We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hideaway hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud to your Saves list
Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Br. Susut, Payangan, Bali 80572, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london, england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in Nov 2013. Let me start by saying ALL staffs were so friendly, polite and helpfull. Special mention to Irwan at reception and the 2 young guys in the restaurant. Our room was exactly as shown in pictures... Clean, great size, great view. Breakfast was good and we also had lunch there which was lovely although a little on the expensive side. Pool was AMAZING!!!... Great loungers with towels provided, beautifull views, it was so peacefull down at the pool with lots of sun, i loved it, it was just like a postcard! Jaccuzzi was nice too, just wished we stayed longer to use it :(
We walked down to the river once and chilled on the bed down there for a while, which to was lovely and relaxing, was horrible coming back up tho!....SOOOOOO many stairs, lol! I really did love this hotel and i feal bad for saying it but the only negative for me was location!!!... We hired a scooter so for us it was not to much of a problem, but it still even with a scooter is VERY FAR from anywhere! I understand this may be a plus point for some people but for us it was just TOO quiet.
But i have to say again i really did love this hotel and the whole surroundings (i just wish i could pick it up and move it) and i daydream about how lovley the pool area was. I have recommended this hotel to my family and i would stay here again but maybey just for 1 night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    87
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
30
195
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We like to adventure, experience culture and explore the world; so it made perfect sense for the two of us to have a Balinese wedding ceremony. We were so happy to let Iwan take care of all of the details of the ceremony ("anything is possible") and be able to focus on our commitment to each other. Our wedding at Nandini was incredible. Let me say that again...INCREDIBLE. We never could have imagined a more amazing location to share that moment. It was truly like a fairytale. It felt as though every single flower and candle down our ceremonial path had been placed with great intention. We truly felt taken care of and like the staff welcomed us as family. Our favorite moments were walking down the candlelit + petal-covered steps hand in hand with all of our "friends" dressed in white. We were led down the countless stairs (literally hundreds) by wonderful local musicians and greeted at the bottom of the river by smiling faces everywhere. Setting off our wishes for our life together into the river was a wonderful unexpected surprise (and a ceremony in itself)! The river will forever hold a very special place in our hearts. We will be back to Nandini!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I was there in August. It is well kept, the staff is friendly. I found the rooms also well maintained, didn't seem neglected to me. On the day of our arrival the electricity went down for about half an hour. But it only happened once and they apologized by giving us a free massage (which was ok because it was free but I wouldn't recommend taking another one - not sure if and where they learned how to do it). It is true, it is far from Ubud, about 25 minutes by car in one direction. They provide a free shuttle twice a day to go down to Ubud. You have to organize your own transport to come back in the evening. I think the late free shuttle returns around half 4 in the afternoon. The place at the river really is magical. I have heard of monkeys being around but I didn't see any. It is peaceful there. I like to remember that spot and I am sorry I only had time to sit there for about an hour. The pool is also nice but rather cold. The food was alright, it is not extremely good with no "wow" effect but of solid quality. I would go there again if I am prepared to spend time there to relax. By the way, you are close to a village where you can walk to and take nice pictures of rice fields (without the other tourist blocking your view).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

When we found Nandini online we were blown away and excited to stay there for our last 2 nights in Bali (after having spent a month travelling around the idea of a peaceful location was attractive) but sadly we were disappointed and actually decided to checkout and spend our last night elsewhere. The views and location are spectacular, but the food was rather boring and bland, with prices that are very high (we paid less for food and drinks in 5 star resorts), it almost felt like they knew that you couldn’t purchase food or drink anywhere else so they sting you high prices for it as you have nowhere else to go. A Bintang is 60 000 Rp which is very steep compared to most other places.

