We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BLISSED OUT ON TRANQUILITY AND A WONDERFUL YOGA TEMPLE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Mountain Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bali Mountain Retreat to your Saves list
Bali Mountain Retreat
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Br Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Tabanan, Bali 82113, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
North Mackay, Australia
1 review
“BLISSED OUT ON TRANQUILITY AND A WONDERFUL YOGA TEMPLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Richard and Rani are such welcoming hosts and my first visit to the yoga temple sealed the deal on relaxation and tranquility. Early morning sunrises and late afternoon viewing from the Birds Nest was a special treat - all in all a most relaxing place to forget the madness of modern living. The food lacks nothing and the friendly staff are so smiling and helpful that one feels like an honored guest. Thanks to you all there - I am guessing you won't be able to tear yourself away and join us at The Pocket Richard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    36
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
102
39
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Follow the advise of BMR and let you pick you up to come to the Retreat. A driver who hasn’t been here before will get lost so nerves will avoid you to enjoy the splendid views on the road to BMR. The rooms, location, views are like promised on the website, the food in the restaurant is excellent and so is the breakfast.
We did some walks on our own, our host Richard Kaal, owner of BMR explained the road.
After Ubud and Lovina, it is nice to rediscover the other Bali we learned to know 25 years ago

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Bali Mountain Retreat was a bit more remote than I'd realized, but it's a perfect "retreat" from the busy-ness of Bali, and nice and cool in the evenings. The owner is very hospitable and warm and gives the place a warm feel. The rooms are clean and a cross between Balinese tradition and modern comfort. There are plenty of vegetarian options on the menu, which was unexpected. This place would be excellent for a meditation or yoga retreat.

Room Tip: The bungalows offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Coming from the madness of the popular Bali tourist beaches a trip into the tranquility of the Bali Mountain retreat was one of the best decisions i made travelling.The resort is one of pure peace and harmony where soul searching and realigning came naturally. Personal space was a plenty and when I felt Hungry or in need of company all my needs were there with big Bali Smiles that left me feeling like part of the Mountain Family. Richard, Rani and all the staff were perfect hosts and after 5 days at the Retreat i was completely refreshed from Mountain walks full of melodic singing birds, temple discoveries, perfect food, and great company all leaving me with a new mojo and creative drive which was what I needed and got in abundance. Get there ! its a must in this world to be able to disconnect and embrace nature and yourself. You will come out a different person. Its a true natural high !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Richard and Rani and their professional staff offer the perfect combination of peacefulness, beauty and interest to make a stay here truly memorable. The lush gardens surrounding the buildings in this quiet and thoughtfully designed complex attract butterflies and birds, frogs and roosters. The meals created by the talented and sweet Putri are delicious and the overall tranquillity encouraged us to sleep, eat, read, sleep, eat and read all day ! We did do the bike ride through the jungle tracks and villages to the hot springs which was fun too A highly recommended slice of idyllic paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

BMR is a well hidden pearl in the central mountains near Mt. Batukaru it is one of the most beautiful places I ever been.
In the resort all services are spot on and although it is a bit on the costly site for a budget traveller like myself it is worth every penny...
Just go there and be amazed take some time off relax - treat yourself with the Bali Mountain Retreat you want regret it!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a lovely, wonderful, peaceful place to stay. Nestled in the mountains above the chaos of South Bali, this is a peaceful retreat with incredibly hospitable staff and a wonderful menu.
Cool and away from the heat, quiet and removed from the noise, there's no traffic, but good wifi, no crowds but wonderful staff and a great host.
The restaurant has excellent vegetarian selections and the staff are very helpful. They'll arrange rides, day-trips, laundry, and transport anywhere on the island.
Beautiful rooms with a lot of character, adorable cats, and even a great mini-spa.
After a few days in Seminyak, I am so very happy we came up here to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mountain Retreat

Address: Br Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Tabanan, Bali 82113, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Mountain Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Mountain Retreat is nestled high on the eastern slopes of Mt Batukaru in traditional Bali. An amazing outlook to the coast, a natural setting amongst the food forest and drinking water direct from a spring on the mountain. In one direction you can trek in the last true national park in Bali and in the other stroll through the sculptured rice fields. With comfortable accommodation and delicious meals in a truly traditional setting, Bali Mountain retreat is a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Bali Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Mountain Retreat Hotel Tabanan
Bali Mountain Retreat Tabanan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Mountain Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.