We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Dajuma Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Dajuma Cottages to your Saves list
Puri Dajuma Cottages
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pekutatan, Negara, Bali 82262, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Negara
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

So glad we booked here and not elsewhere. Perfect location. Rooms just right (and lovely touch with petals on bed). Lovely staff. Pool beautiful. Restaurant great. So rooms- we thought were great - simple, clean, outdoor shower. No TV which was fine for us. Room large enough too. Private with view of ocean. Really peaceful. Hired scooter and went to Medewi beach (very short trip) which was well worth it too...and also went further to Temple...beautiful journey through rice fields. Would stay here again for sure!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 7a....some cottages may have people wandering by-ours didn't a few others wont eith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DajumaEcoResort, Responsable commercial at Puri Dajuma Cottages, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Many thanks for your nice testimony Erin!
We look forward to welcoming you again.
KInd regards
Dajuma team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    51
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
104
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hoping for a quiet couple of nights and it delivered in full! The pool, restaurant, bar, staff, service were all excellent. The cottage we stayed in had a view of the sea and we fell asleep every night to the sound of waves crashing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ubud
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed in their deluxe room in the first part of April for one night with a mate of mine. We were in the area for surfing. I thought it was great. The garden is large and grassy with plenty of tropical trees and plants and places to relax. They have a large, wide, clean beach to the south and a very beautiful view.

It is very relaxing and quiet. The only sound is that of the waves. It rained a bit when we were there, but that was nice as it makes things lush. The staff were kind and friendly and efficient. The food in the restaurant good. Breakfast was nice too.

I would recommend this place to anyone who is in this area. Or if you surf in Medewi and want an above-average hotel to relax at.

Room Tip: deluxe room is sufficient for anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ter Apel, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I loved every minute of my stay here in this place, wonderful room and the beach is just so amazing. Be prepared for the sound!!
Food wonderful and staff very kind and sweet.
Be back for sure!
The rooms are spacious and he outdoor shower just so amazing.

Room Tip: The snorkel trip was beautiful however a lot of trash in the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Before choosing a hotel in Bali I asked a well-traveled Australian friend for a recommendation. He sent me the link to Puri Dajuma and wrote: "I love this place. It's an Eco Resort very reasonably priced, good food, on a great beach and they have many good tours. I did temple tours, farm and other tours which were very nice."

Enough key words for us to chose it, and we are glad, we did. Only 9 double bungalows in a beautiful tropical garden, directly at the beach, they also advertise 2 suites and 1 villa. I loved the Balinese shower outside, additionally we also had a full inside bathroom with a bathtub. Our room was spacious and we rather used the ceiling fan than the air con provided (its an Eco-resort after all). Our relaxing outside seating-area was equipped with a set of chairs, small coffee table and one hammock. There were more hammocks between trees at the end of the garden, overlooking the beach. What a lovely place to watch the sunset!

Included in our room-price were breakfast, 1 hour massage and a pick-up at the airport - which was a good choice as the airport is a 2 hours drive away. The massage was very relaxing, unfortunately we only enjoyed it on the last day, had we had it earlier I would have signed up for it every other day. Breakfast was lovely, even having vegan Nasi Goreng was no problem. There were lots of vegetarian choices on the menu, most of them even vegan. Even a vegetarian Balinese Rijstafel was offered, beautifully decorated on banana leafs.

What impressed me most was that the Europeam manager listened to a complaint that we had when the main restaurant was under renovation (only announced one day ahead) and we had to eat in the Teppanjaki restaurant above the spa. There the decoration was more beautiful, but the menu not only very different, more western oriented, but also with only very few vegetarian choices. Although I lamented perhaps a bit too loudly the manager kept cool and promised to take care of it. And he did, the next day we had a new menu, all our favorite dishes that we still wanted to try were listed again. It must have been very challenging for the chefs to deal with the limited kitchen facilities of the Teppanyaki restaurant, and we were really impressed about the flexibility and good service.

