We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience. Amazing Spa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ayung Resort Ubud to your Saves list
Ayung Resort Ubud
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Bali 80572, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT GET MORE
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Payangan
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding experience. Amazing Spa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We attended a wedding in Ubud September 2013 and chose to spend 3 nights at Ayung Resort and Spa before moving on to other parts of Bali. Wow, what an experience! Such a serene and peaceful environment, you could feel as if you were the only guests on the extensive property. The staff were extremely helpful and kind, whether bringing extras to the room, arranging transport to and from the wedding we were attending or taking the time to teach us the local language which we were trying to learn (Suksma, Ari)!
I wish we had stayed a lot longer at Ayung. It was so peaceful tucked into the mountains, we will definitely stay there next time we visit. The restaurant was fantastic, awesome coffee, breakfast and would definitely recommend the Barramundi.
I would also strongly recommend the spa, and this is from a Beauty Therapist who has enjoyed many spa treatments both good and bad. My partner and I had the best Hot Stone Massage I am yet to enjoy, the quality of the treatment attention to detail for overall experience is enough to take me back there again.
The only things I could say that would improve our experience would be that at times it was hard to find a staff member. The first time we went to book into the spa there was one therapist in a treatment and no one attending reception so we were unsure of how we could book or what to do, likewise when sitting by the pool there was a drink menu but no one in sight to order or ask for help. Having said that, as I mentioned the spa was more than worth the wait and the lack of people (staff included) did make for an incredibly relaxing experience and next time we would just make sure to advise the staff at reception of our plans and needs and no doubt they would happily accommodate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Elise R,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    46
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
63
235
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Lovely place located in the forest. The hotel itself has lots of Balinese artwork which makes you feel like you are in a museum. Great view of the forest when swimming in the infinity pool. Helpful, friendly and attentive staff. It would be great to have more international channels on tv. Breakfast was great with a breath taking view of the forest valley. We were given special attention and a delicious cake (though they realised later that we were on honeymoon).Would be glad to stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Diya S,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This 5 star resort is great! I would rank them 6 stars! The resort is just outside Ubud but they have a free shuttle that takes you within 15 minutes to Ubud. The entrance of the resort is overwhelming, I have never seen such a lobby before. Spacious rooms with balcony, great views, delicious food in the restaurant and not to forget, the wonderfull staff. The resort is surrounded by ' jungle' and you can take a walk down to the river. They also have villa's with private swimmingpool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Castro Holland,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleville, Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you wanna see real Bali and enjoy your stay in tropics,choose Ayung hotel,its a dream! All hotel personal is very friendly,food is great-breakfast is served from menu(which is amazing) and we recomend have a dinner in the hotel restaurant,because its the best food what we had in Bali!5++++stars:)) hopefully next year we will get a chance and wil come back!!Area around hotel is very clean and huge-u spend at least 3 hours walking around and making a great pictures!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Iveta V,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I spent a couple of days here while being in Indonesia for work, and this resort was definitely worth it!
Everything is carefully looked after in any details, and the stay was wonderful. The place itself is extremely relaxing, in the middle of the forest, with small buildings well separated from one another so that, though there are many rooms and therefore there can be many guests, you don't get the feeling it is overly crowded. Even the standard rooms are super spacious, beds are comfy and you have a nice little balcony overseeing the swimming pool or the forest. They are always super cleaned, and you can enjoy a very spacious bathroom furnished with their own products (bathfoam, moisturizer, hands soap...). You can take a little detour of the place to discover that there are some deers and there are stone walls with faces, symbols, animals carved in. And food is delicious as well - breakfast is humongous and you can have everything you like, lunch and dinner are very good at totally reasonable prices. Ingredients are super fresh (I had some shrimps that were delicious!).
Staff is very friendly as well and people are willing to help as they can.
They also have a spa that is a superb treat to try!

Room Tip: You can choose a standard room that is really well equipped and spacious enough. If you want to be i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Michi Fa,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and makes our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. The resort is beautiful. We booked a standard room, it was very spacious with a balcony and beautiful view of the pool and rain forest. The breakfast was the best I've had in Bali. All the staff were 5 star standard, very efficient. The location was beautiful I wish we had stayed longer. The location is a 20 minute drive from Ubud town but we didn't mind. Book this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Katleen 87,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. We are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Perfect to explore Ubud and to relax in the middle of the jungle. The food from breakfast to dinner was amazingly delicious. The staff was very nice and the managers very professional. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior double room and the view of the jungle from the room was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Potcho

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. We are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Bali 80572, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayung Resort Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.