We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Jungle hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud to your Saves list
Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Br. Susut, Payangan, Bali 80572, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Payangan
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Jungle hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at Nandini in the beginning of March 2012. This was truly an amazing experience overall and definitely a unique jungle vacation. We stayed there for 3 nights and we were very satisfied with the superb reception services, Iwan was just everything and more you can expect. They noticed every small detail and welcomed us every time with a smile and full of energy. This made us feel the most important guests there and this made our vacation special at Nandini with all the nature around it. We would say that this hotel is a boutique hotel in its own environment. The rooms are private small houses with large bathrooms overlooking the jungle. Our room was nr 10 with an amazing view down to the pool and jungle. The room was very beautiful, clean, great view, with shower and bathtub and great bathroom amenities. The breakfast is a la Carte, but very tasteful and beautifully served with fresh fruits and juices. We were offered a choice of different breakfast every morning, our favorite one was jungle breakfast. They have also a Jaquzzi next to Spa in open air and beautiful Spa treatment rooms. You can take a treatment down the river on black sand, which is very unique and beautiful relaxing spot to enjoy a massage. Free Wifi is available near the restaurant if necessary. We highly recommend this hotel, this is a luxury experience in a jungle with superb service, although not in the center of Ubud, but well worth the drive.

Room Tip: Rooms nr 10 and 11 have a great view down to swimming pool and jungle. Not far from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    78
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
26
162
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Had a fantastic time at Nandini in September 2011. We treated ourselves to this luxury jungle resort as the beginning of our trip around Bali. The staff were so friendly and very helpful. We were greeted with lovely "jungle cocktails" and a fruit platter - the perfect start to our holiday.

The whole resort was very clean with a wonderful pool, breathtaking rooms and views, romantic jacuzzi and the cute cable cart.

Was a little expensive for Bali, but not at all compared to the UK!

Thank you Nandini!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our time with very friendly and engaging staff. The rooms were basic but comfortable. The location is a long way from ubud and the shuttle only runs twice a day so that means many taxi trips. Lots of guests stayed in their rooms so the isolation and environment is perfect for them. The massages are ok and food pretty good. Overall pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solna, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is one of the best and most spectacular hotels I ever stayed in! The location is just breathtaking, in the middle of a slope in the jungle. The perfect location to switch off, and get away from the daily noise. Iwan the guest manager is a treasure! In general the entire staff is very friendly, always up for a smile and we felt like we were the most important guests in the house.

It's a bit outside the center of Ubud, but a free shuttle is provided by the hotel. (it is too far to walk, even for the walk enthusiast).

The stay was the perfect finale after a 2.5 weeks vacation in Indonesia (first 4 days beach; then 10 days diving on a liveaboard, then 4 days jungle). We could not have chosen better.

Room Tip: Room 16 is great - try to choose one which is as low down as possible, so you have completely undist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We spent the first four nights of our honeymoon an Nandini. It was fantastic. Beautiful, secluded, peacefull. Now ideally we would have like to have been right in Ubud but that would have meant paying twice as much for an equivalent hotel.

Iwan met us at the front desk. What an amazing host. What you see with him is real. We would sugget you trust him with your excursions and organizing taxis etc. He picked them right and also kept the local toure guides and taxis honest with their pricing... The Indonesions love to barter. Believe it or not start at about 25% of what they quote you and work up to 50%.

The rooms were awesome. Gorgious views, spacious, exactly what you see in the pictures. Those flowers in the tub. You'll get them.

The hotel is at least 25 minutes from the city of Ubud. This can get up to 50 in busy traffic. But this is a wonderful drive through villages and jungle. You are on vacation. Enjoy it and relax. But we only spend two of five days in Ubud. From here you will undoubtedly make day trips around the island. This is a great starting point.

The only thing I would say that didn't do it for us was the temperature of the pool. People, service, food, room cleaning, all perfect.

Jason and Genta

Room Tip: Higher up is better view and closer to the restaurant. Spa is at the bottom, pool mid point, and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Nandini can easily earn a 5 point score however for a range of silly reasons it cannot be scored better than 3 out of 5. The location, the core ingredients are there however decisions around customer care and the execution of certain facilities leave a bad taste, I can see how many people would give this 5/5 however having stayed in Ubud many times now the same money buys a whole lot more in other hotels.

Location - set about 20 to 30 minutes drive out of Ubud you are deep into the jungles of Bali. It is peaceful, serene, green and simply magnificent.

