We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good up to the last minute... but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ayung Resort Ubud to your Saves list
Ayung Resort Ubud
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Winner 2014 World Luxury
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Payangan
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good up to the last minute... but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Ayung Resort is classy, but comfortable – not stuffy. Our room was a ‘basic’ in the “Laksmana” block, which appears to have 18 rooms – 3 rooms on each side of a central staircase and 3 levels. Room 105 was close to the stairs on the ground floor – but is still above pool level. All rooms overlook the pool. Rooms have a complementary drinks bar fridge with only soft drink cans, ovaltine drinks and a large carton of fresh milk. Alcohol is available in your room through room service. The room has a kettle, plus a pod espresso machine (with 4 pods), plus a milk frother and a kettle. The rooms have two refilled bottles of drinking water.
The rooms are spacious and furnished with dark Balinese furniture that is above average quality (doors and drawers close!). A/C is a small unit, but temperatures are not extreme at this altitude. The floor and bathroom are alabaster marble – which I don’t like, but I guess it looks ‘classy’. Everything was sparkling clean except a small stain on the bed runner.
The whole property reminds me of The Samaya just out of Ubud – but I don’t think the Samaya has anything but cottages. The long, cobbled roads meander down to the river. Whereas the Samaya has a first class restaurant on the river, the Ayung Resort is in a steeper valley and has chosen to put the restaurant at the top of the property, where you can get commanding views of the river valley. Some of the rafting companies start their tours within sight of your breakfast table. A few reports talk about it being a new property, but it is well settled into its surroundings and the steady maintenance needed in Bali was already underway. It is a steep walk to the river – don’t hold high expectations of the ‘deer park’. This feature looks more like it might be more for the owner’s dinner indulgence than anything else – it is a sad, dirt pen with nothing growing, rickety fencing – but much better than your average Balinese cow stall. The bungalows look large and impressive from the outside. We saw plenty of monkeys, squirrels and bats in the grounds.
On our first day, we had ‘afternoon tea’ brought to the room – two small savoury tarts each (make your own tea).
Dinner service starts at 7pm – we would have been there at 6pm on the first night – tired and hungry from our travel. About 6:50, room service wanted to offer ‘turn down’ service – I said we would be out in 10 minutes, but the group of 5 staff clearly didn’t want to come back. I was given two chocolates at the door (the ones that mysteriously appeared’ for others) and that was our turn down service!
Dinner was about AUD$90 including 3 small beers and two good glasses of NZ wine. We only had main and dessert. We declined bottled water, but soon had glasses of chilled water poured that were topped up through the night. We were served a lovely ‘amuse bouch’ of smoked marlin and then warm bread rolls. Service was a little pushy – pressing us to order an entrée and quickly order more beer/ wine. Service and the experience were really lovely though. We opted for an ‘outside’ table on the balcony of the restaurant – and were offered a herbal mossie spray that smelt good. The lights clearly attract a few bugs from the valley jungle, but they were deftly swept away periodically and were not a worry.
At breakfast the service was still pushy – which just goes to show it is not mercenary in nature, as whatever you want is included in the tariff, but there is no buffet. We were a little undecided or unclear about breads and pastries to order, so we were served a large platter of everything. We saw a single diner got the same large board of options with two of everything – bread, English muffins, cheese muffins and cheese scones, Danish, croissant, bread, jams and a tiny pat of butter. Then fruit platter (surprisingly poor), and your choice of cooked breakfast. My wife ordered ‘plain scrambled eggs on toast’ – it wasn’t on the menu, but clearly they could do it. A bewildering choice of additions were declined. The eggs came not so plain - towered on tiny toasted English muffin with diced tomato on top, then a side of grilled vegetables. It was not exactly what we ordered, but the frills could be left on the plate and were very nicely presented and well received.
Our first full day included a long walk by ourselves to Tegal Lallang, then we spent an afternoon at the pool (the large Laksmana pool to ourselves). Lounges are dressed with two towels and one to use. We were offered cool towels and iced water to ease the pain. The gym is clean and well-appointed with good quality gear. Complementary daily yoga was not something we tried, but we saw it underway.
On our last day, we used the complementary shuttle to drop us in Ubud with or bags. Before we left the carpark at the drop off point, we had our taxi to our next hotel in Sidemen all sorted, and we were off!
