We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ayung Resort Ubud to your Saves list
Ayung Resort Ubud
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Winner 2014 World Luxury
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Payangan
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

If you are planning a visit to Ubud, this is THE address. My wife and I spent 5 days this week. Calm and peaceful. Most efficient but very discreet and always smiling personnel. Gorgeous surroundings. Excellent food. Wonderful breakfast. Free afternoon tea with Indonesian treats. Free soft drink in the fridge. Kettle and tea in the room. An "olympic" pool. Well equipped gym. Free wifi everywhere. Extra wide super comfortable beds. Three free shuttles per day to take you to central Ubud and back. A very caring GM ensuring the well being of the residents. Fantastic value for money. In short no criticism can be levelled at this perfect hotel. I've travelled a lot and can vouch that this is certainly one of the very best I've come across.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Lucgeo,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    44
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
52
209
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We booked in for two nights at this hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor. Real 5 star service, the staff were the friendliest we met in Bali and the service at this hotel is really impeccable. The best breakfast was made even better by the stunning views from the restaurant. Make sure you take a walk down the hill towards the Ayung river and see all of the amazing carvings (the staff will even offer to take you down in one of the many golf carts that service the property). The staff booked our rafting trip down the Ayung river on the last day, even arranging a pick up and drop off to the hotel and it was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear BFH2013,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 2 days during our honeymoon. We fell in love with the hotel the moment we entered the resort compound. Things i liked

1. Surrounding and views. In the middle of the forest with good views of the valley
2. Excellent food. Even though we were vegetarian they had a lot of options for us and the food was perfect every time
3. The villas - is like a work of art with exquisite carvings in the walls. To add to it great tv and music system. Private infinity pool. Free mini-bar :)
4. Service - the service was excellent throughout our stay. There was some confusion regarding our room tariffs and they were very quick to resolve that. They even decorated our room as they knew we were there for our honeymoon.

Only thing is it is a bit outside Ubud centre. But they provide free shuttle services throughout the day. Wold love to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Nikhil_130,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Balboa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I reserved a 5 night stay for my first trip to Bali because of the positive reviews that hotel had already received. However, I never imagined that the experience would be ever more than what i had read about it. The drive into the resort sets the stage.Two large marble horses connote the entrance to the path that will take you to this place of perfection. A road of Immense greenery welcomes you even before you transcend into the actual resort hotel. Hotel security check assures you are safe in this idyllic location. The welcome from staff is unprecedented. Warm smiling bellhops open your car door, escort you into a lobby replete with the most spectacular Balinese artworks. You are provided with a comfortable place to sit while served a cool Balinese drink and a small taste of a Balinese fruit and tasty hor d'oerve, a sampling of what is offered at breakfast, Tea and dinner. By the way, a most pleasant surprise is the full breakfast and Tea included in the room price, elegantly presented and oh, so, delicious. You are taken in a "buggie" to you housing accommodations as you drive through the sumptuous green and flowering grounds, filled to impressive artwork, riding on cobblestone winding roadways, to arrive at either at the building in which your room is located or on of the 10 private luxurious villas made from over 100 year old carved teak siding. Either location provides most enchanting accommodations. And each locations has it's own pool.

Their attention to every detail makes the stay honestly just PERFECT. We were provided with everything and anything we may have needed and wanted.. I found in Ayung Resort far far exceeded my expectations, true perfection, a heavenly paradise. You want for nothing. The three shuttles a day can take you into Ubud and bring you back to the peacefulness of this supreme location. Situated above the river, they are close to the water rafting. The meals and presentation are so delicious and elegantly presented. Their motto is "Hear the silence, experience the peace" This is the truth!!! This is the best place to vacation with a MOST reasonably price, which included all the amenities one could ask for and with the most heartfelt loving and kindest staff. We had the pleasure of meeting the creator of this masterpiece and his family. What an honor and privilege was that. And the management is ever present to accommodate you. So, If you want the most perfect Ubud experience, green, art and culture, peaceful and serene environment, staff that will pamper and be beyond well provided for run ... do not walk to Ayung Resort, because this is the the place for you.

Room Tip: Any room you get will be a remarkable experience. Every room has a balcony and every room has a supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Ahehlcsw,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I have never stayed in such a magnificent hotel. Breakfast and afternoon tea are included. The grounds are magnificent, as is the staff. They have thought of everything. The rooms are exquisite, the art spectacular, and there is not one single thing I can say that they could do better. I cannot recommend this hotel more highly. I will never forget it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Tjordanmsw,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

When I booked this hotel, I was simply using the smart deal option on a booking site. I was expecting an average but clean hotel which would have been good enough for us. But as we arrived in the hotel it just blew our minds - this place was like a heavy-duty art museum in the middle of a dense rainforest. The service was absolutely top notch (and if you have been to hotels in UK you would know what I mean). The room was rather big overlooking the pool which faced a valley. Every corner of this resort was strewn with art pieces which are a delight. A river flows through and there is a moss covered faux mount rushmore besides it (but with carvings from Balinese culture). The Italian restaurant was so good we stuffed ourselves crazy from all that food which appeared to be cooked in some Masterchef kitchen.
Totally recommended and this will be one place I will stay in if I go to Bali again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Shreyansh 182,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

When I read the reviews I thought could this place really be that good as I am a rather cynical person. Well the reviews are right this is a first class + resort. It has only been open a year and this is reflected in the reasonable price. It's based in a rainforest about 20 mins from Ubod so it is very peaceful. There is a free shuttle three times a day which is just right as Ubod is noy a night place but there is plenty to do and see during the day.
The resort is not large but the rooms are in different blocks reached by golf cart or you can walk. As well as your room each block has it's own large lounge and pool so it is very quiet and exclusive and not really suitable for children.
Rooms are large with a big balcony.
I will not comment on the service as enough has been said by other writers suffice to say this place is good .Don't stay any where else

Room Tip: All rooms have more or less the same view and are large so go for the cheapest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Schalcs,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayung Resort Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.