We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hereford House

Hereford House
19721 E Jackson Dr, Independence, MO 64057-1589
(816) 795-9200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 218 Restaurants in Independence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: I-70 & Little Blue Parkway
Description: Hereford House is one of America's legendary steakhouses. Great food, casual atmosphere, superior service and reasonable prices.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I went here because I had a Groupon, but the staff was unable to process it for some reason, so I had to pay full price. That being said, the food was still delicious, and our waitress was very apologetic about the Groupon mishap.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerefordHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Hereford House, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
I'm so sorry to read about your recent experience with us at the Hereford House. We do participate with Groupon...the exception is Happy Hour, so it sounds like your visit may have hit that time period. Please let us know the next time you visit, we would welcome the opportunity to serve you...and provide the great food and service you've known and expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    44
    21
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, KS
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“I know it's a steakhouse, but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My favorite dish here is the coconut fried shrimp. Huge shrimp, lightly breaded....awesome. The steaks are always cooked exactly to order. I've never had to send one back, and this is the only steakhouse I can say that about.
Their stuffed mushrooms appetizer is awesome. They're a must-have every time we're there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balsam lake, wi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service, pretty good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We here for a business dinner. The atmosphere was very nice, We had a private room in the back. The service was good and fast. I ordered a strip steak with mixed vegetables. The steak was good, cooked perfectly, but my side of vegetables looked like it came out of a frozen green giant bag. They were mushy and dull. Not what I would have expected for a $25 meal. We also had the calamari for an appetizer, that was very good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“East Independence Meat Lover's Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

For carnivores only. This trip we did the dinner for two selection; share appetizer and dessert, and two entrees. Several good entree choices in this plan; we chose pork chops (2 well seasoned and large) and the 10 oz prime rib. Dessert choice was white chocolate bread pudding, served a flambe at table side and was among the best ever. Service was really quite efficient, especially considering the visitors in town for the I-70 series. Yes, it's pricey, (dinner for two combo is $65 + drinks), but reasonable for a higher end steak house. R&B

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Missouri
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice for lunch too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Normally I frequent the Herford House for dinner or for something special like a birthday celebration. Lately I have taken guests there for lunch a couple of times and have been very satisfied. The lunch selection is good with numerous choices. I find it a good quiet place to eat and meet over an enjoyable lunch.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hereford House also viewed

 

Been to Hereford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hereford House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.