We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Dajuma Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Dajuma Cottages to your Saves list
Puri Dajuma Cottages
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pekutatan, Negara, Bali 82262, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Negara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Since it is not famous for many people & little bit far from famous places & airport, we enjoied the privacy, we had feeling of owing the resort as it is our palace.
Really it is the best choice for romantic & relaxing holiday.
I felt the meaming of ECO, every thing was nature
The kitchen team were profissionl & dont miss the baliniese soup on dinner

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    53
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
42
111
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

There literally isn't much around here which is one of its draws. Beautifully manicured surrounding and friendly staff.

The food isn't cheap I agree. The reason from the management doesn't quite justify the prices. Basically they can charge a premium as they are a price maker rather than a price taker. At $120 per night and the place being very busy that should bring in a lot of revenue for wages / costs etc. Alcohol and food overpriced. And the food quality wasnt all that at all. The curries were small portions and watery and bland.

However that's nit picking. The people are nice, the staff are nice, the surroundings are nice. It's all nice. If you're staying in places like this then you'll expect to pay the price.

Down sides
The beech is ok but like most of Bali the water is disappointing and the low tide and craggy rocks are a turnoff. 3 nights and didn't dip my feet once. It's not Lombok or Thailand in terms of water quality.

Shower temp in our room fluctuated a lot from decent to unbearably cold.

Slightly damp smell in our room but got used to that quickly.

Drilling next to my hut when I was sleeping. But it was the middle of the day.

The road there like the rest of Bali is slow 2.5 - 4 hours via road. 75 Kms. Anywhere where they cared about the roads that would take 60 mins max. The government like building hotels but not the infrastructure to accompany it. But apparently there's been progress.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The cottages are nice and roomy, not luxurious, but good. The setting of the whole resort is great, nice gardens, almost feels like a peninsula directly at the ocean. Fine, small pool, and very friendly staff.
Yet it is also quite in the middle of nowhere, which has its advantages.. also for the hotel restaurant charging ridiculous prices for food average at best. One of the cheapest dishes, a simple Nasi Goreng, costs 65.000 Rupiah, which is about 50% more than in a good restaurant in downtown Kuta. Seafood Kebab.. a few tiny skewers with a small handful of french fries swimming in oil. Was it 45k for a tiny, half full bowl of tomato soup? On top of all that you have to wait one full hour for your food if you went around dinnertime (with 5 or 6 occupied tables). I remember one mother asking the waiter if she could have at least some plain rice for the kids because they were already getting so impatient. lunch with a milkshake and a coke, modest dinner with 2 beers and the two of us were at a daily consumption equaling 2/3 of the room rate.
There is no other option in walking distance and asking the hotel to drive you to some roadside food stall - like the manager mentioned - I don't think is how people want to spend their dinner-times in a holiday.
I would have rated this place higher.. but if it is something I cannot stand then it is being ripped off, and this only leaves me to rate this place a low average at best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DajumaEcoResort, Propriétaire at Puri Dajuma Cottages, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having posted a comment about our hotel.
However we would like to bring some precisions about the prices of our menu. You mention that 65000 Rp (i.e . 5 €) for a complete Nasi Goreng is expensive compared with what we can get in Kuta. We believe that this comment is not fair because one must compare what is comparable : with the same level of working conditions, hygiene, service, equipment and environment, our prices are exactly in the medium range of what other hotels and restaurants in Bali are offering. It is true that we are more expensive than a local warung but you have to take into consideration many factors which explain and justify the difference, such as the working conditions of the employees, their social protection, the taxes paid to the government, the costs of the permits and many other things such as the recent increases of the gasoline by 40% and the minimum salaries by 20% on January 1st 2013. In our case, the 2 pillars of our management is social responsibility and respect of our natural environment. For social responsibility, it means that we are not working with daily workers only paid when the situation of the hotel is good but with full time employees benefiting of a complete social coverage for themselves and their families (130 people in total for 43 employees).
It seems that you have also been disapointed by the quality of the food and a slow service. Our brigade of 6 cooks has been especially trained to serve dietetic, non fat dishes from fresh ingredients coming directly from local farmers. Depending on the workload and the complexity of orders, it sometimes happens that the waiting time is too long. We sincerely apologize for that.
Should you decide to visit us again in our little paradise, we will do our best to make your stay unforgettable.
Dajuma management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

During a trip around Bali we've stayed in this beautiful hotel and we didn't want to leave. Its lush garden, the beautiful setting, the great restaurant right at the beach with the delicious food - and, last but not least the very very friendly and competent staff made our stay incredibly unforgettable. We'll come back - definitely :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautiful location, cottages with garden or sea view. Lovely views of beach and coast from pool area. Cottages are spacious with four poster beds. Air con included. Nice big bathrooms, which also includes outdoor shower. Service erratic, trying to book a spa treatment was too complicated so we gave up.

