We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ayung Resort Ubud to your Saves list
Ayung Resort Ubud
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Bali 80572, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT GET MORE
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Payangan
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We visited Ayung Resort Ubud between Monday 24 March and Tuesday 8 April 2014. The resort is outside Ubud in a very tranquil environment. It offers sufficient facilities to stay there for a long time. As well on it own grounds as in the vicinity.
The rooms we had were big with a nice balcony overlooking the forest.
The meals were excellent and the service superb.
We hope to return there once.

Kind regards,

Ben Kneefel
The Netherlands

Room Tip: Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    46
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
63
235
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 5 nights at this wonderful retreat. Perfect for couples wanting to relax by the pool, curl up in a huge arm chair and read while being served afternoon tea, or just stroll the beautiful grounds. Loved our balcony room overlooking the pool. The food was very high quality. Miss the sweet corn soup! For those looking for adventure there is rafting and a fabulous view of the rafts from the restaurant overlooking the river. Complimentary soft drink mini bar as well as milk every day, nice touch it there in your own fridge. Good movie reception, this place is good for the soul. We were sorry to leave.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

What a fantastically romantic place. Nicest staff, gorgeous villa, loved our private pool, wonderful breakfast. This property is an over the top labor of love by the owner and we were privileged to have stayed there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel is actually not in Ubud and getting here, you driver might charge you slightly more because of the additional drive past the city centre. Roads in Ubud aren't extremely confusing and our driver got us to the main road outside Ayung Resort with simply asking a couple of motorcyclists who passed us. There were a couple of signs along the way but with no arrow pointing the direction, the motorcylists were quicker and more helpful. Nevertheless, if you arrive at night in pitch darkness and no one else on the road, I can expect you will have a much harder time since it is in the hills.

The resort is extremely private, every guest who clears the tight security check up at the main road is known to almost everyone down in the hills. I have never passed this sort of security expect when I take the bus to changi airport. Even other guests who stayed at more expensive resort did not have this. After you check in, you will be given a buggy tour of the resort and you will get to see the villas and facilities all along the way. It is a huge estate and hence for those who want privacy, this is perfect. Villas are off the main buildings and a good proportion of people travel around by buggys which are very readily available so older guests don't have a problem and rarely you actually bump into people walking around (unless you stay at Laskmana which is where the reception is). I mentioned in my booking it was a birthday treat for my mum and they specially prepared cake and decorations during turn down service on our first night.

We took free yoga class in the morning at 7.30am which is easy to follow for beginners and then head off to breakfast - a sumptuous and delicious spread. This is by far the best breakfast I have had at a hotel, I can vouch for the many raves by other guests. Besides the food, the service at the restaurant is 6 stars, they welcome you, walk you up the stairs to the restaurant and by the time you sit down, your waiter knows your name. Repeated visits were even more impressive as they remember what you talked about and do not simply "repeat the script". This is service from the heart - with warmth. I asked if they have blachan chilli and although they didn't, they even offered to make it for me the next day. Everything we ate there was fresh and made natural. The lemongrass I ordered didn't taste like any I drank in my life. I found out what real and freshly made pure lemongrass actually tasted like. Mum ordered the mango juice and it was pure mango to the point it was more of a puree. We were impressed they did not use prepackaged "juice". Lunch we skipped either because the breakfast was too delicious or we were out in town. There is also free afternoon tea at 4pm everyday. I noticed guests who were simply enjoy their tea and the staff were helping to take care of the kids on their own will! The way the staff really want to partner with you to maximise your experience is incredible. For dinner, it was a little on the salty side but decent and not as pricey as typical 5-star hotel meals.

Rooms are well appointed. Large but not too much free space that it seems empty. You have your own cofee machine (like nespresso) and mini bar which is free. We didn't drink those since I am not a fan or coke/soda drinks and ovaltine etc. Cable TV channels available. WiFi though was horrific. 80% of the time I couldn't load a page properly. A simple google search cound take close to a minute and I ended up doing wifi-spot-hunting on the second day which happened to be in a corner of my balcony. This worked sufficiently until a guest moved in next door who smoked and I had to escape back into my room for as long as they were puffing. Worse, because the sliding door to the balcony doesn't close tightly together being wood, the smell drifted into the room and we couldn't escape. Thankfully, it was on our last night and they slept before 12am!