Service was always lovely, with Balinese grace and grandeur. Beautiful people with beautiful smiles made every day unforgettable. When our wonderful week ended I was sad to leave this place in paradise, but I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I needed a hotel in Pekutatan as I was visiting friends in the area. This is a beautiful location & resort is set right on the beach. Great views. But, hotel prices for everything were in Euros... don't they want Australians there, & 69 Euros for a spa treatment, c'mon. I had a driver so I could go into the village to eat at warungs, but if you don't there is nothing nearby so you are trapped at the resort, paying exhorbitant prices for everything. & if you go there with someone, make sure you enjoy their company cos if you don't there's no escape. Room was average, I had better in Seminyak for a fraction of the price. Air Con was very noisy, deafening, & not really effective. Walls were paper thin & I had a family of 5 staying in the cottage next to me.. Heard every word they said. Balinese shower was nice & main bathroom had shower, bath, toilet & fridge ( not sure about the hygiene side of a fridge in the same room as a toilet, but anyhow). Pool was nice but no pool bar... it is still there but not set up or manned. Breakfast was included but inedible. I had mie goreng, my friend had nasi goreng & any similarity to the real item was only the name... you cannot take an Indonesian dish & try to make it French food. The resort seems to only draw French guests who don't tend to mix with other tourists. I don't think Australians would like it especially frequent travellers to Bali, like me. I have to go back to Pekutatan in August, already looking for an alternative place to stay.The staff were also extremely rude to me because I was staying with an Indonesian friend & took my local friends into the resort... snobbery isn't something I'll tolerate. I'd rather spend my time with locals than snobby staff & guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balfam, Manager at Puri Dajuma Cottages, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Madam,

We are really sorry that you did not appreciate your last stay in our resort.
We would like to bring some precisions to your comments.

Concerning the air con, it is true that we are facing some difficulties at the moment, which are due to variations in the voltage delivered by the electrical company. This issue is unfortunately frequent during the raining season. When a airconditioner is powered with less than 220 Volts, the compressor is not working properly and the air not enough refreshed. Sorry about that but it is out of our control despite our numerous complaints to the electrical company!

Prices in euros : a lot of our guests are from Europe and pleased to find prices in euros. We also provide prices in all other currencies including australian dollar upon simple request, at a daily interbanking exchange rate with no commission. Prices at our 2 restaurants are in Indonesian Rupiahs. Il is impossible to compare our rates with a warung because of many reasons : hygiene, taxes to the government which are systematically paid in our case, service, chinaware, cuttlery, location, furniture, lighting, etc. It is unfair to state that we are « trapping » our guests because a) our menu is very competitive compared with all other hotels of the same category located in the south of the island where the competition is high and b) there are many possibilities of going outside in other restaurants including warungs in Pekutatan and we are always pleased to drive our guests to other restaurants upon simple request.

As far as the spa treatment is concerned, we offer a full range of services in a unique environment with top level equipment, for all budgets, from the regular 1 hour massage at 19€ up to the complete 4 hour treatment at 69€ which includes foot bath, shower, hammam, aromatic massage, body scrub, body mask, and jacuzzi. Again it is difficult to compare our rates with those proposed by individual masseurs on Kuta beach.

Our hotel also offers a lot of services free of charge such as fast wifi Internet, body boards, home cinema, free shuttle to Medewi surf spot and many others. So it is difficult to accept the assertion « you are trapped at the resort, paying exhorbitant prices for everything »

Concerning our cottages, all of them are built with stone and wood, with walls which are not at all « paper thin ». It can happen that the immediate neighbour is noisy specially families with young kids. It was the case during your stay with a family from California staying with us for 1 month, and we are sorry about this. Next time you come to our place and face the same problem, just let’s know and we will be pleased to offer you a new room, with free upgrade if necessary, far from any other noisy neighbour.

