We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful extra long weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ayung Resort Ubud to your Saves list
Ayung Resort Ubud
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Exclusive Oct Offer40%OFF
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Payangan
Western Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful extra long weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Arrived at the new airport in Denpasar to be picked up as arranged with the resort. Was glad we organised this as the resort is about a 20 minute drive out of Ubud, so well over an hours drive and a standard taxi would have a hard time finding this unless he knew where he was going. Not much more than taxi fare but nice to see a face in the crowd just for you. We travelled through small villages and narrow roads until this garden oasis appeared. Wonderful place but made more so by the local staff who were the real stars here. Nothing was a problem, this was a five star resort in all ways. Restaurant was first class. Breakfast was fantastic, all home made with a bountiful menu eaten overlooking the rice fields and tropical forest. Dined there for two of our three nights as it was first rate. Afternoon tea is complimentary and not to be missed. Wine list extensive and in all very fairly priced as likewise the food. We stayed in the Sita wing with large comfortable rooms and balcony. Large pool with plenty of beds. Spa was good which also looked over the fauna and river The resort is steep so guests are transported via buggy. We checked out the villas and will treat ourselves next time as they were gorgeous with their own infinity pools. Free shuttle into Ubud several times a day.
Only one thing we would have liked was a day bed on our balcony or comfy room chair to sit. There was a lovely lounge area down the hall though but it is nice to have this in your room.
This is a magical place to chill out and relax which is what we were looking for. I highly recommend this resort, fantastic long weekend. Don't hesitate to come here.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Sita rooms which were excellent but treat yourself to a villa if you can as you will n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    38
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
192
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have just spent 3 wonderful days in the most tranquil and peaceful place you could wish for.
The staff were without exception he friendlest and most welcoming that you could wish for.

The attention to detail is superb in every aspect, The food is some of the best I have eaten especially the tenderloin steak.

I will be returning at the earliest opportunity, to enjoy a longer stay if possible.

If you want to wind down and lose the stress this has to be the place for you.o

Room Tip: try a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casuarina, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We spent 10 days in Bali and stayed Sanur, Nusa Lembongan, Ubud and Nusa Dua. This trip we wanted to get a feel as to where we will stay for longer in the future. As it was my birthday my partner wanted something special and booked Ayung Resort Ubud. We had Hanoman Villa, absolutely beautiful! Cannot fault this place. We were looked after by Krishna who was incredibly efficient and professional. He is a great asset to the resort. The dinners were exceptional and breakfast was very substantial and we loved the fresh juices, pastries, fresh fruit, choice of egg dishes etc. loved getting around in the golf buggies. Yoga was excellent and teacher very skilled. We loved our private infinity pool, with view of the jungle and glimpse of river! We believe this resort is world class and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone! Looking forward to our return trip! Thank you Ayung Resort Staff, you are wonderful!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The resort is out of Ubud at its's too far but once inside you can feel how magical the place is. I was there with 3 friends and unfortunately stayed only for 1 night for my friend's birthday, however it was a memorable one.Check in was a breeze. The whole resort is expansive like an art museum and beautifully manicured rainforest.The welcome food is delicious as well as the ala carte breakfast.The F&B team surprised my friend with a birthday cake and sparkling and the turn down service they gave as pieces of chocolates placed in our bed. Complimentary high tea and mini bar was such a delight. I couldn't find a major flaw in this hotel but i hope they increase the frequency of pick ups to and from the city center. But all in all such a wonderful stay and the hotel rate is more than its value.. Hope to return again in December.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Ayung Resort for 5 nights. We really loved the place and we will surely go back again..
The staff are very friendly , the serive was a real 5 STARS. I recommend visiting this place if you are looking for a place to relax but also to visit Ubud which is not far from the Resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The staff took note of our comment that we would like to swim as much as possible during our stay and placed us in a room that is close to the gorgeous swimming pool. The room was spacious, comfortable and sooo inviting! I love the little details: the bottle of insect repellant for you to use when dining at the restaurant in the evenings, the little truffles they place on your bed every evening when they turn down your bedsheets, the thoughtfully composed complimentary afternoon tea, the lovely snacks while waiting for your room to be ready, the list goes on. The people are lovely and the meals prepared by the chef, Made Lugra are just superb. You can tell they really go out of their way to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My family (6 month pregnant wife, 1 year old daughter, and I) stayed at Ayung Resort in May 2014. We loved the place for many reasons. The grounds of the resort are spetacular. My favorite experience was walking down to the river and passing by the face sculptures in the canyon wall. The service was great and the food was excellent. The views of Ayung River are really special. I recommend visiting this place if you're looking for a relaxed, quiet experience in Bali.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayung Resort Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.