We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best romantic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanging Gardens Ubud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hanging Gardens Ubud to your Saves list
Hanging Gardens Ubud
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Desa Buahan Desa Payangan, Payangan, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kiev
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The best romantic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Good food and atmosphere, very remote place and is great for honeymoon or if you want to stay isolated with the beloved one, wonderful nature.
Romantic (or with the group of friends) dinner at the old temple - do not recommend. You'll have a long walk, the food is good, but dinner place itself doesn't look clean and nice. Better to walk there during the day time and for the dinner to drive to some nice places in the city.
SPA level is average, select carefully...

Room Tip: Great villas with private pools - the higher the better, as you have better view to the valley and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    151
    69
    31
    18
See reviews for
79
661
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

very nice, quite, relaxing vila type hotel with your private pool and wonderful sharring infinity pool, surounded by amazing green nature , so whenever you decide to visit BALI its a must to visit this wonderful hotel even for a visit, because it is a bit expencive

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Last year I have been to Hanging Garden Hotel..with my friend from Russia..they came to Bali for a Honeymoon..they choose a Hotel in Payangan it is called Hanging garden it was really amazing places..they said..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Everything was perfect when we were there. I guess not going during its peak season has its advantages.

We had a duplex room overlooking the valley and the infinity pool was great. The weather is extremely cool (for Bali) around 20+ degrees and dry. So we loved the cool climate. The private pool can get chilling if you stay in it for too long, thus my only "complain" if any is that the heater is obviously not working.

We look forward to staying here again if we ever visit Ubud in Bali. It is a short drive away (about 30-40 mins). Ubud (being a cultural centre) can get very crowded and noisy during the day due to the hoards of tourists making day trips to it. This is a nice resort to base yourself if you want to do the "slower" white water rafting or visit Ubud in a more leisurely fashion.

This is a different experience from the usual "sun and beach" resort in Bali. Perhaps it can be a refreshing mix to stay a few nights at each area while you are in Bali.

My pictures are here. http://sqtravel.blogspot.sg/2012/06/hotel-review-ubud-hanging-garden.html

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Sorry if this review is lengthy but I hope the reader will find it useful.

We are almost at the end of our 4 night stay at the beautiful Ubud Hanging Gardens. This is not like staying at any ordinary luxury resort - being here feels as if we are staying at a private residence that just happens to have 38 villas and a full staff. We have been impressed with the intimate, personal and exceptional service in all areas of the Hanging Gardens. We arrived in the evening after traveling from California and were met by our driver as soon as we came out of customs. We booked transportation through the hotel and we felt as if our vacation had begun the moment we were greeted. Our friendly driver navigated the busy streets as we left the airport and headed north to Ubud. Arrival at the resort was smooth, professional and friendly and we were shown to our villa right away.

The villas are lovely, private and well appointed with everything that you would expect from a top class property. Each is equipped with a personal pool which was large enough to swim in as opposed to the private plunge pools found elsewhere. The pools are heated to 29C degrees so its like swimming in a bath. Very nice indeed. Be sure to ask the reception to arrange for your pool to be heated if you arrive and the water is on the cool side. Unfortunately we shared our first villa with some large geckos that kept pooping all over the floor. Although being in the tropics one expects these sorts of things, we did ask to be accommodated in another villa. We were handled with grace and poise by the Guest Relations Manager, Ms Mei, who in our opinion is a credit to the hotel and a true ambassador of Balinese hospitality. Instead of reminding us that we are in the tropics and to 'deal with it' she listened to our concerns recognizing we were very jet-lagged and took great care of us. Mei had all of our luggage moved to another villa. Unfortunately this new villa was next to the funicular that transports guests up and down the hillside, and located near the restaurant. Once inside we realized this would not work for us as we wanted a villa a little further away from the main part of the resort. So we called Mei once more. I am sure she thought we were going to be trouble :) However, with the same grace she ensured we were placed in a villa with private setting to enable us to get some rest. Please note, there was nothing wrong with the villas we were initially assigned to - it was merely a personal choice to move to an alternate location within the resort property. A HUGE big thank you to Mei for getting us settled - the way she handled us made everything perfect and we are most grateful.

We had breakfast included in our stay and enjoyed the full array of foods each morning, sipping strong delicious coffee while we surveyed the jungle that surrounded us. The staff each day remembered our names and always greeted us with the warmest smiles. We dined in the hotel restaurant on our second night and were very impressed with the food quality and service. The restaurant enjoys a high elevation within the resort and opposite the resort on the ridge line is a beautiful temple, which at night-time is illuminated. The view is simply beautiful and made the evening magical. The cafe, which serves a complimentary afternoon tea each day, is much lower in the resort and you can head the rushing waters of the Anak Ayung river.

The hotel provide a shuttle service into Ubud during normal business hours and in the evening they arranged for private car service to and from Ubud. The charge is approximately US$15 each way using the hotel car service and we highly recommend doing this. The drivers are friendly, they speak English and we experienced good drivers.

