son stayed at Puri Taman Sari for one night, we had booked for 3 nights but then realised that this is not the place for family vacation. Hotel is situated in a village near Puri Taman Ayun royal temple in Mengwi. The hotel is family owned, in a very beautiful place in the middle of the rice fileds. The hotel territory is very well kept, staff is very friendly and helpful. Breathtaking tranquil scenery, ideal place for honeymooners and to take a week or so for meditation and yoga. Among other services like massage,hotel offers also ceremony of purification of chakras conducted by local holyman and fortune telling. You can also take a cooking class or learn how to make offerings. The restaurant offered excellent food and good service. There was a lovely small pool to cool off during extremely hot day.We had booked the deluxe cottage which was right near the reception area, the room was a little bit too dark and gloomy. The shower and toilet were outside in the little private courtyard. At the daytime with sun shining it was really cool, but at night when it was really dark (and they put all lights out on the territory at 10 in the evening) it was little bit scary. Anyway, when you decide to stay in this lovely hotel, you have to be prepared to face the nature, really huge green grasshopper on the toiletseat, spider as huge as my palm in our room at night, small cobra snake in the reception area. And of course the lovely gekos on your cottage roof, making their "GEKO" sound all the night long. At 6 am there starts the ceremony at the village temple with the priest making really strange sound from the throat and the loud music of gamelan, this sound is very loud considering the quietness of the place and in the darkness it was quite scary because we didn't undrestand at first what it was :). Overall for us at this vacation this was too zen :) but I will definitely recommend this place to everybody who wants to experience real balinese rural life in the most tranquil and mystic hotel I have ever visited. I definitely want to return some other time for nice meditative getaway.

Room Tip: Much better lookig rooms near pool. Our room was nr.06 near the reception, very dark, I would choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

quiet, Authentic, balinese hotel. i'm right now at padma resort legian-paying Five times the cost of puri taman sari, and wish i was back!!!!

my daughter and i stayed in a rice patty view room. from sunrise, you see the gorgeous green fields and watch locals plant on the terraces. you are in a rural village. ssooo much better than staying at a huge, fancy resort or in a large tourist filled city. the hotel was a royal residence and the grounds are lovely and authentic. ceremonies are held on site. there was a wedding one evening. we were able to enjoy the festivities, dances, and traditional music.

food-excellent and inexpensive. staff-friendly and helpful. rooms- my daughter loved the comfy bed covered by canopy net and called it her princess bed. outdoor show-clean, warm. great to shower under the stars. daybed overlooking the fields. small but very nice infinity pool.

i can't believe so few tripdvisor users have reviewed this place. it is a hiddn gem

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Puri Taman Sari is a beautiful resort of a few dozen rooms outside the village of Menguwi, in the foothills near Tabanan. This area is quieter than the mad tourist hotspots of Kuta and Seminyak, and much the better for it. We stayed in a "deluxe" villa, a short walk away from the main complex with a view of the rice paddies. It had the luxury feel of a much more expensive resort. The room is large and comfortable with powerful air-conditioning, the ensuite bathroom is open to the air and very nice. You have your own private verandah with day-bed and couch, and a private path to the swimming pool. The restaurant in the main courtyard has a selection of Indonesian and western food, all very reasonably priced ($US3 - 7 per meal) and very good quality. The friendly and helpful staff can arrange a variety of tours and day trips.

We almost wished we were staying longer than two nights - it is certainly a very comfortable way to spend one's time, at least if you are happy to have a low-key and relaxing holiday. Some travellers might find Menguwi a little too relaxed - there is no shopping nearby and to do any sightseeing you really need to hire a bike or scooter. But this was not a problem for us - we were happy to put our feet up for a bit!

One small criticism is that the free wi-fi didn't have a strong enough signal to reach our villa, but there were plenty of comfortable places to log in from in the main complex, so it wasn't a problem.

All in all, we loved it. Highly recommended if you don't mind paying a little extra for a lot more value.

Room Tip: The rice paddy villas are excellent value - private and luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We have just spent 4 nights at this lovely place, a former royal palace, situated away from any town and uncontaminated by the commercialism of the resort hotspots. Walk to villages through rice fields where you will find people very welcoming. We attended a temple rededication ceremony in Bajare, a tiny village in walking distance and were look after by locals. A very special experience. There's always something happening at this hotel. Dances performed by local villagers are frequent. We got an excellent deal using Tripadvisor 'find the best price' online facility.

Room Tip: We had room 17 which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011 via mobile

Unique hotel, which was a former royal palace. Typical architecture of Balinese homes, with different bungalows and even a temple (the days we were there, we met a few women making offerings for the ceremony to come)
beautiful relaxing place, with harmonious decoration. The hotel is ideally located in a very quiet area in the countryside, 15 min drive to Tabana. It is surrounded by rice paddies, which makes the stay "sooo Bali"!
We had a deluxe room, small and simple, but quite nice, with a lot of fresh flowers to welcome us. The bathroom is very original, as it is outside, in your small private garden. Charming and definitely different to have shower right under the sun!
Private Villas seem great, and have direct access to the nice swimming pool, with view on the rice fields and coconut trees.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Taman Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Taman Sari

Address: Dusun Umabian, Desa Peken | Kecamatan Marga, Kabupaten Tabanan, Tabanan, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Taman Sari 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Puri Taman Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Taman Sari Bali/Tabanan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Taman Sari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.