Unfortunately, my wife felt suddenly ill less than 30 minutes after leaving the hotel. We had enjoyed our last three meals at Ayung Resort (dinner, breakfast, and lunch after checking out), so we are in little doubt that the sudden and terrible illness that spoilt the next few days of our holiday must have been caused in some way from the restaurant. We did both thoroughly enjoy the hotel and the restaurant. The lack of other similar experiences suggests that ours was an isolated experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    44
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
52
209
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a great spot - the lobby is like a museum and pool view is spectacularly. It's a little far out from Ubud and the golf cart rides can get a bit tiresome if you are staying further into the property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed a lot of places around the world and this would have to be one of the best! Absolutely amazing and the rooms are great with high ceilings and the most amazing bathrooms . I recommend this resort for couples as a romantic getaway. It is situated in a rain forest making you feel very secluded! Also has a nice gym and yoga every morning . Monkeys even come onto your balcony!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel was recommended by tripadvisor reviewers and looked relatively good from the photos. However what a wonderful surprise it truly was. I was travelling with my husband and his relatives on a trip around Indonesia and Borneo and this hotel was one of the highlights!!! the decor, location and service was fantastic. An eye for detail and the personal touches such as chocolates every night on your pillow made me realise the real value of using boutique hotels to corporate big chain ones. The breakfast was phenomenal with an a la carte choice. the spa staff and treatments were a splurge that you never felt guilty spending on. In fact we hardly left the hotel during our three nights there. Any tips-only use the recommended adventure company which has leaflets in the reception. I think it is called bali adventures for rafting and cycling-other companies are second rate and our experience was they put you at risk-my husband and his cousin were thrown out of the raft by the inexperienced raft hand for white water rafting. They had to swim 30metres to get back on the raft and suffered injuries. This was found highly amusing to the rafter, who could not have been older than 20 years . When we recalled the mishap to the manager on duty at front desk (as the company had been recommended by one of the porters) they were so upset and shocked that they offered us compensation although it was not their fault. They took full responsibility and behaved so professionally. I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel and all it's wonderful staff. If you want to do something different from the normal bali hardcore partying and big hotel chains stay here as it is an unforgettable experience. I would say that the village directly outside the hotel is not so great, if I had to give one criticism.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The architecture of the hotel is breathtaking, the food served at the hotel's restaurant is excellent and reasonably priced. Also, the service is impeccable! All in all, an excellent choice, especially for couples seeking a romantic setting.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The rooms and resort grounds are awe inspiring. The staff knew our names by the first day and provided the best service. They are extremely friendly, always great you with a smile, and go above and beyond to help make your stay more pleasant. The spa and restaurant are incredible. I highly recommend Ayung resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is one of the few 5 star hotels I've stayed in and with it being half price because of the season, it was an incredible bargain (about $112 Cdn a night plus taxes) I found the service to be top notch, starting with the welcome appetizers that arrived at our room within 15 minutes of our arrival in it. The room itself was very large, with a balcony overlooking the pool and nearby hillside. The marble bathroom was large and luxurious. It was easy to adjust the air-conditioning, a necessity in the heat, and the sound did not interfere with sleep.

Breakfast was included and what a breakfast! Not one of the buffet ones, but a la carte with as much as you wanted. I've seldom had a better breakfast. What stood out for me was the fresh fruit, Malaysian rice dishes, and fresh baking. The latter blew my mind with the quality; better croissants that I've usually had in France and all sorts of interesting savoury breads or biscuits.

As a swimmer, I appreciated the huge pool which I always had to myself to do laps.

Because the resort is on a steep hill, it is real exercise getting from the lower buildings to the lobby and restaurant. However if you don't want to walk, it is usually just a few minutes wait for a electric cart driven by the most obliging young guys.

The one downside I experienced is the distance to Ubud; it takes at least 20 minutes. There is a free shuttle, which goes twice in the morning and returns twice in the afternoon, the last one being around 4 pm. If you want to go at your own convenience or stay for the evening, then you have to hire a car or taxi.

I don't know what the other 5 star hotels are like around Ubud, but I don't hesitate to recommend this one.

Room Tip: They all seem to have a good view. If you don't want to walk up hills, chose a room in the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayung Resort Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.