We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for a quiet holiday, this is your place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Payangan Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Payangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Payangan Hideaway
Payangan-Kintamani Street, Payangan, Bali 80572, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a quiet holiday, this is your place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I didn't expect that the resort was very far from central Ubud. We reached the area by a rented motor bike, and it took us about 45 minutes to an hour to reach the hotel.

We stayed in Padma villa, a one bed-room villa with a separate kitchenette. The room is very spacious with a bath tub, a toilet, indoor shower, and an outdoor shower. Overall the bathroom can benefit from a bit of refurbishment and make over, as some areas are already dilapidated (bathroom ceiling, some tiles in the verandah, outdoor furnitures).

We tried the Indonesian breakfast, ie fried noodles and noodle soup. The noodle soup tasted like from an instant noodle package, so we were not very impressed with that. Fried noodles are too salty for our taste. Coffee is also average.

The hotel provides shuttle bus service to the central Ubud. If you're looking for a quiet holiday, this is the place to be. Otherwise, you may need to consider other places closer to the central Ubud.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We were simply entranced by the stunning location of the hotel in the midst of the lush jungle panorama, perched high on a hill with sweeping views of banana plantations, terraced rice fields and flowering trees against the hilly backdrop swathed in swirls of mist in the early hours and then bathed in bright sunshine!

The villas were nestled in various spots downward on the hill, amidst the verdant greenery, swimming pool, beautiful little gazebos and tinkling streams. We had to climb many steps to get down to the villas but there was also an inclinator to take guests down to a couple of the most luxurious villas on the bottom. We were thrilled to receive an upgrade to the Cempaka with its own private pool and lovely porch overlooking the spectacular horizon.

Both the Cempaka and Padma villas that we stayed in were lovely and spacious with the most comfortable King-sized beds, pretty decor and many other amenities.

The hotel menu was delicious with a lot of variety – Indonesian and Continental and surprisingly, inexpensive so you don’t have to bother with going into Ubud for dinner! The complimentary breakfast was very good with a choice of either an American toast-egg-bacon platter or the traditional Indonesian noodle-fried egg dish. There was also fresh fruit, juice and coffee. The fresh fruit welcome drink was one of the most yummy ones I have ever had!!

The 3 complimentary daily trips to Ubud are very convenient for all the sight-seeing you would like to do. It takes about half an hour after 5 pm and probably over 45 minutes during the day due to traffic but it is a very nice drive through the village and outskirts with more views of paddy fields and dense banana vegetation. The hotel also arranged a car and driver for us for the day at rates very similar to the local ones in Ubud. It was quite inexpensive at about Rupiah 350,000 for 6 hours and I would very much recommend it as driving in Bali is not the easiest task!

The hotel was very accommodating and picked us up from another hotel in Sanur that we stayed at and then dropped us off at the airport. The staff was lovely, smiling and always willing to please.

Please note that there are a lot of steps to climb through the hill, though the inclinator takes you halfway if you are in one of the bottom villas. We enjoyed the stairs as a form of good exercise and did not bother with the inclinator. The hotel also offers room service if you do not want to climb stairs and would rather eat in your room or the lovely little gazebos set up with tables.

In conclusion, the Payangan Hideaway is a glorious little gem tucked away in the hills and perfect for utter relaxation and seclusion in a jungle paradise (with no mosquitoes!!). You are also very close to Ubud so you are not in total isolation in terms of getting around Bali. You can also do some hiking around the hotel. I highly recommend it and would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I had THe most amazing time staying at the Payangan Hideaway in the Cempaka 2 villa (which had a slightly bigger pool than the Cempaka 1 and a little thatched gazebo which the 1 lacks - though the 1 is still quite special!).

The main access road from the Hideaway to Ubud was closed due to having been washed away in recent rain storms. It's usually about 25 minutes to Ubud town but with the longer route it took about an hour. This simply didnt matter. The Hideaway lay on three free cars a day to take you to town. The drivers were very careful and excellent tour guides. We learnt so much about Balinese culture driving through the pretty villages.

The Hideaway is down a steep long windy road which snakes through the jungle and hills of paddy fields. A truly wonderful part of the world and fabulous to see. The villages and temples seem untouched by tourism, something which I think you only experience by going a bit more remote.

Our villa was luxurious, the view simply one of the best in the world and having our own private infinity pool was a real treat. The communal infintiy pool was large clean, quiet and had a breathtaking view. Towels and sturdy traditional wooden loungers provided. Breakfast and free transfers to the airport (as well as to town each day if you required it) were all included in the price. The food was tasty and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. A flatscreen tv and wifi kept us connected. The Hideaway really have tried to think of everything you could need.

If you want to get drunk in a bar on Kuta beach, or be close to the masses then this place is not for you. if you want peace, tranquility, to feel like you've gone back in time to experience the real Bali and want to be back to nature surrounded by gorgeous jungle and green paddy fields then I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. I'd love to go back one day.

The only drawback is that the Hideaway is built on a hillside so it has a lot steps - unfortunately not suitable for the disabled.

Laura (UK)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

This place is 30 minutes from Ubud. When I went, there was a landslide and the road was closed, so a good 1 hours drive to get to Ubud. But the resort has 3 free shuttles to Ubud everyday. Also free shuttles to and from Denpasar and airport pickup. Or the taxi costs 300000 IDR, like I paid without knowing about the free pickup.
If you want to relax away from the touristy crowd and have the real feeling of Balinese village, villagers and rice fields around you, this is the best place. If you intend to get out into the crowd and shopping and mostly have people around you, I wouldn't suggest this place.

Room Tip: Great prices due to remote location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Payangan Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Payangan Hideaway

Address: Payangan-Kintamani Street, Payangan, Bali 80572, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty lodging in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The concept is so serene, heart warming, natural and friendly. Suitable place for those who love nature and seek peace and quietness.....It is indeed a heaven on earth. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Payangan Hideaway Hotel Payangan
The Payangan Hideaway Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Payangan Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Payangan Hideaway to your Saves list