We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanak Retreat Bali

Save Saved
You added Sanak Retreat Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanak Retreat Bali
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Banjar Dinas Menagung, Desa Kayuputih, Kecamatan Banjar, Munduk, Bali 81152, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Munduk
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed at Sanak for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom cabin (3 adults and 1 baby). We absolutely LOVED it!! We have lived in Bali for 1 year and this was our first time to the Munduk area. Sanak is now our favorite place in Bali. It is so quiet, peaceful and relaxing. The staff is amazing (thank you so much Merlina and all of the staff!). The cabins are gorgeous and brand new, the beds are so comfortable and the entire cabin is well designed and decorated. The views are incredible! The weather is perfect and no need for air con. The food is yummy. There is a small play area for kids upstairs and plenty of exploring space for curious toddlers.
Yes, the hotel is a bit pricey and for us it was a special treat. But if you want to treat yourself, or have the budget, stay at Sanak and relish in tranquility.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hanoman 2 bedroom cabin. The sounds of water flowing in the small creek at night we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanak Retreat B, Manager at Sanak Retreat Bali, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear MetliTours

Greeting from Sanak Retreat Bali-Handpicked with Humanity in Mind.
Our duplex two bedrooms bungalow are definitely perfect for families and we are delighted to read your comment.
Ibu Marlina was so happy to read her name in your review; it means so much to our family who put their heart in their daily work to make your stay as memorable as possible.

We hope to hear from you from time to time and let us know when you wish to come back home to sanak, we would be so happy to welcome you and your family again and again.

Matur Suksma

Mr Emmanuel Baroiller
Sanak Retreat Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We came with our 3 little kids in a family bungalow. Amazing pool, great well-priced massage, lovely guided walk and trips. We stayed 3 nights but wished it was longer - we tried to extend but it was full. Not cheap but we thought it was worth it for the views and pool and general feeling of style and quality. Only complaint would be the food (you really have to eat there as there's nothing nearby, and the menu is expensive without offering anything particularly special) and also especially the price of drinks (90k for a large Bintang?!).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanak Retreat B, General Manager at Sanak Retreat Bali, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Pttra


Greeting from Sanak Retreat Bali-Handpicked with Humanity in Mind.
The whole Sanak family is delighted that you enjoyed your family stay in our retreat.
I have passed on your praises to our skilled Therapists and our Kayuputih trecking guides and I can see that your three loved ones truly had fun in our amazing swimming pool

Chef Putu and myself have noted your constructive comments about our menu selection and we will work on daily special in order to give our valued guests a wider selection as restaurant option are limited in this area as you mentioned in your comment.
Regarding our prices we consider them quite fair for our location and 21% government tax & service is already included in order to avoid unpleasant surprise on you final bill.

We sincerely hope that your trip to North Bali will bring you lasting memories and that you will be back home soon to Sanak retreat Bali.

Matur Suksma

Sanak Retreat Bali General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The good side: beautiful place, great pool, great views, a nice spa, good breakfast, good food, really enjoyed that and the tranquility. Overall on site, excellent service by the Sanak people.

The somewhat lesser side: Sanak was the most expensive hotel regarding trips during our entire Bali holiday. Each morning there were thick droppings (2 cm) in our shower. Nothing to worry about was the reaction of the management of Sanak.
The money that is paid for trips has to be paid to the hotel management not to the local guys delivering the services. Other hotels during our holiday arranged the trips, but we had to pay the local people delivering the actual services. That is really showing that you care for the local economy. Last but not least, Sanak denied the Mastercard payment, so In good faith we made an additionel bank payment as requested by the management of Sanak. Now 6 weeks later the status is: Mastercard confirmed the creditcard transaction was correct, it is already processed which I showed proof of to Sanak, made 50 EUR cost for the international bank transfer, but still Sanak denies everything. Also the additional bank payment requested by Sanak in EUR was much higher than the amount stated on my creditcard payment proof so we made the payment in IDR. My wife and I asked several questions in three different emails about the IDR/eur conversion rate used by Sanak, these questions were never answered. We have proof that it was not a rate used by the banks. We don't bother anymore and let Mastercard investigate the issue. Maybe something DID went wrong, but Sanak did not answer questions, asked us for proofs ( even SWIFT messages), made mistakes, we don't receive imformation asked for, have promised at least 2 times that a refund will be made in a week time....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanak Retreat B, General Manager at Sanak Retreat Bali, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear PaulO

Greeting from Sanak Retreat Bali-Handpicked with Humanity in Mind.