The fridge in a spacious bathroom is something which is quite common and totally in line with the most stringent international hygiene rules. By putting it in the bedroom, you face the problem of the noise of the compressor during the night.

Concerning the pool , yes we have a pool bar at the extreme east tip of the pool, with 4 immerged seats from which you can order anytime in the day your preferred cocktail.


Concerning the behaviour of our staff and other guests, not only we warmly welcome guests from all nationalities (not only french ! : we actually had Mexican, US and French guests to Menjangan 4 days ago sharing 3 cars and 2 boats to snorkle and dive in Menjangan island) but our hotel has built its reputation over the last 10 years in particular on the quality of our staff. Please have a look at the comments of other guests who are greeting the quality of the human relation in our resort : no snobism at all, only a friendly atmosphere and an attentive and respectful attitude of each and every member of our staff.

We sincerely hope that you will have the opportunity to come back to Dajuma in August. We will do our best to give you a better feeling about our staff, our equipment and our service and in case those are not in line with your requirements and expectations, please tella the manager on duty through the front desk at once. We will make our best to solve the issues you are reporting.

In the meantime, we wish you and your family a Happy New Year 2013 !

Dajuma management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed for a week and enjoyed it very much. It was our first trip to Bali so we followed a friends recommendation. That was the best choice. The Puri Dajuma is a great place away from the tourist spots on a quiet part of the island. The cottages (only 10 double houses) are nice and large and in the middle of some garden with trees. They are clean and comfortable with outside shower. The hotel pool is good and the restaurant great. The beach is just in front of the hotel and nearby are some fishermen in the morning. The village is some 15 mins walking or you can get a free shuttle. We also rented a car to do some trip to the coffee and cacao plantations in the mountains. We enjoyed the trip very much and would always come back. The people did very much care for us.

Room Tip: we had 9A and it was great and with nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Dajuma Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Dajuma Cottages

Address: Pekutatan, Negara, Bali 82262, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Negara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Negara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri Dajuma Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What if Bali had another face to show us? That of a genuine and authentic miraculously preserved Shelter of breathtaking and luxuriant landscapes, fastened by a wild coast which extends ad infinitum, sublimated by bewitching sunset: This is in a few words what West Bali looks like.Though unknown, this area of the island of gods invites to escape and amazement. The rich inheritance of Bali Barat National park offers a wide selection of treks to observe a very rare fauna and a flora. The park extends underwater around Menjangan Island for the greatest fun of our hosts. The villages of Western Bali invite to discover Balinese traditional craft industry, ancestral music of Jegog or multi-colored buffalo’s races.Far from the urban concentration of the Balinese south, Dajuma Beach Resort & Spa has been welcoming its guests for 8 years to discover a different Bali. Not only its 18 roomy and comfortable cottages and 2 stylish suites are harmoniously integrated into the landscape but they also put our hosts at a privileged position to appreciate the beauty of the scenery.Indeed, the architects of the boutique hotel took care that each traditional setting room offers a significant private area and all the comfort of a 4 star resort (king size bed, air-conditioning, fan, telephone, mini-bar, bathrooms interior and open air shower in a small tropical private garden, hot and cold water). Gourmets will appreciate the varied chart of the 2 restaurants while enjoying the panoramic ocean view. Dajuma outstanding hospitality team, with the greatest discretion and delicacy, makes its guest stay a particular and very personal experience. Calm and serenity of this particular place, where time is only cadenced by the tides, give relaxing holidays accompanied with bath in the crystal-clear swimming pool, massage or Jacuzzi in the spa. However, everyone can have a great fun thanks to this marvelous environment which offers many activities: beach, trekking, surfing, fishing, diving, visit of a state farm, temples, markets, volcano treks, sailing. Everyone will thus find the ideal balance of a personalized holiday, combining authenticity, serenity, escape, harmony, comfort and adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Puri Dajuma Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Dajuma Cottages Hotel Negara
Puri Dajuma Hotel
Puri Dajuma Cottages Bali/Negara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Dajuma Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.