We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matahari Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Matahari Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jln. Raya Seririt-Gilimanuk, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pemuteran
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just wonderful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We, a couple plus one child (8), stayed at MATAHARI for six days at the beginning of August 2013. We absolutely enjoyed our stay for a number of reasons: the lovely room, the beautiful garden and pool, the nice beach (we did not experience any waste washed ashore like others did), the yummy food, the great Spa .... but most of all the peace and quiet we encountered there. No TV in the room, no music on the beach or the rest of the resort (like in many other places we stayed in Bali) and very friendly staff. The hotel guests were predominantly pleasant Europeans.
If you can't live without a TV or entertainment, don't go there. If you are looking to relax in a peaceful environment miles away from the big tourist centres, then this is the right place to go.
P.S. If you want to see more than just the resort, we highly recommend a snorkeling tour to the Manjagan island or the "Secret Garden" walking tour organised by the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    35
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
51
192
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zwischenwasser
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this wonderful hotel in the northern Bali; instead of hundreds of rooms offers the Matahari about 35 villas with an exceptionnal private atmosphere. In this way it is different to the southern "bunkers" of the tourist aera around Nusa Dua and so on. The garden and the pool aera are georgous, the beach with its black sand not less.The kindly staff is trained very well in keeping everything clean, serving whatever you desire and giving you the feeling of being near to paradise. Lunch and dinner are very recommendable, the "Bintang" - Beer is offered only in Bottles - the Winelist is international. We had a pleasant stay with snorkeling, swimming and relaxing after our sunrise trip to the Gunung Batur - retourning to the northern Bali, we would book the Matahari again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Fantastic, what more is there to say! We were greated by the Manager on arrival and he was there to wish us well on our departure. The Matahari has so many nice touches that it would take too long to list - here are but a few. Filled ice bucket in the room, good supply of water throughout the day, cold towel/iced water/fruit by the pool, cakes in a basket on turndown service, etc etc. The grounds were amazing, as was the pool, staff and scenery. The food was incredible, a little pricey but well worth it for the quality. The room was lovely, bed comfortable and bathroom and outside shower terrific. One very small gripe - the bed was so high I had trouble getting on it, but that's only because I'm just 5ft tall! The dive centre was very good and when we went snorkeling the staff were great, always checking that everyone was safe in the water.Try to catch the sunrise, it's fantastic. We would love to go back, my husband wishes he could live there!

Room Tip: Any room would be wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

although i was not staying at this hotel, i was lucky enough to taste the food at one of their restaurant. I was there on one Saturday night so they were doing a Balinese Buffet dinner at the restaurant on the beach side. Delicious food, excellent service to combine with a perfect company.To be honest, i have never been a big fan of ayam betutu (steamed/grilled chicken with balinese herbs originated in this area) but at matahari beach resort, i have never tried ayam betutu quite like it. it was juicy, succulent and very tasty without being overpowered with too much spices and herbs like most ayam betutu restaurants always intend to do. But... my favourite dish was.. the babi kecap (pork in soya sauce).. simply to die for. I will certainly come back to try the a la carte menu , one day

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Matahari, one of the best lodges we have ever been. The setting, the decoration details, the high trained staff made our holidays unforgettable. The gastronomy is awesome specially because of Chef Komang who explained top recipes in the best romantic dinner on the beach itself. The beautiful swimming pool and the spa are highlights as well. We will return. Gabriel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Matahari in June 2013. It is, by far, the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in so I am not accustomed to a truly excellent hotel. the staff were very professional yet friendly, the food in the restaurant was fantastic, the grounds are a botanical garden and the rooms are beautiful. the beach is the only weak spot, it just isn't very nice but the hotel has made the best of it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Everything about this hotel was fantastic, the bungalow, the outdoor shower, the swimmingpool were absolutely lovely. Also the staff were especially friendly. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. I spent 3 days here with my daughter in June, and we were really homesick after moving from here to Nusa Dua where we spent a further 3 days before flying home. Oh what a disappointment to arrive in a huge, unpersonal hotel after just having stayed in Matahari!
I would go back straight away and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matahari Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jln. Raya Seririt-Gilimanuk, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Spa Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Matahari Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the northern coast of the island, set amongst fragrant lotus and frangipani flowers, this splendid village consisting of Balinese pavilions overlooks the sea. Each ornate bungalow has hand-carved wooden folding doors, a tropical garden and an outdoor shower with a stone dragon: pure nirvana. Just like the sense of wellbeing imparted from the spa with its massage and other treatments in the best Balinese tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Matahari Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Beach Resort And Spa
Matahari Beach Hotel Pemuteran
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa Bali/Pemuteran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.