First of all I would like to thank you dearly for your good words given to the whole Sanak family for the quality of their service and the peacefulness of our retreat despite the issue you are raising in the rest of your review.

Our tour prices actually reflect our commitment to support the local community who would not collaborate with us if we were not fair.

Regarding the droppings in your villa, I told you not to worry as they were gecko's. As our retreat is surrounded by rice field and our bungalows naturally designed with wood from top to bottom, they may get in from time to time. That is one of the reason our Housekeeping team clean every room twice a day.

On check out date, the credit card machine was offline. In all good faith for the last month and a half we have checked our bank accounts and there has been no trace of any payment via credit card or transfer. We did not ask for proof of payment but rather get a tracking number to solve this issue bothering you back home.
The exchange rate was given to us by our bank and how could we refund money that we do not have.

I have to admit that our correspondence has been hectic and I can only apologize for delays and miscommunication.
The Sanak family believes in good Karma and we are just as upset as you both are by this whole situation and it would make us sad to leave our valued guests with these hard feelings.

Rest assured that I will keep on investigating and you will be the first to know of any development on this case.

As I mentioned in my last email you are both more than welcome to Sanak.

Matur Suksma

Sanak Retreat Bali General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our most enjoyable stay in Bali so far. The place was secluded, which makes it even more perfect for those that loves to just sit back, relax and enjoy the pristine surroundings while breathing the fresh air. The service they offered was nothing less than first class. Not to mention the awesome massage! Special mentioned to Komang, one of the F&B staff who really shows what it means to provide great service! He was friendly, attentive and extremely helpful, which make our entire stay even more memorable. The bread and croissant (which was home-baked) was superb! Breakfast was simple but oh..so.. GOOD!! And did I mentioned about their gorgeous swimming pool amidst the paddy field? It was small, but the water was the most refreshing I've ever tried.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanak Retreat B, General Manager at Sanak Retreat Bali, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Penguinnakal

Greeting from Sanak Retreat Bali-Handpicked with Humanity in Mind.
First of all wthe whole Sanak family would like to share that we love your Tripadvisor name: Penguinnakal...
We truly appreciate the time you took to write your review and let us know that we made your stay at Sanak memorable.
I have shared your praises with Pak Komang and our healing Ladies at the Spa.
Chef Putu enjoyed reading your good words about his baking skills.
Actually the quality of our pool water is such that we barely have to add any chemicals to balance it and you also experienced how revitalizing the fresh air of northern Bali is.

We hope to welcome you again in our little peace of heaven whenever your traveling adventures bring you to the island of gods.

Matur Suksma

Sanak Retreat Bali General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Sanak is located about 5-6kms outside of Munduk in the most gorgeous location. It is built into surrounding rice terraces and you can literally stumble out of your villa and find yourself wandering the rice paddies which are just glorious.

The retreat itself is built to the highest of standards and finish. Night temperatures are cool which makes for a great sleep sans air conditioning. Staff are very attentive but not obtrusive and there is a lovely ambience and aesthetic to the set up.

Service in the restaurant could have been a little better. Meals were quite good but a little over priced in my opinion. The quality of food and service was similar to other places on our travels in Bali that were quite a bit cheaper.

Room Tip: If visiting during the lower-seasons and rooms are available it is possible to get discounted walk i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanak Retreat B, General Manager at Sanak Retreat Bali, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dera RadRab

Greeting from Sanak Retreat Bali-Handpicked with Humanity in Mind.

