We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb ! life as it should be !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of COMO Shambhala Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added COMO Shambhala Estate to your Saves list
COMO Shambhala Estate
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Banjar Begawan, Desa Melinggih Kelod | Payangan, Ubud, Payangan, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb ! life as it should be !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Best hotel I've been to (along with Katikies in Greece), not so much for the luxury, but for the location, surroundings, atmospher, guest service, understated comfort.
Everything was simply perfect. We spent only 1 night, it was worth it. We've been lucky enough to be upgraded to a 1bdrm Retreat Villa, which was simply fantastic. We has our own private infinity pool, private steam room, etc. Staff is everywhere, but very discreet. Gardens are somptuous, with jungle, natural spring pools. Food is simply excellent, from breakfast to dinner.
A once in a lifetime experience

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaBarter, Operations Dir at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear OJdiver,

Many thanks for your review that captures the essence of COMO Shambhala Estate, Bali.

We look forward to your return on one of our bespoke Wellness Programmes where you will be able to spend a little more time further exploring what we have to offer.

With warm wishes from Bali,

Monica Barter
COMO Shambhala
Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    26
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
13
147
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

While the place is very expensive, the "Vitality Package" we booked was well worth the money! It includes 2 nights of accommodation, amazing gourmet breakfast, and a 1 hour massage in a private clifftop therapy room overlooking the river. Como Shambhala Estate is such an unique retreat location that offers plenty of privacy and choice of activities with very professional instructors, such as Pilates, Yoga (both by foreign instructors), and a village bike ride lead by a local guide. It really deserves the title 'Estate' as the area the resort covers is HUGE.. the highlight was the natural spring pools about halfway down the mountain which is built and maintained by the estate. The only downside is that given the remote location (about 10 min from Ubud central) the place completely overcharges for transportation. So best you find a driver from outside and arrange side trips separately.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaBarter, Operations Dir at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Helenmeloness,

Greetings from COMO Shambhala Estate and thank you for taking the time to reach out to us.

The Estate is indeed a hideaway and it was great that your experiences spanned our various offerings from healthy cuisine, Spa services to Activities like Pilates and Yoga -- a well-rounded stay indeed!

The nature of a stay at The Estate is for one to arrive, unwind and restore and never want to leave for the bustle of the outside world.

We have however taken note of your comments about Transportation.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

With very best wishes,

Monica Barter
COMO Shambhala
Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this property with our kids (ages 12 and 14) in July of 2012. It was an amazing experience that they will remember forever. The estate has a unique zen feel that even the kids sense. You are assigned a personal assistant upon arrival that seems to appear out of nowhere whenever you need something. The grounds are stunning and the rooms are well designed with access to the outdoor shower from both the pool and the bathroom. The food was very flavorful and healthy. I would not recommend this hotel for families with kids less than 12 as there are multiple places where a smaller child could easily fall over a cliff.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaBarter, Operations Dir at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear drmaitai

Many thanks for your review capturing the essence of COMO Shambhala Estate in Bali.

The calming “Zen” energy of The Estate permeate its entire grounds and we do our best to create seamless services which is evident from the understated design, the PAs that you met, beautifully prepared meals and care taken with our unique gardens.

We are glad that it was an enjoyable family holiday and we look forward to your return.

With warm wishes,

Monica Barter
COMO Shambhala
Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place is well worth every penny. The estate is to die for gorgeous. Be careful, though, if you have any issue with stairs- the whole place is vertical and designed upon terraces. Being here was like being in a little bit of heaven- you will never want to leave. In fact, I didn't for my whole stay. Instead I feasted on fabulous, healthy food and took in all the daily activities which included guided hikes, rock climbing, yoga and water therapy. The Ayurvedic doctor is amazing and helped me with a lot of issues. I love this place and can't wait to go back! The rooms are chic, well appointed and the pools luxurious. Views are fantastic and service good. Definitely worth the splurge. And the spa...divine!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaBarter, Operations Dir at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear melsnugs,

Many thanks for your review capturing the essence of your wellness getaway at COMO Shambhala Estate in Bali.