Rooms - great little "chalets" set in the side of the mountain. They all have an excellent balcony and if not a huge vista style view they at least look into the jungle. Rooms roll down the mountain and you catch an inclinator, called gondola here, down to the pool or spa or your room depending where you are. I stayed in rooms 17 and 18. Rooms are a little cheap though, the towels and other finishings were frankly very cheap. Given I paid nearly $200 for the night i expected more. There is not enough water in the rooms only two small bottles before you have to start buying soft drinks or evian. Beds are firm and should be upgraded. Overal they are spacious, not huge, roooms with a great balcony and a good wood feeling.

Service - not bad, not great. The people are friendly and warm. However there is not a high service standard here and you almost have to seek out the help Additionally I think they are not trained to excel at customer delight.

Food - a complete rip off and not nearly good enough. This was shocking to me. Every meal came at seriously high prices and just was plain ordinary, not bad, just not even close to good. My Indonesian friend scored her lunch a 2 out of 10. The restaurant is in serious need of attention, its just plain and lacks taste and style. Nandini could easily make this much better and they really should.

Room Service - non existent or at great expense. I asked for breakfast in my room. I was told it would be USD ($18). Thing was though breakfast is included in my package.

Added Extras - bikes and more, its a great location and getting amongst nature, the local balinese village is very easy.

Spa centre - free foot massage on arrival, awesome. The foot massage was held in the walk way though so no serenity as people cruised passed several times. The spa centre looks excellent and my foot massage was good, so good i wished it went for an hour.

Atmosphere Overall - I would say that it has many of the right ingredients but lacks attention to detail. the various areas around the resort are adequate and so easily could be amazing.

Value - not real good i have to say. This was my primary issue having spent $187 a night for two rooms i expected great customer care. I expected a certain standard that was not me. Additionally everything additional costs a lot of money. The hotel was happy to offer me 50% discounts however I was just appalled by the prices. A breakfast for $18, you cannot be serious, it only had two egs, toast and fruit salad. That much money gets you an incredible breakfast at nearby 5 star resorts. Seriously if everything was 30%-50% cheaper I would have been a lot happier.

A fundamental flaw: my sense was this hotel was here to make money first and to delight the client second. Every interaction I had left me feeling not well looked after and appeared as an opportunity for a substandard solution to be provided at a premium price.


Best Part: Location, serenity
Worst: Sub par solutions at premium prices
Go Again: Not likely, however, I believe this has awesome potential, so probably. I also think it would be easy for these guys to do an amazing job.

Conclusion: many great elements just poorly executed. Tidy up the execution, put the customer at the heart of your operation and this will be a lovely place.

Room Tip: rooms 17 and 18 are at the bottom and do not have a view, room 5, 6 appear to have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We began our 2 week Balinese holiday at Nandini, and our experience there was nothing short of spectacular. From the moment we set foot on the property we were immersed in an idyllic jungle hideaway, bursting at the seams with a tropical confection of trees and exotic flowers. We received a very warm welcome from Iwan (guest relations), who within minutes was completely tuned in to our wants and needs. His ability to intuitively remain one step ahead of us in predicting our requests was staggering. The rooms are generous thatched-roof private villas with views that took my breath away, sweeping across the lush valley that encloses the river below. The location offered a major contrast to the hustle and bustle of city life and the ordinary beach resort, but there was no shortage of adventure. Iwan offered us a plethora of excursions and he made all arrangements with effortless panache. He was a delight to have met. It was difficult to wrench ourselves from this special place, and we will recommend it to friends in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud

Address: | Br. Susut, Payangan, Bali 80572, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa Ubud is located on the slopes of the Ayung River Valley. It offers a restaurant, a spa with massage pavilions, and a resort monorail.The resort provides a free shuttle service to Ubud's town centre, located a 20-minute drive from the hotel. Denpasar is 1-hour drive away, while Ngurah Rai International Airport is around 1.5-hour drive away.Nandini Bali Jungle Resort boasts a hillside swimming pool, an outdoor jacuzzi, and concealed paths to a jungle river. Resort activities include yoga, trekking and cycling. Guests may also spot wildlife such as macaque monkeys.The traditional Balinese chalets at Nandini have private balconies with stunning jungle views. Featuring wooden interiors, each chalet comes with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player and a safety deposit box. Bathrooms have a separate bathtub and shower stall.Wild Ginger Restaurant offers local, international and Indonesian dishes, prepared with fresh ingredients grown in the resort. Local and Asian tea are served at the open-air Warung Teh Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nandini Bali Resort And Spa Ubud
Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud Hotel Ubud
Nandini Bali Hotel Ubud
Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud Payangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nandini Bali Resort & Spa Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.