We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puri Sunny the Perfect Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Lumbung Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Lumbung Cottages to your Saves list
Puri Lumbung Cottages
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Munduk Village | Banjar District, Munduk, Bali 81152, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Munduk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
brisbane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Puri Sunny the Perfect Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Tried to book Puri Lumbung but lucky for us it was full so we stayed in their Puri Sunny in Munduk town, it is a small complex with units which have hot showers, big beds, mozzie nets, great views over the valley and to Java sea. the staff were great, helpful , local and interested in helping. we sat a lot on our veranda looking into to the distance and in the restaurant looking toward the Java Sea. the breakfast was good, options available, Indonesian was good and Bali cafe yum. Ate dinner their as well which was good, they looked after me when I was sick too. went to Puri Lumbing for a fullmoon feast on the mountain side with dancers and music, what treat. lots of walking, hiking, water, mountins it is fabulous and we didn't want to leave. (only thing i missed was a bedside table!). loved Puri Sunny and hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: mountianside room- quieter & good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    157
    43
    11
    6
See reviews for
61
199
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bielefeld
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

If you ever looked for paradise - come here - you'll find it in Puri Lumbung Cottages in splendid nature away from busy tourist sites. When you check in, make sure, that you get the cottage you like! There some few, which are not son good located!
We enjoyed the great sunset view over mountains to the far away ocean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Very well maintained hotel, we had villa 26 with an incredible view on the valley. The food Is excellent and the staff Is very courteous and friendly. I recommend a trekking with a guide to the Banyan tree (4 to 5 hours). The Spa Is Good as well. We stayed 2 nights and that was enough as there is Not alot to do In the aera. But definetely worth the distance (around $45 from Denpasar and 3 hours).

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed in Munduk for 2 nights in April in a standard cottage. It was a traditional bamboo cottage with a large bathroom area downstairs and the bedroom upstairs. The balcony had a great view, and the grounds were beautifully landscaped. We went on a hiking tour with a guide booked through the hotel, and it was absolutely gorgeous - through rice terraces, tropical forests and by waterfalls. It is best to go in the morning as the rain tends to come in the afternoons. The hike involved a lot of up and down walking, sometimes with very slippery areas, but it was well worth it. The food in the restaurant was good and the staff was friendly. We had some issues with the toilet, but they were addressed right away. There was a mosquito net over the bed, but we didn't have any mosquitoes in the room. There was very poor lighting in the room. and nothing to do in the evenings, so we ate our dinners late, as the room was not conducive to relaxing with a book.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Puri Lumbung sits on top of stunning views. One of my greatest memories of our trip to Bali was watching the sunset from our cottage, drinking tea, and relaxing. The staff is helpful and friendly. The breakfast is awesome. We did a cooking class which was fun. The massages are awesome. All-in-all, a great experience! Without a doubt, I would go back!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I spent 3 nights here in April. It's in a gorgeous setting in the mountains and in a small village with very few tourists. Definitely a great place to come if you are wanting to escape the craziness of Kuta and want to do some scenic hiking. Not the cheapest place to stay in the mountains. But I found the combination of the great views, the good food at the restaurant and the quality of the hiking to be worth it. A quiet place so only come if that is what you want. The rooms are charming also and a nice departure from the boring rooms sometimes offered by others.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Puri Lumbung is located in Munduk, a tiny village hidden in the cool mountains of Bali's beautiful inlands. The nice thing about Munduk is, that is not swarmed over by mass-tourism. The cabins of Puri Lumbung are surrounded by amazing rice paddies. The bedroom and balcony on the first floor overlook these fresh, green, watered fields. Jungle vegetation is everywhere and if the sky is clear, you can see the coastline approximately 20 kilometers away. There are some nice possibilities of hiking in the area where you can spot some great waterfalls.

The interior of the rooms is nice, but could be better. There are no curtains in front of the windows. There's a lot of wooden carving and reed, but the CFL-lights at night tend to reduce romantic atmosphere considerably. Therefore, you should add some value in that yourself. The open bathroom is neat and functional with a good, hot shower and also an open garden in front of the toilet seat.

The restaurant at Puri Lumbung serves good food. Breakfast, lunch, dinner: all serves well. There is plenty of choice. You won't miss out on dessert when you decide to skip it, but same applies to more places in Bali.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Lumbung Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Lumbung Cottages

Address: Munduk Village | Banjar District, Munduk, Bali 81152, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Munduk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Lumbung Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Puri Lumbung Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Lumbung Cottages Hotel Munduk
Puri Lumbung Cottages Munduk, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Lumbung Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.