Wireless included but up you have to punch in a code, code for each device. Unnecessary, just wireless the place have one code, simple.

The pool bar is closed, though there is pool side service. Easy enough to overlooking the inconsistent service as the location more than makes up for it.

Room Tip: Choice of sea view and garden cottages al with outdoor seating and hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We loved Puri Dajuma. The rooms are lovely with a big king sized bed, seating, a dressing table and both an indoor bathroom and outdoor (second) shower. You can take the open windows/ceiling fan option or air conditioning in all rooms.

Our room had its own front garden and a hammock and seating out on the verandah that looked out on the ocean. Plenty of room for surfboards and body boards if you want to bring them and places to hang towels and bathers while they dry. The beach, ocean and grounds are very clean and well maintained.

Food is delicious. The menu is a little limited but lots of Balinese / Indonesian options - we are fans of eating in the local style - but also European food if that's your thing. (We didn't try any so can't vouch for that.

The dining room is open air looking out to the sea and is lovely but desperately needs overhead fans. Just some air movement is enough to take you from perspiring voraciously to comfortable and I can't believe this space doesn't have fans. I also missed the separate bar area with comfortable chairs that many of the resorts in bali have. They are lovely for a pre dinner cocktail, post dinner drink or even at lunchtime. I also missed my cafe latte with breakfast (even immersion into Indonesian food can't shift that habit.

Staff were lovely and very helpful. They could attend to the pool area better which would result in better sales of drinks and food. Surf was great in Medewi (15 minute walk along the beach or free shuttle). Yoga didn't happen for the majority of our stay which was disappointing. Day spa is nice and massage was good. The pool is gorgeous both day and night!

We will definitely go back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We did not stay at the resort, however we have dined at their Restuarant 3 times. The setting is to die for. The food is beautiful and staff are friendly. Only thing would say is price of cocktails a little on the expensive side. Overall fantastic, we are going back again in June, this time going to use the day spa and do a cooking class. Looking forward to it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Dajuma Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Dajuma Cottages

Address: Pekutatan, Negara, Bali 82262, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Negara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Negara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri Dajuma Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What if Bali had another face to show us? That of a genuine and authentic miraculously preserved Shelter of breathtaking and luxuriant landscapes, fastened by a wild coast which extends ad infinitum, sublimated by bewitching sunset: This is in a few words what West Bali looks like.Though unknown, this area of the island of gods invites to escape and amazement. The rich inheritance of Bali Barat National park offers a wide selection of treks to observe a very rare fauna and a flora. The park extends underwater around Menjangan Island for the greatest fun of our hosts. The villages of Western Bali invite to discover Balinese traditional craft industry, ancestral music of Jegog or multi-colored buffalo’s races.Far from the urban concentration of the Balinese south, Dajuma Beach Resort & Spa has been welcoming its guests for 8 years to discover a different Bali. Not only its 18 roomy and comfortable cottages and 2 stylish suites are harmoniously integrated into the landscape but they also put our hosts at a privileged position to appreciate the beauty of the scenery.Indeed, the architects of the boutique hotel took care that each traditional setting room offers a significant private area and all the comfort of a 4 star resort (king size bed, air-conditioning, fan, telephone, mini-bar, bathrooms interior and open air shower in a small tropical private garden, hot and cold water). Gourmets will appreciate the varied chart of the 2 restaurants while enjoying the panoramic ocean view. Dajuma outstanding hospitality team, with the greatest discretion and delicacy, makes its guest stay a particular and very personal experience. Calm and serenity of this particular place, where time is only cadenced by the tides, give relaxing holidays accompanied with bath in the crystal-clear swimming pool, massage or Jacuzzi in the spa. However, everyone can have a great fun thanks to this marvelous environment which offers many activities: beach, trekking, surfing, fishing, diving, visit of a state farm, temples, markets, volcano treks, sailing. Everyone will thus find the ideal balance of a personalized holiday, combining authenticity, serenity, escape, harmony, comfort and adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Puri Dajuma Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Dajuma Cottages Hotel Negara
Puri Dajuma Hotel
Puri Dajuma Cottages Bali/Negara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Dajuma Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.