We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanging Gardens Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hanging Gardens Ubud to your Saves list
Hanging Gardens Ubud
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Desa Buahan Desa Payangan, Payangan, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

What can I say that has not already been said about this world class hotel ? Not much, so I will no doubt repeat what others have said.
Superb hotel in a sensational setting. Service that leaves similar hotels behind and a truly unique location. The food is also some of the best food I have tasted. A glorious 4 days in our villa with infinity pool. We'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    151
    69
    31
    18
See reviews for
79
662
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Ubud Hanging Gardens in a Riverside Pool Villa (Room 64) in early Oct on a Luxurylink package. Looking at the pictures of the double-storey infinity pool and the open air spa on the hotel website made us really anticipate the trip, and most of the resort lived up to expectations.

Do note that you are 40mins (by bus) out of Ubud Central and almost 2hrs from the airport at Denpasar. The location of the resort in the village of Payangan is on a extremely steep mountain in the middle of the lush rainforest, with the villas spread out along different rows. We were staying on the same level as the cafe (where afternoon tea takes place) and the spa. The restaurant and bar, pool and library were 3 mins away by funicular.

Upon check-in, we immediately felt a sense of calmness which lasted throughout the stay. The staff are extremely polite, always greeting you (mostly by name) with a warm smile. We were especially impressed by Eka who showed us around the resort,Jumi at the restaurant, Tari (sp?) at the reception and Yumi at the spa.

The villa's 'private' pool is actually not that private and it is more of a wading pool. We could see into our neighbour's pool and our pool had direct line of sight from the cafe, which was fortunately quite far away. We saw that there were complaints about the temperature of the pool, but to us it was definitely bearable once one got over the initial chilliness. We even swam in the morning with mist rolling around the forest opposite.

The rest of the villa is quite nice but I would agree that it is slightly dated, I understand that the resort has been open for 7 years now. Don't worry everything works fine and we slept very well, so actually this is not a compaint but an observation. I would suggest changing the TVs in the rooms to newer models like the LED series though.

We had breakfast every morning in the restaurant and tea in the cafe, and found them to be very pleasant. We also had dinner twice in the restaurant (one of which was inclusive in the package) and also enjoyed ourselves. The presentation of the dishes were surprisingly elaborate and we especially enjoyed the milkshakes and the mocktails (Lemongrass Sprite). Special mention also for the tomyum bisque and the soybean cracker/keropok which were superb.

We also had an enjoyable experience at the spa. The Balinese massage, coconut/rice body scrub and flower bath took place in an open-air pavilion and the masseurs were very professional.

We realised that the main 'complaints' in TA about the resort are about the distance from Ubud and also that some of the staff are rather 'pushy' about recommending additional activities. We did time our excursion to Ubud such that we could take the hotel shuttle there and back. We had dinner at Mozaic one night (highly recommended btw!) and had a private arrangement with a driver to send us back for IDR100,000. The hotel charges USD15 for one-way car service. We also went for the Ayung river rafting which the hotel outsources to Sobek, which is highly recommended. All in all, we did not experience any negative service on these two aspects.

All in all, we will remember the days we spent idling in the pools (both private and the main one) and in the room. We loved our stay at the Hanging Gardens and would recommend it for couples who love slowing down their pace of life on vacation.

Room Tip: Request for a room away from any public facility (e.g. cafe or restaurant) so that you are not distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