I shared your praises with the whole Sanak family and they were all very grateful.
You obviously fully enjoyed the genuine location of our retreat and the amazing rice field valley surrounding us.
I agree with you concerning our restaurant service and we are improving on a daily basis in order to provide our guests the culinary experience matching with the highest quality of our retreat as you mentioned.
Chef Putu and myself are involved in finding the freshest meat, seafood, vegetables and dairy available within our remote area in order to offer a variety of dishes on our menu. We also try as much as possible to collaborate and build a strong relationship with Desa Kayuputih local suppliers.
You may have found our prices a bit high; we believe that we keep them fair for all the above reasons.

We hope that your Balinese trip has brought you memorable moments and that Sanak is now one of your home on the island of gods.

Matur Suksma

Sanak Retreat Bali General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Sanak is one wonderful creation. It is a natural, rustic but luxurious and immaculate retreat which does the right thing on every level.
The restaurant is a lovely place to spend time overlooking the pool and rice paddies. The food is fabulous and is locally and ethically sourced - some from their own veggie patch and the rest from the best producers from the jungle down to the north coast.
The beautiful new timber bungalows are serene and kitted out with eclectic decor including some tribal artefacts.
Sanak is integrated with the local village with a long term philanthropic objective - they have put more of the story on the website since I was there, it's worth reading.
The service is very attentive yet human - you feel like part of the big family very quickly. Being a small resort you become acquainted with the other guests, and my kids quickly paired up with other kids. My 6 year old son even had a daily afternoon petanque game with a French dad - it is that kind of place.
The spa is a must - they use jungle spices and other local natural influences, and the massage was THE BEST EVER.
You can do nothing, or sign up for the various activities. We want to do the adventure buggy thing next time....next time will be soon!

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom villa with pool looks amazing. It's at the end of the small resort between the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanak Retreat B, General Manager at Sanak Retreat Bali, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Camilla

Greeting from Sanak Retreat Bali-Handpicked with Humanity in Mind.
You obviously fully enjoyed your family stay a Sanak Bali and explored our retreat as well as its genuine surroundings.
I shared your enthusiasm with Chef Putu, Ibu Kadek & Octa at the Spa and the whole Sanak family who made your north Bali experience memorable.
Besides your son might have asked you by now to build a Petanque field in your backyard!!

Thank you for mentioning our website, not only an informative display about Sanak retreat Bali but also an open door to the Balinese culture and traditions.

We all hope to hear from you in the near future and most of all we are looking forward to welcome you and your loved ones again and again at Sanak, your home in north Bali.

Matur Suksma

Sanak Retreat Bali General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I can confirm the positive reviews of this little resort. After staying in the crowded south and the wiltingly hot northwest, Sanak was finally the Bali experience we had been hoping for. Tranquil, beautiful, first class facilities and service, and a respite from the heat of the lowlands. There is plenty to see and do in the area if you hire a driver for the day. Of the places we stayed around the island, Sanak is the only one we plan to visit again. Note that there is no air conditioning in the rooms, but the nights were cool enough in the mountains that sleeping wasn't a problem. There is no fitness center, but you will get your exercise trekking. The price was fair, but not inexpensive for Bali, and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanak Retreat B, General Manager at Sanak Retreat Bali, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Dragonboat07


Greeting from Sanak Retreat Bali family - Handpicked with Humanity in Mind.
It seems that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and this is what we are aiming at on a daily basis.
We are blessed with such a genuine location that our joy is to welcome home each of our guests with warm smiles and a common mission to help you to explore and breath the fresh air of North Bali.
The whole Sanak family wishes to welcome you once again at our Retreat in the near future.

In the meantime I hope you had a pleasant on the island of gods.

Matur Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanak Retreat Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanak Retreat Bali

Address: Banjar Dinas Menagung, Desa Kayuputih, Kecamatan Banjar, Munduk, Bali 81152, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Munduk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanak Retreat Bali 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a farmer’s canvas of verdant rice paddies and surrounded by mystical mountains, SANAK is a true testament to a humble retreat that has been handpicked with humanity in mind.Our 11 handcrafted bungalows have been designed for simple living. Each item has been personally handpicked with love and consideration by the owners to ensure that the essence of old Indonesia is shared ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Sanak Retreat Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanak Retreat Bali Munduk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanak Retreat Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.