We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was like entering another world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud to your Saves list
Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Br. Susut, Payangan, Bali 80572, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It was like entering another world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Quite possibly the most amazing and best value place we've stayed in. All the villas are similar and all probably offer equally as good views over the stunning surrounding jungle scenery, and the pool was magical. The villas are incerdibly romantic.

We stayed for three nights and there was plenty to do; white water rafting, elephant riding, walks, cycling. Ubud is a fascinating place.

The reception staff, Ivan especially, made our stay so perftect. The staff went out of their way to help us by arranging trips and transfers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    87
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
30
195
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

When you get into Nandini, you really dont want to get out of this place ever so there is no need to complain thats its too far from Ubud town i.e. 30 minutes to be exact. Th is boutique jungle resort if built on the slopes overlooking the Ayung river albeit out of sight but you can hear the rymthemic soothing sound all the time. All rooms faces the jungle and river with a great view. It has a great looking pool overlooking a great view. The spa is located at the lower slope close by the river. Imagine having a massage with your darling lulled by the river sound and jungle inserts and pampered and healed by the expect hands of the famous Balinese masseur. The Spa has a great jacuzzi for client to chill out 24 hours. Each room is spacious and opens out to a big balcony overlooking the jungle and river. Its simply theareupectic and calming just to sit and listen to the great surrounding in the comfort of the spacious and well appointed room. The bathroom is spacious and sexy...soaking at the tub actually allows you to view outside into the jungle. Room number 7 where I stayed has the most excellent view. Above all, the toiletries are amongst the best I had ever used...not even the St Regis Rome could match up. They come in frangrance of Jasmine for the bathfoam, Frangipani for Show bath soap, and Frangipani for the body lotion. They are so great we bought 5 bottles to take home. Because these fragrance reminds us of the great and unforgetable times we spent there. Yes, we gonna be back there soon...the staff are simply excellent. The food are simple and of not many choices but great eat.....so, why do you want to go to town when paradise is at the door steps....go spend days in town then only come in here to relax totally......comparing the exorbitant prices of other similar resort, this is a steal....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

We spent our honeymoon at Nandini resort and spa for 2 nights, and we have to admit that this is a very nice place for honeymooners..
The resort itself is quite and so comfortable. The staff is very helpful and cares about our needs.
Surely we would love to come back to Nandini if we have a chance, and hopefully will have it soon :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

The hotel is located about 25 minutes by car from Ubud on a hillside in the jungle.
On the first look, our chalet (no. 16) looked perfect, but the second look revealed some problems.
The room had problems with mildew, the walls were peppered with little spots (probably killed insects or mosquitos) and the air condition was quite noisy. Another negative point was the stained bedding and the quality of the towels which you wouldn’t expect from such a hotel.
The hotel offers two free shuttles to Ubud (10 am & 4 pm) and as we had missed the last one on our arrival we decided to have dinner at the restaurant. Compared to other restaurants it was quite expensive (about 300% ) and the meal was disappointing. Dry rice, dry chicken breast without any sauce for 80 000 RP. We highly recommend to take the shuttle to Ubud to have lunch or dinner.
Breakfast was okay. The staff was friendly, though some employees looked really really young and especially the waiter had real problems with serving the meals and clearing the table.
After the daily rainshower the steps were very slippery and you realy had to be careful walking down the stairs to the chalet / the elevator. The pool area looks great, though 4 of the 8 sunbeds do not provide a sunshade.
Our chalet was on the lowest level so we had a perfect view into the jungle. We even saw a bunch of monkeys passing about 5 meters away from us. The area around the hotel is perfect for a walk with lots of palms, rice fields and a stunning view on the jungle. The hotel stuff kindly explained us the way for the best places.
The hotel has perfect preconditions to be an extraordinary experience but could be in better shape.
We stayed there for 3 nights which was in our opinion the perfect length of time.
All in all we enjoyed our stay but wouldn’t book it for a second time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I stayed at the Nandini on a trip to Bali 4 years ago. It was quite literally a paradise, and on the basis of those memories I booked again for June of this year. Regretably, I now found it to be a poor, poor fragment of what it had been.

