We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taman Selini Beach Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Taman Selini Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Desa Pemuteran - North West Bali, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali 81151, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pemuteran
Mercer Island, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Taman Selini for 3 nights in August, 2012 and had a wonderful time. The villas are nice and clean and the location on the beach is outstanding. The staff was very helpful and the food was a nice surprise.

The hotel arranged for a snorkel trip to Menjangan Island which was fun however the snorkeling at the bio reef in front of the hotel is great as well.

If you would like to get away from crowds and experience a more rural Bali as it may have been in years past, I highly recommend Pemuteran and Taman Selini.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    49
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Taman Selini is one of a handful of hotels on a nice stretch of beach in Pemuteran. This is a great place to come and relax and do some snorkeling or diving. The bungalows come with A/C and are well-kept. The garden setting is beautiful and makes for a nice view to wake up to. The outdoor bathroom and shower didn't bother me, but it might bother others. Since I was the third person staying in the room I had a mattress pad on the ground (common in Indonesia for a third traveler). The mosquitoes got me pretty bad, so I would recommend spraying yourself (the regular bed comes with a mosquito net). The breakfast was standard. The hotel restaurant was decent with some Greek inspired dishes on the menu with most mains in the Rp 50,000 to 70,000 range. The seafood specials were tasty. I would return to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Bali as it may have been 20 years ago, quiet, relaxing and serene.
A beautiful garden, perfectly landscaped, among which the bungalows are hiddden, give you a feeling of great privacy.
Only a dozen of them, this is not a place for groups or large families...

The beds could me more comfortable, those Indonesian wooden beds are really very hard!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Taman Selini is good, but not very good. Rooms are old, no tv, not very clean. Staff not professional, seems like only one girl works and boys are talking!
Beautiful swimming pool, beautiful garden, I think bungalows were great before but they are not well maintained. The beach was dirty, but could be beautiful if clean (it seems that it is not regular, a friend went two weeks after me and the beach was clean).
Relaxing, but definitely not a high range hotel. Go if you have a good discount...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Taman Selini is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are lovely as are the grounds. They even have an outdoor bathroom. I was a little nervous going out there at night because of my fear of bugs, but nothing bothered me and I never saw anything except a few mosquitoes. The room was very comfortable and spacious. My favorite part was the coral project they have going on. Get your snorkel and mask and and go right in from the beach. Wonderful corals and lots of pretty fish. The only drawback that I found to the hotel was the price. It was a little steep for Bali. The food was good and the staff were amazing and always very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

It takes hours to get here by road - but it's worth it for the tranquility and lack of hassle of North West Bali. Compared to Kuta or even Ubud, it's more or less unspoiled.

Taman Selini was great value for money - the bungalows are beautifully designed and kept pretty clean (if slightly shabby in places) and the outside bathrooms are good fun. It's great watching little frogs hop about as you visit the loo in the middle of the night!

The restaurant offered a great range of food, Indonesian, European and Asian fusion, which was good value (maybe not compared to cheaper places in South Bali, but not expensive by European standards). Surprisingly, the Greek food was excellent!
]
The pool was lovely. The beach less so - I found it a bit dirty and it put me off snorkelling. The staff were very friendly and sweet, although don't expect 4* levels of service and attention.

Pemuteran is really, really quiet - most night action is provided by locals strumming and singing on the beach, which has its own charm! I'd recommend hiring a car and seeing some of the rest of the island too. Driving in Bali is not as awful as some make out (but keep 250,000 rupiah handy for bribing the traffic police).

I'd stay here again if I were ever in Bali.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2nd bungalow from the pool, on the same side as the restaurant. You'd think it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Taman Selini was a great place to stay for me and my girlfriend. It has a unique charm and ambience that can only be characterized by the 'beach mentality.' Everything about TS is about living in open areas with sun and a beach. The outdoor bathrooms, while they can be a bit off-setting, are unique, well maintained and have the right amount of touch to feel comfortable. The rooms themselves are above-average. The food at the restaurant is very good (the best club sandwich in all of Bali, and I tried a LOT) and the staff are curteous and extremely helpful. The only drawback that I can consider for TS is the price. For $125 a night, I expected to have a few more amenities such as TV or internet. But, that beach approach is exactly what TS has going for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taman Selini Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Selini Beach Bungalows

Address: Desa Pemuteran - North West Bali, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali 81151, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Taman Selini Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taman Selini is located in the more secluded Northwestern tip of Bali, one of the most beautiful destinations in the world. Right between, the calm blue Bali Sea and the idyllic backdrop of the lush volcanic mountain range of West Bali National Park, you will find a truer forgotten Bali. Natural beauty, large stretches of protected beach and shallow coral reefs that lies a few steps in front, and a Balinese traditional form of hospitality service, will ensure that you will rediscover peace along long days and calm nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Taman Selini Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows Hotel Pemuteran
Taman Selini Beach Hotel
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows Bali/Pemuteran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taman Selini Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.