We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taruna Homestay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Taruna Homestay to your Saves list
Taruna Homestay
3.5 of 5 Pension (B&B)   |   Jalan Seririt - Gilimanuk | North Bali, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali 81155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Pemuteran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I just come back home in Sanur but it was difficult to leave Taruna Homestay after 2 wonderful days there. The owner and the staff are very friendly. the rooms are located in a nice garden with swimming pool. The food at the restaurant is really delicious for a good price.

I just can recommand you to stay there, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Bapak Fabrizio,

Salam bahagia dari Taruna family.

We thank you very much for your stay and very nice review for our hotel and restaurant.
We are glad if you are satisfied to stay at Taruna family home stay.
Hope we can serve you and your friend next time.

All my best regard to you,

Sincerely yours,

Kadek Taruna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    30
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
114
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

From the very first moment you arrive, every staff member greets you with a warm smile and let you know that you're now a part of the Taruna Homestay family. Whilst you sip on your fresh watermelon juice (or whatever other welcome drinks you choose) and wipe your face with your fresh towels, one of the staff members explains to you everything you need to know about the hotel and Pemuteran, including providing useful maps to the area.
Taruna runs an excellent homestay, with a gorgeous pool area with sunlounges, luxurious outdoor bathrooms and a restaurant with the freshest Balinese dishes that are just delicious. I especially enjoyed their fresh seafood (this is a fishing village, afterall!) such as the grilled whole baby snapper with three local sauces served on the side.
Breakfast is included in the room price and, as all meals offered at the restaurant, can be served as room service on your patio facing the garden or pool area. There are a few choices, inluding eggs cooked to your liking with toast, nasi/mie goreng and pancakes. You'll also receive fresh fruit, a fresh juice and tea/coffee.
With rooms for AUD$20-$25 per night (200-250,000 IDR), Taruna's homestay is absolutely incredible value, especially nestled amongst the beachside resorts of Pemuteran. It's location is on the eastern starting point on the stretch of the main Seririt-Gilimanuk Rd/Desa Pemuteran that is the closest thing the a town centre that Pemuteran gets.
You can easily book diving and snorkeling tours to Menjangan Island, book tours to other parts of Bali, rent a motorcycle, buy gifts and souvenirs and exhange money at all the hotel reception. ATMs are a short 2 minute walk from the hotel in front of the Adi Assri hotel.
Overall, I highly recommend anyone in the Pemuteran area to stay here!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear our Lovely Client,

Good day ...
Hope our mail find you very well.
We thank you very much for your time to write very nice review to our hotel.
And we thank you as well for staying with us and hope we can serve you again in the future.
We will inform every body when our new kitchen and new restaurant and new Spa finish.
We wish you have a good time and best regard to you.

Sincerely yours,

Kadek Taruna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here for two nights, which was enough for us. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. the air con didn't seem to work, the first night was not cold enough, we tried turning it off, but it just kept being on. The following night we were cold and again we couldn't turn it off. If you are a light sleeper, take ear plugs to sleep with as you can hear the traffic during the night. The food is very nice, unfortunately, on the last night my husband ordered chicken and half of it was raw. They provided us with a driver to take us down to Uluwatu, I can't remember his name but we were not happy with him one bit. He was fine with my husband but seemed to have a bit of attitude towards me. He then took us for lunch to some place in Jimbaran, we didn't ask for this. After making our order, he then told us the place was really expensive, which made us think "why did he take us here then?". We offered to buy him lunch as felt bad he wouldn't eat ,as the food was expensive, and he wasn't shy to go for food and drink more expensive than ours, we weren't thanked for this.
In short, the hotel and food are nice, watch the drivers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Our Valued customer,

First at all we would like to thank to you for your stay with us.
And also thank you so much for your kind to write a review to our hotel and services.
We are really glad to know both about positive and negative think that you got from us.
So we can improve our cooking and interview the driver and may be to give them training for better service in the future.
And especially for noisy , we have been doing sound block by building a new restaurant with glass wall and high building for kitchen and bamboo tree at the side garden. Hope when all our project are finish , it help and keep us in quite place.

Any way thank you for all and take care.

Sincerely yours

Kadek Taruna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

From the drivers, to the receptionists, to the waitstaff, to the masseuse, to the housekeepers, and to the owner the level of service and attentiveness was impeccable. They go above and beyond to make sure you have the best experience possible.

The homestay is ideally located close to the beach and within walking distance to both excellent snorkelling areas, and trekking paths. Furthermore, it is within driving and/or boating distance to many cultural and/or natural sites, and the staff will gladly provide transport.

The facilities were very well looked after. The gardens were gorgeous! The room was lovely: spacious, and very clean. The outdoor shower was luxurious.

The restaurant has, by far, the best food I had in Bali! Traditional Balinese cuisine cooked with fresh ingredients, the food was delicious and beautifully presented.

