We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa to your Saves list
Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   Desa Kelusa | Payangan Ubud, Payangan, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here with our 6 year old. They place has a lovely personal feel to it. Staff are very friendly and accommodating, they organised our tours, and the free shuttle service into ubud was flexible. Breakfast was great and not buffet style! All in all we had a great stay at Jiwa Klusa, would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel was about 20 minutes from Ubud. It is tucked away far from the busier streets. The hotel is pretty small - 10 villas. The villas are quite spacious with large king beds and the bathrooms had amazing jacuzzi with lights and jets :) . The hotel provided cookies, fruits and a welcome foot massage upon arriving in the nice spa area. They were very nice and accommodating. We were supposed to do Yoga the following morning - but for some reason they cancelled it and told us because no one booked it , when we did book it the night before. Pool deck area is nice- only 4 lounge chairs though and it is not facing the view of the rice paddies, so it has some privacy. The dining area has the view. They seemed limited on their menu, we did not eat at the hotel and went to the city for dinner. Overall our short stay here was pleasant and a good value. This is a new hotel so i'm sure that it will become more busy. Right now it seems a little calm and less crowded... and also less staff.

Room Tip: Room on the same level as the pool deck seems to have less stairs. All the rooms are staggered with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Only a small group of villas, so the wonderful team take special care of everyone.
It is away from the busy Ubud - but they make up for it by having a shuttle into Ubud town from morning through to night. We initially booked 2 nights but were so happy with Jiwa Klusa and Ubud, we extended to 4 nights.
The Villas are gorgeous and luxury at a decent price.
Will become more popular in time as it's only 6 month old and I will definitely return here on my next trip to Ubud.
Loved it.

Room Tip: small group of villas - all similar - very lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Jiwa Klusa means a perfect set in the middle of rice fields, away from hustle and bustle of Ubud. Hotel staff sadly not tuned in at all. Seems like there is no quality management present. Hotel offers prebookable free service to/from Ubud, but the problem is, they forget about the booking when time comes to pick guests up from Ubud. Breakfast service is a joke - a la carte - it takes over an hour before ordered meals show up and they show only for part of a group sitting behind same table. Jiwa Klusa has a pool, with advertised bar service. Staff forgets to place pool towels and never shows up to ask for drinks, unless guests go ask for service to the front desk. Room service with flaws - missing hair dryer, missing mosquito net, bath rub was not changed daily, promised welcome bottle of wine did not show up, until i urged the manager. Jiwa is set into a hill, climbing to/from your villa includes minimum 30 steep steps - not suitable for guests with walking difficulties.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were very excited about Jiwa Klusa after reading its amazing reviews, uh unfortunately it did not live up to expectation. We had booked a pool villa but arrived to hear 3 different stories on why we could not stay there that night and were moved to a garden villa. We were moved to a pool villa the next day and were very disappointed because it wasn't the villa from the pictures we saw on Agoda listed under 'pool villa'. The spa bath did not work and the taps didn't supply enough hot water to fill it comfortably anyway. In the morning we noticed the smell of animal urine and found poo on the floor, then we were shocked to see a RAT sitting on a ledge in the wall! The service was poor, the staff didn't seem to know what was happening half the time. They were so nice but it was obvious staff communication was poor. It is a real shame because the villas and surroundings are so beautiful

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here on a family Christmas trip to Ubud, Bali. We wanted a jungle/ rice paddy/ cultural holiday. We live on the beach, so we were not that concerned or impressed with Bali Beaches. Jiwa Klusa was the PERFECT choice. The location was quiet on the Rice Paddy- and the SERVICE- STAFF was excellent. They accommodated all our whims- and even provided a special Christmas Eve dinner for us, and for 6 other friends staying at another resort. They decorated the resturant with flowers- and we had a fantastic 7 course meal (to rival any place in the world!) and we even had Balinese Dancers- talk about a SPECIAL Christmas for our teen aged kids! We stayed in the Private Pool Villa. We had massages at the spa- LOVELY- thank you to the three lovely ladies who provided the services - daily massage- yes PLEASE! We had lovely breakfast each morning-Banana Pancakes are the BOMB! Sony, the Manager- provided us with info, and arranged Bike tours, monkey forest tours, daily drivers- everything we needed for an exceptionally special stay in Bali! This would be a great place for Honeymooners- not so much for families with young kids. Only downside was 68 stairs-…YIKES! if stairs are an issue- be sure you ask for a lower room! I can't rave enough about this place! VERY CLEAN, GREAT SERVICE- GREAT FOOD- it's perfect!

Room Tip: Stairs! Be sure to ask about the climb up to rooms if it is an issue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Me & my partner have stayed here for 2 nights during Christmas time, upon arrive our room has no hot water but they offered a room switch which we denied as we prefer our second floor pool facing villa. So they fixed it in a short time.
The staff here is really friendly and helpful. We had a great time here on our first trip to Bali.
The villa is new built in a luxury style, the view is stunning with all these greens and pool just outside. The food is good, we got welcomed by a fresh drink and a half hour foot massage. Room is nice sized with a double space jacuzzi. We even got Flores laid on bed in the first night. Sweet place. We will be back one day !
They also have complementary transport to Ubud market which is really helpful!
A very nice place to stay !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa

Address: Desa Kelusa | Payangan Ubud, Payangan, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name Jiwaklusa comes from the Balinese word 'jiwa' meaning soul and this is combined with the name of the surrounding village. Therefore, the property is the soul of Kelusa village, a place with positive energy where guests can come to recharge on a physical and spiritual level. Kelusa is known for a holy grey stone that is displayed in a local temple. The name of the village actually derives from this piece of stone as 'klau' refers to the colour grey and 'se' means white. It is believed that the revered priest, Rsi Markandya, passed through the village many centuries ago on a spiritual journey. There he saw this particular stone turn red and start to vibrate thus moving him to name the temple Hyang Api (God of Fire). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa Bali/Payangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jiwa Klusa Luxury Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.