We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Number 5 is awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amertha Bali Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amertha Bali Villas to your Saves list
Amertha Bali Villas
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Denpasar-Seririt Village | Pemuteran, Singaraja, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pemuteran
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Villa Number 5 is awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I recently stayed at Amertha with a friend as we were planning 6 days of diving and we were absolutely blown away when we saw villa #5. It was huge and had more space than the two of us would ever use. It really would be perfect for a small family as there was one master bedroom in the main part of the villa complete with a working desk, daybed, and television/DVD (not that we used this) and its own massive bathroom, indoor and outdoor shower and then the second bedroom also had a big bed and its own bathroom with indoor shower. There are a lot of outdoor areas to hang in at villa #5 including your own pool. The villa also has an outdoor kitchen complete with fridge and utensils but we didn't really use it. of the other hotels closer to the actually building. This villa was about halfway from the beach and road we only heard the mosque very softly which gave it an exotic quality rather than the harsh reality if you were closer to the road or at And it is loud if you are nearby at one of the restaurants further up the road when it goes off 4 times per day.

The spa is pretty good... the treatments I had were wonderful and the setting is simple in an outdoor way but if you are looking for luxury this probably isn't your place; The Madi Hari up the road has a much more luxurious spa. We were more interested in a Balinese experience and felt that this hotel and its spa lived more up to this than the only other 4/5 star equivalent in this area.

The restaurant served a mix of western and Indonesian food and the breakfast each morning that was included was delicious. I had the Indonesian breakfast which was a choice of Nasi goreng or Mie Goreng and both were good. You could also have eggs and pancakes and all came with fruit juice and a fruit plate. The staff were willing and eager to please and every single one of them greeted me each morning, including the ground staff.

Just outside the resort are several warungs where you can have meals and they are all a little different. We went to the one directly across from the Adi Assiri resort and it was so good that we went back 3 nights in a row and even did a cooking class with them. It turns out that it is owned by the manager of Amertha!

Do be aware that there were a few mosquitos when we were here so be sure you shut your doors always and use the netting over your bed.

Room Tip: As others have mentioned go as close to the beach as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    63
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
69
135
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Amertha 2 years ago and we still feel it was the best resort stay we have ever had. As noted by some other reviewers, this is not a resort for someone looking for a million activities. It is a resort for rest and relaxation with maybe a little snorkeling or scuba thrown in. We stayed in Villa #7 and thoroughly enjoyed our 4 days/5 nights there. Beautiful grounds, well kept facilities, all we needed for relaxing was there. The food was excellent especially the catch of the day served with a sambal that I would kill to get the recipe for. I am surprised by several other reviews stating this place is over priced. Good luck finding something like villa #7 in the states for under $1300. yes, the beach is not pristine due to trash in some places but it is a working fishing beach so that is to be expected. Amertha does a good job of cleaning up on their beach area. We both loved the place and will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Villa #7 is our choice. The price is very reasonable by US comparisons. It has a great layout, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

So many nice things could be said about Amertha Villas (grounds, staff, spa), but if you want to enjoy it, stay in a room away from the road and mosque. Noise from them drowns out the charming Balinese gamelan music (recorded) and can ruin a good massage. No matter how cheap the room, stay off of the road!!! The biorock project to restore reef off the beach is very interesting, and a day of diving/snorkeling off Menjangan Island is top notch for colorful soft/hard corals and interesting fish. Darmi in the spa is a gifted masseuse.

Room Tip: Insist on a room off the busy, noisy road. Even with doors/windows closed, you feel like you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was taken back when my family came to this place...we stayed in one of the Junior Garden Suits (10b) and it was breathtaking. It definitely exceeded my expectations, the pool was wonderfully warm, the garden/landscape was immaculately and beautifully taken care of, and the room it self is luxurious. There is really no way to describe how nice it was. Really. The ONLY thing that REALLY would give this place 5-stars would be to change the food. The food in the restaurants is not good...and priced too high for the lack of quality. It looks good on the menu but does not taste good, please please please get a new chef. It's sad that I have to write that but it would really make a huge difference in the place, there's really nowhere else to go for food. I brought my parents here and they put a extra bed in the room for us which was nice.

Room Tip: The Junior Garden Suit would be great for a couple, we stayed in 10B. It was their cheapest suite an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We have been in Bali for six weeks and seen and stayed at a variety of places. When we arrived at Amertha we were thrilled. The most beautiful setting we have experienced during our time in Bali. We stayed in Villa 1b for five nights and loved stepping out to our own pool, lounging on the daybed - all with the Bali Sea in view. It was quiet and everything well tended. The room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated - loved the photos of the people of Bali. We enjoyed several yummy meals at the restaurant and a fantastic massage at the spa. Definitely have a massage; the spa is gorgeous and the therapists very skilled. All staff were very pleasant and efficient. Snorkeling the coral reefs was spectacular and just steps from our villa. We rented a motor scooter and had a blast exploring back roads and locating temples and rice paddies. We took a guided hike in the national park, seeing black monkeys, many birds and we even heard a barking deer, yes this is a real animal.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a nice time staying here, though I guess my expectations were a little high for the beach and the restaurant. The room worked out well for us, though we found a dead fish near the shower that they quickly came and picked up. The bed was large and comfortable. If you consider staying here, definitely go for the beach front option. There was no one staying in the adjoining villa, so we had the pool all to ourselves, which we enjoyed. The restaurant food was really not too great, though we did eat there a few times since options are limited in the area. We had planned to stay here 4 nights, but decided to leave a day early and head to another part of the island. We recommend taking a day trip to Menjangan Island to go snorkeling, or out front of the hotel. The reef project was impressive.