After the 2+ hour drive from Jimbaran Bay we were welcomed by the staff at Ubud Hanging Gardens. Each villa has a "private" pool and most face the river valley. Our room had all the necessities and was clean. It does take a while to get around the property since its built into the hillside and there are 2 inclinators to take to get to the lobby (or you can take the steps). We did enjoy tea time with small bites to eat, and a balinese massage at the spa. Our massage room was open to the outside so you could hear nature. The breakfast buffet was nothing special but they did provide a good range of food. We arrived when they opened and the food was all cold :\ Dinner was much better with warm and delicious food. I would not recommend driving the hilly road at night to Ubud for dinner. The hotel does provide bides to ride through the local villages and an hourly shuttle during the day to Ubud Center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Ukraine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Ubud Hanging Gardens and we had the most amazing time. It's all about service. This is a very boutique hotel with private villas and as a result the staff was very attentive and anticipated our needs. They helped us with everything that we needed and I feel like we got personalized service (unlike at a large chain hotel). The experience made me fall in love with Bali and I would definitely return here again (even though I avoid going to the same places twice). Oh, breathtaking views in every place of the hotel and very good breakfast and SPA. Just loved, loved the overall experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Best hotel we have ever stayed at. Absolute magic from start to finish. Nothing can top the service, food and scenery. The staff were incredibly helpful anf friendly, nothong was too much trouble We'll be back for our one year anniversary and every anniversary after that.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Recently got back from a 3 night stay at the hanging gardens hotel, and I must say it was exactly what we were looking for, overall it was also our favorite place in Bali. The villas are fantastic with their pools that (I think) all give view over the valley on which it is perched. The service was great, everybody was always welcoming with a smile and a pleasant word. Although it belongs to a chain (Orient Express) you get the feeling of a boutique hotel which we liked very much. Had a chat with the GM who mentioned that this is what they were aiming for.
The food was all round very good (which is important because there aren't many other options near by), and a special mention goes to the spa, Sri's traditional Balinese massages were out of this world!
As it is has been mentioned, this hotel is a bit of trek from Ubud itself, but they have a convenient shuttle service which leaves and returns every 30 minutes. To be honest though we didn't see any interest in Ubud, maybe we missed something...
We mainly made the most of the hotel, but there are plenty of activities on hand that the hotel can arrange for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valenzuela, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent our last 2 nights in Bali at Ubud Hanging Gardens. A very perfect place to rest and unwind from the hassle and bustle of a city life. We stayed at Panoramic Villa # 20. The room is complete with all the amenities one should need. Plus, it has the view of the temple (sorry, didn't get the name) and the very serene forest. Almost all views are green, hearing the chirping of the birds, seeing the squirrel hopping from 1 tree to another....wow! A really really perfect way to spend our wedding anniversary all to ourselves. Unfortunately, our room's temperature is kinda inconsistent, sometimes it's cold, sometimes it's hot. The air conditioning must have failed is some ways. Also, wi-fi connections in our room is zero! We have to go down to the libray area or the cafe to get some good connections. Nevertheless, we only stayed there for 2 nights, it didn't much affected the great time we had.

A really must see place where you're in Bali! Thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanging Gardens Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens Ubud

Address: Desa Buahan Desa Payangan, Payangan, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#4 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden deep in the natural beauty of Bali's rich rainforest, this luxury 5-star hotel has 38 private thatched villas, each with its own heated infinity pool. The hotel, with its stunning and much-lauded twin-level cascading pools, overlooks rich jungle landscapes and the holy Ayung River, with an ancient temple opposite on the other side of a spectacular plunging gorge. Hanging Gardens Ubud offers supreme luxury and ultimate privacy combined with five star service set to the sounds of chattering monkeys and native birds. The Restaurant serves exceptional dishes with Asian, Western and Mediterranean influences, using indigenous herbs and spices grown in the neighboring village and freshly-caught fish from Jimbaran Bay. A pair of funiculars take guests through the jungle to the terraced levels of the property. The verdant gardens were designed by landscape architect John Pettigrew and incorporate local flora and fauna such as cocoa and coffee trees, which blend serenely with bamboo, flame trees and orchids to create a unique tropical paradise. The truly luxurious Spa uses local ingredients and ancient techniques, combined to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energise the soul. Most of the staff come from the local village, which the hotel takes great care to support with programs such as the planned new library for the village school, which guests are invited to contribute books to. If you are looking for a the ultimate jungle escape, then come and let us create it for you at Hanging Gardens Ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hanging Gardens Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Ubud Bali/Payangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanging Gardens Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.