Guests can also walk to the Ayung River - a 30-40 minute track. Those who do water rafting in Ubud will be going down this river. There are also some deers along the way to look at and the place itself is full of stone monuments, statues and carvings etc. It is a beauty in itself to explore and we found it an excellent way to relax as well looking at all the art. Shuttle times are 10am, 1pm and 4pm (if I recall correctly) and the 7pm one is chargeable. There is plenty to do they can arrange many trips for you but they look expensive so I suggest you book your own tour outside or use the driver who has been servicing you when you arrived into Bali. We asked them to arrange transport to Seminyak on short notice because our driver decided to abandon us and within 15 mins, they sent their own car to take us there as they couldn't find an outsourced driver and they even apologised for the wait. Rates were average and I would say even lesser than what other guests I met on my trip paid for the same journey but certainly not the cheapest.

Some areas of improvement: check out could have been more flexible given it was low season. Not sure if it's just workmanship but it seems some areas need to be better maintained to prevent it from dating too quickly and loosing its luster in the future. Some door corners are chipped and cupboard doors already not closing well even though it is only 1.5 years old.

At rates much lower than other 5 star places, we were more than impressed. Great breakfast, good shuttle timings into the city for the afternoon, afternoon tea, hotel facilities and spa (it seemed popular), good dinner, and staff who really get to know you and get you the holiday you want to have regardless of your circumstances (baby etc). I won't need to look elsewhere in Ubud.

Room Tip: You don't actually see the valley from your room because of the trees around. Villas are the clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Ok I love high end properties and so picked this based on the reviews in part.
I booked a villa for $350 per night ... total bargain ...what I got was beyond expectation ...the Villa is huge , massive bedroom, large dressing room and stunning bathroom. A private pool as large as many city hotels I have stayed in for the whole hotel.....but what makes this place is the location ...you are effectively in the jungle and yes you may see monkeys the vista is like something out of Jurassic Park ... It is so gorgeous. Yet the whole place is absurdly improbable they have carved this place seemingly out of the mountainside with stunning rooms and pools. Also the whole place is knee deep in art exhibits, statues and is generally breathtaking throughout.
I would only say here if you like superb accommodation, stunning facilities, breathtaking views, fabulous service oh and a restaurant that will blow you away .... If you don't like these things this won't be the place for you. seriously this place is so good you will want to move here, service is unreal...food is ridiculously good.
Ok the downside it is 90mins from the airport and the journey painful due to poor roads and crazy traffic.....I'm still here and can't be bothered to leave the resort....I doubt I will find better in the immediate locality......so yes it is a bit isolated and remote. Because it is carved out of the mountainside you either need to be a mountain goat with calves of steel and lungs to match or summon a buggy....we chose the latter option to get around the resort...more civilised and less sweaty!
Do not come here if you want party central, but for couples and potentially families who are looking for a slice of heaven look no further.....this is romance with a cherry on top. Book Villa 510 ....unbelievable !

Room Tip: White monkey villa room 510
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was our first trip to Ubud and decided to stay at Ayung Resort Ubud, on this month. This was truly a relaxing experience, located in lush tropical surroundings. The main pool in a wonderful position overlooking the valley.
This resort has so many excellent art works that they should have build a museum in there instead of putting them scattered or so many pieces at their lobby.
The resort is focused on art, you find it everywhere. The resort is also in total harmony with nature. Lush gardens/jungle, all the way down to the Ayung river. Many sculptures, a mini Borobudur, and many other sculpted rocks. All very impressive. Really! A must see!

The fitness center has modern equipment and is spacious. Great!!!
I will come again to stay longer.

Thank you for all. . .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed with my family for 2 nights at the resort. Its a new resort (1.5 years old as per staff)..
First impression was excellent, although little away from ubud the location is peaceful & excellent, u have to see to believe it. Hotel staff behavior and attitude was excellent, you'll always see smiling faces, Stayed in superior room which was pretty big compared to other hotels stayed in Bali. Amenities in the room excellent with a expresso maker (made few good coffees) & bar items on the house….
Breakfast was one of the best, its not a buffet but whatever you like the staff will prepare for you. View from restaurant was excellent with Ayung river visible at the bottom and you can see people rafting.
Lot of statues & carving all around the hotel , loved the rock carvings on the roadside on the way to river…. beautiful… would like to commend the owner for same…
They have a small deer farm, ask the staff and they will escort you but if you have small kids or infant than keep the buggy as it's a climb from bottom to your room.
They have a complimentary shuttle service 3 times a day but for evening shuttle you would have to pay..
Overall had a great stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Bali 80572, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#1 Spa Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayung Resort Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.