This morning we were woken at 6am with loud thuds on the roof of our villa. We woke with a start as the noise increased. At first, we were confused as to what was making all this noise and then we realized that we were being visited by the local monkeys. We jumped out of bed and grabbed the cameras and for about 45 minutes enjoyed the antics of a group of monkeys who romped around our villa terrace, played in the pool, sat on the sala roof and then proceeded to jump from tree to tree. This was a very special experience and we feel really lucky to have witnessed this. With floor to ceiling glass panel doors and windows we had the perfect view while being protected from being indoors.

Finally I would like to comment on the spa. We enjoyed a 2 hour treatment package which included Balinese massage for 60 minutes, an herbal invigoration treatment (amazing) followed by a luxurious soak in an herbal bath. The treatment room is open to the jungle but offers complete privacy at the same time. Warm breezes caress your body as you lay on the table being transported to bliss by the wonderful strong hands of Seni and Seri. Thank you ladies for a truly wonderful experience at the Ayung Spa. Without doubt, definitely treat yourself to one of their many services. You will not regret it and you will leave completely revived.

In closing, I hope that this description has convinced you to book a stay at the Hanging Gardens. It is not close to Ubud but if you, like us, want something private and a little off the beaten path of usual tourist life, then you can not go wrong with a stay here. I only wish we were staying for a few more nights. I feel completely refreshed, relaxed and pampered. Hanging Gardens is a wonderful place to stay made only more exceptional by the staff that clearly enjoy working here. Don't hesitate - make a booking!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lonodn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I ended our honeymoon here and we were not disappointed. The service was excellent, the room and pool was delightful and the views of the jungle were panaramic. The only reason I have given it a 4 and not 5 rating is that our room 20 which was the deluxe panaromic villa faced the road across the valley which meant the mornings of rush hour were very noisy. I would advise you check what room you will be in first.

The hotel is located about 25mins out side of ubud but the hotel runs a shuttle service ever hour which is great. If you want to get away from the party side of Bali this is a great place to stay.

One tip - if you are arriving at night the airport is a crazy place so get the hotel to arrange your taxi, yes it's more money but it well worth it..... The driver we had was Wayan, he was really nice and a very safe driver.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I am in love with Asia. Growing up in NZ, my first jaunts away from the nest were always to this region and being based in the UK now, I forget how amazing it is. The Ubud Hanging Gardens were a sublime way to remind me. This delightful hotel was part of a package I purchased (through www.luxurylink.com) where I had three nights here, followed by 5 nights in their sister hotel down in Jimbaran Bay (see separate review). I wish I had spent more time here. This hotel is magnificent - the stunning setting (ignore the nearly two hour drive there from the airport, it's totally worth it), the privacy, the cable car, the food, the service, the room - absolutely top notch. I did not leave the entire time I was there, and I could have done with at least another 24 hours. The rooms are posh private huts with private plunge pools and you genuniely do not have to see another soul if you don't want to. Heaven. The breakfast was communal and more than adequate (the view alone is worth leaving your room) and the dinners exquisite. That said, we had one three course meal with wine provided as part of our package, the following night (our first night we arrived late and were given complimentary sandwiches) we paid ourselves and for Asia, be warned, these prices are VERY expensive. So it's easy to get carried away with the spa (worth a visit for a couples treatment) and the overall feel of the place (in addition to your private jungle surrounded infinitity pool - there is a split level communal infinity pool that defies belief - check out the website), the meals are pricey (delicious but pricey). This is a great place to go and unwind for a few days, I wouldn't stay longer than 3 or 4 nights before getting out and amongst it though. Transfers are willingly organised by the staff but really it's a place you to go, not somewhere to use as a base. Loved it.

Room Tip: This is one of the only places I would say any is just about perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanging Gardens Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens Ubud

Address: Desa Buahan Desa Payangan, Payangan, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#4 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden deep in the natural beauty of Bali's rich rainforest, this luxury 5-star hotel has 38 private thatched villas, each with its own heated infinity pool. The hotel, with its stunning and much-lauded twin-level cascading pools, overlooks rich jungle landscapes and the holy Ayung River, with an ancient temple opposite on the other side of a spectacular plunging gorge. Hanging Gardens Ubud offers supreme luxury and ultimate privacy combined with five star service set to the sounds of chattering monkeys and native birds. The Restaurant serves exceptional dishes with Asian, Western and Mediterranean influences, using indigenous herbs and spices grown in the neighboring village and freshly-caught fish from Jimbaran Bay. A pair of funiculars take guests through the jungle to the terraced levels of the property. The verdant gardens were designed by landscape architect John Pettigrew and incorporate local flora and fauna such as cocoa and coffee trees, which blend serenely with bamboo, flame trees and orchids to create a unique tropical paradise. The truly luxurious Spa uses local ingredients and ancient techniques, combined to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energise the soul. Most of the staff come from the local village, which the hotel takes great care to support with programs such as the planned new library for the village school, which guests are invited to contribute books to. If you are looking for a the ultimate jungle escape, then come and let us create it for you at Hanging Gardens Ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Hanging Gardens Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Ubud Bali/Payangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanging Gardens Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.