Room Tip: beach front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was overall quite disappointed by our 5 night stay at Amertha. It has received many glowing reviews on Tripadvisor and the photos on the website lead me to believe we were in for a treat. First the positives: The villas are in a beautiful setting between the forest-clad mountains and the sea. The gardens are stunning and really well tended, full of bright flowers and teeming with birdlife. The snorkelling is really good. You can snorkel straight off the beach in front of the Amertha, but slightly further along the beach in front of the Taman Sari is even better with the Bio-rock. We took a day trip out to Menjangen Island and the snorkelling was amazing - the water was clear and the variety of fish and coral on the drop-off was a real highlight of our trip. That said I agree with previous comments about the litter issue which is in danger of totally blighting this coastline. We found babies nappies, sanitary towels and other litter along the beach of Pemuteran and heard from other guests that the situation can be even worse on Menjangen. Apparently it is affected by the weather on Java. After bad rain, the litter is washed into the sea and tide brings carries it over to Bali. Our day trip to Menjangen was luckily not following rain so the water was clean, but the day trip boats still seem to dump their litter on the island or straight in the sea so it's clearly an issue that needs urgent attention.

The negatives: The villas, whilst at first really attractive, were not that well designed, looking a little tired and a bit grubby. We started in Villa 5 but found the aircon not powerful enough to cool efficiently. The villas all have very high ceilings and whilst plug-in mossie repellants are provided they don't seem to have that much affect. We were badly bitten on our first night. (Also, as a random aside, Villa 5 had the oddest wall art in the toilet - if you've stayed there you'll know about King Marmite!) We did complain to the manager about our issues with Villa 5 who gave us a "free" upgrade to Villa 11 (it was actually a cheaper villa!) This room was better and the aircon worked well. I still found the bathrooms in need of a proper good clean.

We ate in the restaurant on a couple of occasions and found the food and service fine. I agree with previous reviews about the annoying Reggae music during the daytime - why go to Bali for Reggae?!!! I find it hard to put my finger on the exact problem with the hotel, but there was something definitely lacking. The villas are expensive and at that price they don't deliver. They were very quiet during our stay and whilst there were many staff, they all seemed very demotivated and lack-lustre. My husbands biggest annoyance was the pack of wild dogs that were allowed to wander at will along the beach and in the grounds, peeing and pooing indiscriminately on the beach loungers and by the tables in the restaurant. The manager, who seems to spend his time holed up in his office did come out to view the beach when my husband complained and five dog poos were cleaned up - but with the number of staff with little to do, shouldn't a hotel of this price be more pro-active to keep on top of such issues.

We walked along the beach to the Taman Sari (sister hotel to Amertha) and the Adi Assri, both of which had many more guests and a better, less dead atmosphere. So in conclusion, whilst the Amertha is beautifully situated, it does not offer the level of service or attention to detail that it should for the price paid. Two nights stay there would be adequate to allow for a day trip out to Menjangen. Pemuteran is peaceful and free from hawkers on the beach, but the area as a whole has a major issue with litter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung_Kertiyasa, Owner at Amertha Bali Villas, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your concern into our marine environmental issue at Pemuteran Bay. It is has been a continuous problems for Pemuteran. Community, hotel/ business owner who has direct and indirect benefit from Pemuteran marine has been working together to solve this problems. It is a large amount of waste which mostly coming from east of Java and hills, not coming from the Pemuteran itself.

It will take some time to completely clear this waste. It also need a continuous awareness by the whole community, which being shared, educated though business owner to their staff, village leaders to the community.

We are continuously working together to fight this environmental issues.

Inputs for our artworks, restaurant music playlist in our restaurant, cleanliness standard of our toilets has been followed up immediately by our management.

As our appreciation to your inputs, we would kindly invite you to come and stay again in our property with a special invitation offer.

Many thanks for your cooperative inputs and all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amertha Bali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amertha Bali Villas

Address: Denpasar-Seririt Village | Pemuteran, Singaraja, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
#2 Spa Hotel in Pemuteran
#4 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amertha Bali Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amertha Bali Villas is located in Pemuteran in the northwest corner of Bali. The exceptional oceanfront setting with lush tropical landscaping and spacious, private surroundings offers an idyllic and unforgettable vacation experience.The resort is near the holy Pulaki Agung Temple and many other ancient holy temples. Amertha Bali Villas is also just a short boat ride from Menjangan Island, world renowned for diving and snorkeling.Getting to Amertha Bali Villas is about a 3-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. If you wish, one of our English-speaking drivers can pick you up and drive you to Amertha in the air-conditioned comfort of our vehicles. This service is also available for group travelers. Along the way, your driver will give you a mini-tour as you drive by villages, pass sacred temples, and observe the ancient customs of Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amertha Bali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amertha Bali Villas Hotel Pemuteran
Amertha Bali Hotel
Amertha Bali Boutique Hotel
Amertha Bali Villas Pemuteran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amertha Bali Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.