We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unacceptable Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hereford House

Hereford House
19721 E Jackson Dr, Independence, MO 64057-1589
+1 816-795-9200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 197 Restaurants in Independence
Price range: $6 - $45
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: I-70 & Little Blue Parkway
Description: Hereford House is one of Kansas City's legendary steakhouses. Great food, casual atmosphere, superior service and reasonable prices. Voted Kansas City's Favorite Steakhouse!
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unacceptable Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have eaten previously at this location, and have never had any problems. However, this past Sunday we took a group of 6 adults and 3 children, and did not have a good experience. We had called earlier in the week to reserve a room in the back, so they knew we were coming. After being seated, it was 30 minutes before our orders were taken. After waiting another 25 minutes without any salads, I spoke to a server and questioned as to why it was taking so long. He indicated that our server was working on our salads at that time, which we received a few minutes later. After 25 more minutes we received our meal: total time from being seated to having our meal was a total of 1 hour and 20 minutes. Had we known it would have taken this long, we would have eaten somewhere else. For what our bill was (greater than $150.00) I expect better service. I did not speak with a manager while we were there, as I did not want to negatively impact the time with our family any more than it had been already. Will I go back? No.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerefordHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Hereford House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We are so sorry to read about your experience, that's not what we want for our customers....we never want our customers to leave with less than great service and great food. Please don't hesitate to ask for a manager at the first sign of any problem, that's why they are there. They truly want the best experience for you and your party - and can facilitate a more timely meal, plus take extra measures to make your meal a special one. Our apologies, we wish we could have done more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    50
    26
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Get the apple turnover!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The only reason why I didn't give them 5 stars was because the ribeye was lacking in flavor. Everything else about my visit was fantastic. The staff was very warm, personal, and attentive. The mashed potatoes were great and the apple turnovers are amazing. I would go back just to have another.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Took the family here for a Sunday dinner and it was fantastic as always. Great service and the food is always great.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Kansas City steaks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

When you go to this restaurant have a steak or a hamburger, they are the original, good angus beef. I had a salisbury steak with mashed potatoes last time that I went, and wasn't please with it. Too many seasonings thrown in. It has a sophisticated, steak house atmosphere with a small bar/lounge area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is my family's top pick when we go out to eat. The atmosphere is very relaxing, the food is always delicious, and there are menu choices to please everyone. We are usually given a nice private room when we have a group of 10 or more. They also have a great kids menu for the young ones.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hereford House also viewed

 
Independence, MO
 

Been to Hereford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hereford House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.