The spa was not bad and we were treated to a free 15 min foot massage which was nice. I feel a bit bad writing this review because the staff were lovely but i do feel that management is letting this place down (same old story)

I realise it’s in the jungle but one thing thats not great is waking up in the morning to find and stand in fresh gecko feces in 3 different places on the floor. The shower didn't drain properly although the pressure was good I must say, but as there were drainage issues it meant that a 2 minute shower had you standing in ankle high water. The mosquito nets could do with a clean. The bed sheets were stained in what looked like blood and there were a few insects and spiders in the toilet. Overall the experience wasn't really as expected when considering the photos on the website and the cost to stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room at the top, or you will be walking up and down a lot of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Reaching the resort was quite and effort, and after some time, our local driver seemed to be grudging having agreed for Ubud, as this place is a little away from main Ubud.
But the boutique property on a hill slope and the extremely courteous staff, led by the manager Iwan, are amazing.
The sounds of the jungle in the middle of the night cane disturbing, but add to the whole "jungle" experience.
The pool is very beautiful, as is catching the sunrise from the balcony!
The staff suggested local rafting experience which was much better than the local Ubud rafting available below. Was one of the best rafting experiences we've had, in the middle of the rain forests, and there were Ramayana carvings on the rock face around the river.

Room Tip: Look for a room above the swimming pool. Do take a walk down to the spa and the river below it. wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was a bit mislead by this hotel, but. Booked this hotel as our friends had booked. It is WAY off the beaten path, and the signs are not very good nor are there enough to help the drivers find it. Plus Jungle? Um maybe the secenry, but not for the sounds unless you think roosters, chickens, and pig noises are jungle sounds. This was our first time to Ubud and we wanted to shop and see the temples, we were so far from all of the hub of the city, it gave us little time ( we were only scheduled Ubud for one night) to see any of the town. If we would have known, we would have scheduled time to get to Ubud earlier.

If you are not into stairs do not come here. There is a gonadal to go to the lower set of rooms, but you must go down 4-5 flights before you hit the gondala. I do not recommend this for anyone that is not fit enough to climb stairs.

But good points are, secenry, is amazing, the rooms are small but comfortable. I like they make their own soaps, shampoo and loation. That is a nice touch! I do give this hotel props for that. Food was wonderful, dinner and breakfast was the best we had that early into our 10 day trip. The Tomato and chicken soup was amazing! I would come back here to eat if I think that any driver could find the place!

If the signage was better I might come back for a quiet weekend, but it's just to difficult to get to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Amazing resort, friendly professional staff from the moment we arrived. Tucked away in the jungle, no hustle and bustle, very romantic. Ubud is 30 mins away, resort provides daily drop off and pick up to Ubud or can organise scooter hire. Breakfast was lovely, complimentary afternoon tea was a nice touch. The resort is very thoughtful of the surrounding villages, employs mostly locals and provides infrastructure and support to the villages. The resort is built into the side of a hill and has a lot of stairs. The villas are very private, comfortable and just amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud

Address: | Br. Susut, Payangan, Bali 80572, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa Ubud is located on the slopes of the Ayung River Valley. It offers a restaurant, a spa with massage pavilions, and a resort monorail.The resort provides a free shuttle service to Ubud's town centre, located a 20-minute drive from the hotel. Denpasar is 1-hour drive away, while Ngurah Rai International Airport is around 1.5-hour drive away.Nandini Bali Jungle Resort boasts a hillside swimming pool, an outdoor jacuzzi, and concealed paths to a jungle river. Resort activities include yoga, trekking and cycling. Guests may also spot wildlife such as macaque monkeys.The traditional Balinese chalets at Nandini have private balconies with stunning jungle views. Featuring wooden interiors, each chalet comes with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player and a safety deposit box. Bathrooms have a separate bathtub and shower stall.Wild Ginger Restaurant offers local, international and Indonesian dishes, prepared with fresh ingredients grown in the resort. Local and Asian tea are served at the open-air Warung Teh Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nandini Bali Resort And Spa Ubud
Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud Hotel Ubud
Nandini Bali Hotel Ubud
Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud Payangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.