We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Verona

Cafe Verona
206 W Lexington Ave, Independence, MO 64050-3710
816-833-0044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Verona is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 197 Restaurants in Independence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Osage St
Independence, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

very good food me and wife eat here at least once a month very good service and great ribeye with mushroom gravy served on top of mash potatoes great drinks too.thanks for doing a great job café verona

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    27
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprising Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were touring Independence on the Columbus Day holiday and during the federal government shutdown. So we were disappointed to find both the Truman Home and Presidential Library closed, as well as many of the shops and restaurants in town. Expecting that we would have to eat fast food, we happened upon Café Verona and were very pleasantly surprised. The menu offered an array of antipasto, salads, pastas and entrees. The food was well prepared and quite flavorful. I had a delicious sweet corn risotto. Our waiter was attentive and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I had a getaway B&B vacation to Missouri and this was the way to start it out! Romantic and artfully done, this restaurant surprised us. The Trio bruschetta was tasty, salads refreshing and the pasta (sweet corn risotto and artichoke ravioli) was wonderful! Katie was a wonderful server and rolled with the punches..Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“nice outside dining in the courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a very nice meal...my husband had a sandwich, which was quite adequate and I had a nice salad. We ate out in the courtyard, which was delightful. The price was very fair.

We do have a suggestion for the restaurant. Inside there is a lovely booth tucked in the back. We asked to sit there first, but were told it was reserved for the owner's familty. I'm sorry, but that still bugs me. However, I would still go back, since the food was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
“Great food and gluten free choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had several choices of gluten free meals and some were modifies for my diet. If I selected large meals they supplied a container and I ate the left overs for lunch the next day.The staff were very helpful checking the meals for my diet..

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Verona also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Verona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.