We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santai Warung

Santai Warung
On road to Taman Sari hotel, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali 81155, Indonesia
085237370220
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Pemuteran
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This restaurant is situated next to the Taman Sari hotel. Made, the owner cooks delicious real balinese food at a very reasonable price. I travel on my own, and Made and her husband made me feel so welcome,telling me some of her cooking secrets, and also information about the Balinese culture.Her husband is also a guide and a driver and they both speak excellent English. Thank you Made!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tubingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Such a warm-hearted and truely tasteful experience..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

During our 2-week stay in 2013 we found this little jewel in a side street to taman sari hotel following the tripadvisor app navigation :-) We were so excited about this warung that we visited it 3 times.

Don't care about the barking dogs in the street. They are just loud. We got little tip from Made & Ketut from the Warung Santai: Just kneel down and touch your hand to the ground. The dogs think you will lift a stone and throw after them (like the kids in Bali do) and turn around. Since my wife fears dogs, Made & Ketut came around with a rather unconventional solution. They offered a free beer to a friend and asked him to lenghten his stay for half an hour and play taxi for us, an offer he obvisously accepted :-)

Each visit we couldn't stop smiling about such an overwhelming amount of heartiness. Because of the dogs mentioned above they installed something like a "shuttle service" for us (yes, 3 people can sit on a moped..) for the 2 following visits. The last time we went to the warung, Made cooked a special meal only for us. She went to the market and bought something fresh for a little goodbye-meal for us which wasn't on the menu.

The warung is very original, the local people eat there and play music (guitar, drums) almost every evening, making the experience not only about the meal (which always was perfect, Made is a godlike cook). If you visit other warungs along the "main street" of Pemuteran (which we did a few times) you really taste the difference between this one and the more "touristic" ones.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Welcoming, family friendly, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our favourite place to eat in Pemuteran. The food is delicious and cheap and it has a great atmosphere. You will not meet more genuine and honest people than Gustut & Made, they will make you feel very welcome & are very helpful. My children & I also did a cooking class at Santai Warung with Made, it was lots of fun.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Extremely comfortable and accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I spent a couple of days at warung santai and I was blown away. The rooms are very comfortable, spacious, affordable, and each of them has a nice outside bathroom as well. Ketut (owner/tour operator) is very accommodating and generous. He let me borrow his snorkeling equipment and answered all of my questions about the area. He offers a variety of tours (trekking/snorkeling) as well as transportation to different parts of bali (airport, ubud, etc.). The food is delicious and Made (Ketuts wife) is a wonderful cook. If you are looking for a great place to stay in pemuteran I would definitely suggest warung santai!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“PERFECT, Exactly as reviewed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is Bali food at its best: honest, fresh and lovingly prepared.
We had lunch, fresh fish, wow! So we did diner with ricetable: DO IT!

Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santai Warung also viewed

Pemuteran, Gerokgak
Pemuteran, Gerokgak
 

Been to Santai Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santai Warung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.