We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amertha Bali Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amertha Bali Villas to your Saves list
Amertha Bali Villas
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Denpasar-Seririt Village | Pemuteran, Singaraja, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Pemuteran
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best place in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Amertha Villas was a slice of heaven in Bali on the NW coast. Beautiful villas with private swimming pools, porches, gardens and outdoor kitchens.....all on the beach. Great staff and good food. Close to the best diving and snorkeling in Bali. I want to send my kids there for a honeymoon when the time comes as it was so perfect. We were there off season in May so it was affordable. Would do it again and again.

Room Tip: Go the extra and get a villa with a pool. Great for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    79
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
87
166
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I and another couple just spent 4 magical days in Amerta villas, and it wasn't long enough! We stayed in a beachfront villa (number 2), which was particularly beautifully landscaped. It was a 20 meter walk from a lovely beach with amazing coral reefs and a wide variety of tropical fish. The snorkelIing was fantastic. We wish we could have stayed longer!
The villa itself was very beautiful with a lovely garden and pool. The interior was tastefully decorated, had all amenities, and the service was perfect and discreet. We visited the spa several times and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: We thought villa #2 was the best - private and beautifully landscaped and decorated, and just the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I recently stayed at Amertha with a friend as we were planning 6 days of diving and we were absolutely blown away when we saw villa #5. It was huge and had more space than the two of us would ever use. It really would be perfect for a small family as there was one master bedroom in the main part of the villa complete with a working desk, daybed, and television/DVD (not that we used this) and its own massive bathroom, indoor and outdoor shower and then the second bedroom also had a big bed and its own bathroom with indoor shower. There are a lot of outdoor areas to hang in at villa #5 including your own pool. The villa also has an outdoor kitchen complete with fridge and utensils but we didn't really use it. of the other hotels closer to the actually building. This villa was about halfway from the beach and road we only heard the mosque very softly which gave it an exotic quality rather than the harsh reality if you were closer to the road or at And it is loud if you are nearby at one of the restaurants further up the road when it goes off 4 times per day.

The spa is pretty good... the treatments I had were wonderful and the setting is simple in an outdoor way but if you are looking for luxury this probably isn't your place; The Madi Hari up the road has a much more luxurious spa. We were more interested in a Balinese experience and felt that this hotel and its spa lived more up to this than the only other 4/5 star equivalent in this area.

The restaurant served a mix of western and Indonesian food and the breakfast each morning that was included was delicious. I had the Indonesian breakfast which was a choice of Nasi goreng or Mie Goreng and both were good. You could also have eggs and pancakes and all came with fruit juice and a fruit plate. The staff were willing and eager to please and every single one of them greeted me each morning, including the ground staff.

Just outside the resort are several warungs where you can have meals and they are all a little different. We went to the one directly across from the Adi Assiri resort and it was so good that we went back 3 nights in a row and even did a cooking class with them. It turns out that it is owned by the manager of Amertha!

Do be aware that there were a few mosquitos when we were here so be sure you shut your doors always and use the netting over your bed.

Room Tip: As others have mentioned go as close to the beach as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Amertha 2 years ago and we still feel it was the best resort stay we have ever had. As noted by some other reviewers, this is not a resort for someone looking for a million activities. It is a resort for rest and relaxation with maybe a little snorkeling or scuba thrown in. We stayed in Villa #7 and thoroughly enjoyed our 4 days/5 nights there. Beautiful grounds, well kept facilities, all we needed for relaxing was there. The food was excellent especially the catch of the day served with a sambal that I would kill to get the recipe for. I am surprised by several other reviews stating this place is over priced. Good luck finding something like villa #7 in the states for under $1300. yes, the beach is not pristine due to trash in some places but it is a working fishing beach so that is to be expected. Amertha does a good job of cleaning up on their beach area. We both loved the place and will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Villa #7 is our choice. The price is very reasonable by US comparisons. It has a great layout, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

So many nice things could be said about Amertha Villas (grounds, staff, spa), but if you want to enjoy it, stay in a room away from the road and mosque. Noise from them drowns out the charming Balinese gamelan music (recorded) and can ruin a good massage. No matter how cheap the room, stay off of the road!!! The biorock project to restore reef off the beach is very interesting, and a day of diving/snorkeling off Menjangan Island is top notch for colorful soft/hard corals and interesting fish. Darmi in the spa is a gifted masseuse.

Room Tip: Insist on a room off the busy, noisy road. Even with doors/windows closed, you feel like you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was taken back when my family came to this place...we stayed in one of the Junior Garden Suits (10b) and it was breathtaking. It definitely exceeded my expectations, the pool was wonderfully warm, the garden/landscape was immaculately and beautifully taken care of, and the room it self is luxurious. There is really no way to describe how nice it was. Really. The ONLY thing that REALLY would give this place 5-stars would be to change the food. The food in the restaurants is not good...and priced too high for the lack of quality. It looks good on the menu but does not taste good, please please please get a new chef. It's sad that I have to write that but it would really make a huge difference in the place, there's really nowhere else to go for food. I brought my parents here and they put a extra bed in the room for us which was nice.

Room Tip: The Junior Garden Suit would be great for a couple, we stayed in 10B. It was their cheapest suite an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We have been in Bali for six weeks and seen and stayed at a variety of places. When we arrived at Amertha we were thrilled. The most beautiful setting we have experienced during our time in Bali. We stayed in Villa 1b for five nights and loved stepping out to our own pool, lounging on the daybed - all with the Bali Sea in view. It was quiet and everything well tended. The room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated - loved the photos of the people of Bali. We enjoyed several yummy meals at the restaurant and a fantastic massage at the spa. Definitely have a massage; the spa is gorgeous and the therapists very skilled. All staff were very pleasant and efficient. Snorkeling the coral reefs was spectacular and just steps from our villa. We rented a motor scooter and had a blast exploring back roads and locating temples and rice paddies. We took a guided hike in the national park, seeing black monkeys, many birds and we even heard a barking deer, yes this is a real animal.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemuteran
0.6 mi away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
0.2 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Kinaara Resort
Kinaara Resort
#2 of 8 in Pemuteran
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Menjangan
The Menjangan
#1 of 2 in West Bali National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amertha Bali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amertha Bali Villas

Address: Denpasar-Seririt Village | Pemuteran, Singaraja, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
#3 Spa Hotel in Pemuteran
#4 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amertha Bali Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amertha Bali Villas is located in Pemuteran in the northwest corner of Bali. The exceptional oceanfront setting with lush tropical landscaping and spacious, private surroundings offers an idyllic and unforgettable vacation experience.The resort is near the holy Pulaki Agung Temple and many other ancient holy temples. Amertha Bali Villas is also just a short boat ride from Menjangan Island, world renowned for diving and snorkeling.Getting to Amertha Bali Villas is about a 3-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. If you wish, one of our English-speaking drivers can pick you up and drive you to Amertha in the air-conditioned comfort of our vehicles. This service is also available for group travelers. Along the way, your driver will give you a mini-tour as you drive by villages, pass sacred temples, and observe the ancient customs of Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Amertha Bali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amertha Bali Villas Hotel Pemuteran
Amertha Bali Hotel
Amertha Bali Boutique Hotel
Amertha Bali Villas Pemuteran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amertha Bali Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.