I hope this review conveys the conviction with which I would recommend Taruna Homestay!

Room Tip: A/C is a necessity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi..Ellen,

Warm greeting from Taruna family.
We thank you very much for your kind review for our team and accommodations and restaurant.
We were glad to be of your service.
And also we are happy to know that you like our food very much.
It's will be better when our new kitchen is completely finish so my wife able to teach you and other customer for cooking class starting visiting our traditional market near by our village and choose our fresh ingredients and cooking in our kitchen and testing at our garden.

Well Ellen.. we wish you have a good time,,take care.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Taruna home stay.

Sincerely yours,

Taruna and all team and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at this wonderful place and I can't say enough good things about it. Mr. Taruna and his family were simply amazing. Their hospitality, warmth, humor and generosity are incredible and I can't wait to go back. Everyone was made to feel like family there. Our room was large, comfortable and beautifully decorated with local art. The outdoor (but still very private) shower made me feel I was living in this gorgeous tropical idyll. The food in their cute little restaurant was tasty, fresh and really well prepared. The Taruna family went out of their way to help arrange scuba diving, sightseeing and other fun excursions in the area. Taruna Homestay was one of the top highlights from my trip around the world.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear our lovely guest,

Sunny greeting from Pemuteran -Bali.
Hope this mail find you very well.

We thank you very much for your time to write a review for our hospitality.
All of this is a good spirit for us to do the same or more in the future.

I am really want to finish our new kitchen and New restaurant and new Spa , so our guest will be more and more comfortable to stay longer like you did.

Finally I am ending this e-mail with our best regard to you.
Have a good time and looking forward to welcoming you back at our family.

Sincerely yours,

Kadek Taruna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Arriving late at night with a reservation after an extremely uncomfortable ride from the airport the staff of Taruna Homestay made getting to bed so very easy. Their customer service is great. The location has some issues. If you don't mind sitting within 15 metres of full on traffic during b/fast and dinner times, barely able to clearly hear what your partner is saying, then this is the place for you. It is NOISY! Typical Balinese traffic is to say the least something to be recognized. An early b/fast or late dinner might be OK but this location might be something to consider if you prefer "peace and quiet". The food, room and pool were great to be fair. The noise prompted us to leave early to a more quieter place with virtually no street noise and right on the beach, something Taruna is not.

Room Tip: Room at rear near pool might be an idea......less noise too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear our Customer,

We thank you very much for your time to write a review for our accommodation. All positive and negative review are very important for us. I am agree that our restaurant is to close from main road. It was big changed when we built our restaurant 3,5 years ago. But Pemuteran is growing..more people coming to pemuteran and property business also growing ,that 's make main road is more and more busy . But as you know that we are doing a new restaurant setting on our garden and facing to the garden, it will be finish next two month. And also we still building a new kitchen in front line and soon we build a parking area with high wall. I am sure when we finish them all,,, it will be the answer " silencer . And we will get the situation back like 3,5 years ago.Our guest will get a quite place to eat and drink.
And next our big planning is built three more room after swimming pool. This will be our suit room which is has a romantic hill view and also facing to garden. We are guaranty that this room will be the most quite one. So we will have three different type of room based on the area: Standard room ( low buget) is located near restaurant and kitchen,. Super deluxe room ( higher price) facing to Garden ,and family room facing to swimming pool and Suit room the most quite facing to hill and garden also. So our suit room will be open in 2015. Again we thank you very much for your review and looking forward to welcome you back for our suit room in 2015.

best regard

Taruna and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevran, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Many thanks to Mr Kadek Taruna , his family and team for the help they so kindly provided .I had the unfortunate experience of being seriously ill during my stay in Bali ,They did all they could to help me find and contact a good doctor and make me feel at home and comfortable . This hotel is first class, with remarkable food and all comfort facilities as well as snorkelling equipment ,transport and such a smiling service!. I am very grateful to them all and will come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Claude and Moniq,

Warm regard from our family of Taruna family.
Hope your health is prefect now.
We would like to say thank you again for your stay and top review for our home stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Taruna home stay and we always ready to of your service.

Kindly regard,

Taruna and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taruna Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taruna Homestay

Address: Jalan Seririt - Gilimanuk | North Bali, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali 81155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taruna Homestay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay Taruna is located in a tranquil Balinese village, a 3.5-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The homestay has a tour desk and provides free Wi-Fi in the entire property and massage services.The rooms are simple and fitted with freshly laundered beddings. They all have an en suite bathroom, a fan or air conditioning and a desk. Views of the garden can be enjoyed from all rooms.Gilimanuk Bus Station is a 30-minute drive from the homestay, while Lovina Beach is about an hour’s drive away. Bicycle rental services are provided by the homestay for guests who wish to explore the region on their own.Taruna Homestay has a restaurant on site which serves Indonesian dishes and local specialities. Room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Taruna Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taruna Homestay Bali/Pemuteran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taruna Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.