It appeared that over half the bungalows were falling apart, in dramatic need of new thatching. It was high season, and yet we had our choice of 2 or 3 which were not under repair. Other travelers must be getting the message.

The linens and towels are nothing more than cheap hotel quality, now tattered and yellowing. The pool area railings were rotting out. There are flights and flights of stairs leading down the hillside to the bungalows, which I don't mind, but lighting at night is poor and the stairs become wet and dangerous. Numerous light bulbs were simply burned out and not replaced.

I have to say the service is still quite good and the staff extremely friendly. I fear the problem is with new ownership, which I was told was Israeli, and they are cutting corners like crazy. They must be having all kinds of trouble, since I booked for 4 nights, stayed three, and they refused to refund the one night, even though there was no minimum stay required. The desk people simply said their system did not allow for refunds. What bunk...this is certainly not the way a supposed first class resort deals with returning clients.

Sadly, I have to say...avoid this place at all costs!!! And I regret that for the many good people who work there and continue to exemplify polite Balinese attitudes.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I decided to book this place based on trip advisor reviews but had a bad experience once I landed there. First of all, it is v.difficult to locate this place. The concept of chalets on the hill slope is very good and is done well too. I liked the Gandola idea to move up/down the levels. I had to shift 3 rooms within one night. 2 of them had non-functional air-conditioner which they could not fix. One of them had a leaky roof and dripping mosquito net.

Though we saw polite staff but they were either over worked or the politeness was just superficial which wore off soon as I lost my cool. I had a rough drive for 4 hours before we found this location by around 6 p.m. and had to go through these issues well into the night till 1 a.m. They had no manager on duty to talk to and we had no other go for the night than to just manage in the leaky roofed room until the next day when we were promised another room, which never happened.

Only good thing I must mention is the manager 'Ayu' who came to talk to us the next evening and managed to get us a different hotel(Rijasa Agung) which was a very good hotel, I wish I had moved to it the previous night itself.

It must not be too difficult to maintain just about 18 of the chalets they have here, it was disappointing to move out of this place which seemed to have good privacy with individual cottages to hotel room but to our surprise Rijasa was sparsely occupied and had great hospitable staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

A great hotel to recharge and get away from it all, in magnificent jungle setting. Staff are very attentive, making you feel at home immediately rather than in a hotel/resort. We've stayed in many hotels worldwide, Nandini really stands out as a great unique experience. Being so close to or better say IN the nature has a great relaxing effect --palm trees, banana trees, papaya trees surround you. Great long distance view as the hotel is built on a steep hill. Beautifully decorated private chalets (only 18!), ensuring privacy, rest and relaxation. Great for honeymooners and couples which are the majority of guests who want to spend quality time together. Restaurant and spa/massages are expensive, tad overpriced really. Indeed ca. 25min by taxi to Ubud, convenient twice a day hotel shuttle.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud

Address: | Br. Susut, Payangan, Bali 80572, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa Ubud is located on the slopes of the Ayung River Valley. It offers a restaurant, a spa with massage pavilions, and a resort monorail.The resort provides a free shuttle service to Ubud's town centre, located a 20-minute drive from the hotel. Denpasar is 1-hour drive away, while Ngurah Rai International Airport is around 1.5-hour drive away.Nandini Bali Jungle Resort boasts a hillside swimming pool, an outdoor jacuzzi, and concealed paths to a jungle river. Resort activities include yoga, trekking and cycling. Guests may also spot wildlife such as macaque monkeys.The traditional Balinese chalets at Nandini have private balconies with stunning jungle views. Featuring wooden interiors, each chalet comes with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player and a safety deposit box. Bathrooms have a separate bathtub and shower stall.Wild Ginger Restaurant offers local, international and Indonesian dishes, prepared with fresh ingredients grown in the resort. Local and Asian tea are served at the open-air Warung Teh Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud Hotel Ubud
Nandini Bali Resort And Spa Ubud
Nandini Bali Hotel Ubud
Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud Payangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.