Your experiences sums up everything and more we wish for all our guests wanting to regain some balance in life and being cocooned in a “little bit of Heaven”!

We are glad that the expert advice of our Ayurvedic Dr was of help and that your Wellness Programme was carefully crafted and we also managed to up the fitness ante with the hike up our stairs!

If at all in Bali again we look forward to your return, and making us your choice of a true vacation to relax, nourish and rejuvenate mind, body and soul.

With warm wishes,


Monica Barter
COMO Shambhala
Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Especially recommend for anyone who is looking for detox holiday - great wellness programs and delicious juice menu.

Lots of activities are offered and most of them i.e. yoga, pirates, tai-chi are complimentary so you could have very active holiday too.

Beautiful estate.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaBarter, Operations Dir at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear spa_junkie_0007,

Thank you for making COMO Shambhala Estate your choice of great detox holiday!

We are glad we ranked highly and your aims for a detox / cleansing were met.

Our Estate schedule of activities is indeed designed for those wishing to be more active or simply wanting to explore a new healing modality (like Tai Chi) or to be educated about a more healthy lifestyle in via our wellness lectures conducted by our team of Specialists.

We look forward to your return.

With warm wishes,

Monica Barter
COMO Shambhala
Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

My wife had booked a 3 day wellness program. I decided in last minute to join her to enjoy 24hours of Como Shanbhala experience...what an amazing experience it was!
Everything was detailed and tailored for both of us to enjoy the Estate. I wish I could have stayed longer than 24hours.
The dining experience and the "raw" food menu was a new discovery for me and the culinary team truly impressed me by their creativity and talent.
I recommend the couple massage in one of the bale tha are along the river...the sound of the rain forest and the river are the perfect compliment to the talent and professionalism of the therapist. Make sure your Personnal Assistant arrange a "lunch pic nic" after your massage, next to one of the several water source that are within the property...Just amazing!
I can't wait to return...next time, for more than 24hours!!!!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaBarter, Operations Dir at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear JerCol,

Greetings from COMO Shambhal Estate and thank you for your review.

I sensed that the 24 hours were not long enough but you did well in exploring what The Estate has to offer in terms of its services, peaceful surroundings and the pure Balinese grace.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to The Estate on your next wellness holiday.

With very best wishes,

Monica Barter
COMO Shambhala
Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

A real oasis and retreat to revive and refresh. Great restaurants and activities and the wellness program are second to none. The staff are all very friendly and sincere and look after your every need. When my suitcase didn't make the connecting flight due to weather delays, the staff had two outfits waiting for me upon arrival. Shopping in nearby Ubud is a treat and the hotel will drive you there and pick you up. I took a bike trek one morning and really enjoyed seeing the local architecture. I hope to go back.

Room Tip: I was in a villa with private infinity pool and outdoor dining room - the bathroom has an outdoor sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaBarter, Operations Dir at COMO Shambhala Estate, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Michael R,

Many thanks for your review capturing the essence of your wellness holiday at COMO Shambhala Estate in Bali.

We hope your trip to Bali will be one of the many more to come and we are glad we can be a part of it.

We look forward to your return.

With warm wishes from us all at COMO Shambhala Estate.

Monica Barter
COMO Shambhala
Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to COMO Shambhala Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Shambhala Estate

Address: Banjar Begawan, Desa Melinggih Kelod | Payangan, Ubud, Payangan, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#2 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Shambhala Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Shambhala Estate is a residential health retreat with luxury villa-style accommodations near Ubud, Bali. This ‘Retreat for Change’ is a place to relax and improve wellbeing. State-of-the-art wellness facilities include a Vitality pool, private treatment areas beside the River Ayung, a climbing wall, gym, Pilates studio and yoga pavilion. The Estate’s Resident Experts, who all support the 360-degree approach to wellness, include a Yoga Master, Ayurvedic Doctor and guides for outdoor activities, with nutritional menus by COMO Shambhala Cuisine. The range of suites and villas, perched above the Balinese jungle, suits independent guests, couples, or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your COMO Shambhala Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Como Shambhala Estate Hotel Payangan
COMO Shambhala Estate Bali/Payangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage COMO Shambhala Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.