We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Hawthorne Place, Independence, MO 64052-1966   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Independence B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This place was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We spent our 30th wedding anniversary in the Westminster suite. The room was charming and had fantastic views: to look out our window was like looking out into the English garden. Both Windy and Jim were fantastic host and hostesses. We had such a great time there. The breakfasts were magnificently presented and delicious. We sat out on the sunroom enjoyed our surroundings. Both Jim and Wendy were so helpful making our stay simply the best. I highly recommend this bed and breakfasts! We have stayed at many B&Bs in our last 30 years and this is one of the best!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were married on Dec 14th 2013 and had a wonderful experience and stay here. The place was decked out and very cozy. There were trees in all the rooms and the mantels were all gorgeous! We had a small family wedding and dinner and the setting was perfect. The food was home cooked and outstanding! The room was very comfortable and breakfast the next day was more than we could finish. Fresh muffins, and fresh fruit along with a full breakfast. The owners were friendly and helpful and we highly recommend anyone staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is out of this world wonderful! Jim and Wendy were heavenly hosts. The home had ethereal beauty and class. Every need was attended to. The rooms were tastefully decorated. Breakfast was incredible. Fresh, homemade, and plentiful. It was quite convenient to purchase tourism packages and tickets for Independence attractions. The location is close to historical Independence Square as well as attractions in Kansas City. We thought we'd died and gone to heaven. Perfect Staycation for us. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This historic Bed and Breakfast is beautifully maintained, with large, luscious treed lawns and flower gardens. Located in Independence, MO, home of President Harry S. Truman, it is within minutes drive of many museums and national historical sites. A great hideaway for history buffs (especially presidential, civil war, or early America westward movement), or those in search of a quiet place to relax for the weekend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Well appointed house, nice amenities such as coffee by our room, some snacks and bottled water. Smallish room but given the architecture of the building, understandable. The bathroom was quite tiny. Breakfast was slim - despite the owners being told I was vegan, they had no clue what that meant. "So you eat pancakes?" WiFi connection though free was weak to at times non-existent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The building is beautiful in a very quiet neighborhood on a large corner plot. The dirt driveway entrance was full of potholes. Jim warmly greeted us as the door and showed us around. The living and dining rooms were nicely furnished. We had the suite, which was very roomy and nice. They are oddly strict about no red wine inside the mansion. I've never seen that at a B&B before. Our room had two adjoining rooms on either side of the rooms. There might as well have been just a curtain it was was so thin. We could hear everything that went on in the bathroom next door, which wasn't very romantic. The doors are squeaky and the floors creak a lot. The bed was super comfy. The breakfast was pretty good and huge, which was what we expected from a B&B. Nothing special, but just a nice breakfast in the dining room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I can only echo the praise of the other reviewers.

Jim and Wendy truly made us feel at home, and were as welcoming as can be. My wife and I stayed in the Westminster Suite over Christmas, and it was a perfect getaway. We got married the weekend before, and needed to get away and clear our heads. This was our first B&B experience, and I can't imagine anything better than our experience at Hawthorn. We have their number on our refrigerator, and will always be on the lookout for an excuse to call up an make a reservation for a weekend getaway.

The mansion was decorated magnificently for Christmas. The only thing I could say when we first arrived was that it looked like it was straight out of a movie. It felt like we had been transported back in time, with all the comforts and amenities of our modern day. The room was enormous, and the sheets... Oh my goodness, the sheets. Softest sheets I've ever felt in my life. The mansion was meticulously well kept, and absolutely quiet and peaceful.

Breakfast was, of course, absolutely incredible. Jim even made biscuits and gravy for my bride as a special request.

If you are looking for peace, tranquility, hospitality, and the best breakfast of your life, look no further than Hawthorn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Hawthorne Place, Independence, MO 64052-1966
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 19th century stone mansion meticulously renovated and opened as a Bed & Breakfast in 2000. Relax in the comfort and privacy of this beautiful estate and savor the gourmet cuisine. Extra large guestrooms, exquisitely decorated, all with private baths, cable TV, wireless internet, individual heat & air-conditioning and full complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.