We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious authentic Indonesian food with a smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warung Taruna

Warung Taruna
Jl Raya Gilimanuk - Seririt, Desa Pemuteran Gerokgak Singaraja, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali 81155 , Indonesia
+62 852 3711 7763
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Pemuteran
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious authentic Indonesian food with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had dinner twice at Taruna and it had been absolutely delicious and romantic: authentic Indonesian food served with a smile.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Warung Taruna, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear our lovely customer,

Thank you very much for your kind e-mai with very nice review.
Hope we can see you and serve you again in the future.

Our best regard

Taruna and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    10
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“Ate here almost every night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Lovely little place, varied, tasty menu at incredible value for money.
Kept coming back it was so good!
Service (as with anywhere in Bali) is incredibly slow, so don't go there already hungry! Just sit back and relax.

This restaurant is attached to the home stay, so can be very popular, so book ahead to get a table!

Pemuteran 'road' doesn't have pavements, and lots of fast bikes and cars. You have to walk up and down this road for any of the restaurants. Take a torch.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Warung Taruna, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hii...

It's nice to read your review.
Hope everything is fine with you.

Wish we can see you and longer stay in Pemuteran.

Faithfully yours,

kadek Taruna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Don't go anywhere else - absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were fortunate to also stay at Taruna as well as eat here. The food is absolutely fantastic, we stayed in Pemuteran for 7 nights and only ate elsewhere on one occasion. You can't beat this small family restaurant ran by Kardec and family. The price is so reasonable, drinks again very reasonable but the food is 1st class. Ensure you book a table. The staff are attentive, excellent service. Kardec the owner will come around each table later in the evening to ensure that you are happy and have chat with you. Thank you to all staff and of course, the chef !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Warung Taruna, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Lovely customer,

We thank you very much for your visit at Taruna family.
And nice review to our service.
Hope we can serve you again next time.

Sincerely and best regard,

Taruna family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best food we found in Pemuteran”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were in Pemuteran for a week in June. We tried many restaurants, and were lucky enough to discover Taruna early in our visit. The food was TOP. Prices were competitive and reasonable, but the reason we returned was their attention to detail and flavours were superb. Best food that we had during our 2.5 week stay in Indonesia.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Warung Taruna, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear our guest,
Glad to know if our food is delicious for you, Hope we can see you in the future and serve best again.

Kind regard,
Taruna and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurth, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really excellent, delicious, traditional Indonesian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were looking for traditional Indonesian food and found Warung Taruna in Pemuteran. The restaurant only has about 6-7 tables, so if you're smart you'll make a reservation a day in advance. The service was excellent, atmosphere was very cosy and romantic. The food was absolutely fabulous, really great! We enjoyed it a lot!
TIP: if you want a traditional Indonesian "Rijsttafel", you need to make a reservation at least 1 day in advance so they can prepare it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Warung Taruna, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Our customer,

We thank you very much for your time to visit us and glad to know if you like our food so much.

See you in the future.

Best regard,

Kadek Taruna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Taruna also viewed

 
Pemuteran, Gerokgak
 

Been to Warung Taruna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warung Taruna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.