We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Easter brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ophelia's Restaurant & Inn

Ophelia's Restaurant & Inn
201 N Main St, Independence, MO 64050-2804
816-461-4525
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ophelia's Restaurant & Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 218 Restaurants in Independence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: E Maple Ave
Missouri
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful Easter brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Easter brunch was wonderful, the choices extensive, breakfast items, lots of good salads, tasty vegetable choices, four different main course items, ham, lamb, fish and chicken, fruit, great desserts. Loved the bread pudding and the huge chocolate fountain. We thought it was a very good value. Only complaint would be fish and chicken a little overcooked. Everything else was so good it didn't matter. We have eaten here several times over the years and always enjoy it. Would definitely do brunch again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hackettstown NJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good restaurant for business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Second visit. Definitely one of the better restaurants in the area. I had the Tuna on the spa menu, good consistent. Desserts good, service good. Parking abundant. Service quick and friendly. Definitely up to East coast standards.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Calif
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delightful and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a wonderful lunch on Valentine's day. This is a charming restaurant with delicious food. The decor is very appealing. I would highly recommend this delightful restaurant for lunch or dinner.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Upscale but cozy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Here is great gourmet-eating without heading downtown Kansas City or to the Plaza. Ophelia's is a charming locale in Independence with delicious food and friendly waiters. We ate Chateaubriand there last week which was as scrumptious as any beef dish I've had lately. The potatoes were writhe the calories and the asparagus cooked to perfection. Give it a try if you haven't. We love celebrating New Year's Eve there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in old downtown Independence”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Usually leary when I review restaurants with all "very good to excellent" ratings as it is almost impossible to please everyone, especially in fine dining. The reviews are acurate as this is a hidden gem. Food was good, salmon was slightly over cooked but overall the dining experience and atmosphere is very good. Will return for SURE!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ophelia's Restaurant & Inn also viewed

Independence, MO
Independence, MO
 

Been to Ophelia's Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ophelia's Restaurant & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.