We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this food but don't believe when they tell you it's gluten free” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Master Wok of Independence

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Master Wok of Independence
4810 S Arrowhead Dr, Independence, MO 64055-6980
816-350-0123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 221 Restaurants in Independence
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Independence, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this food but don't believe when they tell you it's gluten free”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Some of the best Chinese food I've ever had. The restaurant is clean and attractive. Unfortunately, they don't understand what gluten-free means because I became very sick after eating there. Their food is not gluten-free unless you get a steamed platter. They do serve gluten-free soy sauce. I think when they tell you it's gluten-free they are referring to the soy sauce and think that's the only part that needs to be gluten-free. Do not eat here if you need to be gluten-free. It's also expensive for the amount you receive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Inexpensive takeout with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was taken back by the review of rude service. Mine has been anything but that. Have had many different servers and all were courteous and efficient. They have a great lunch value that includes an entree, rice, soup and either egg roll or crab Rangoon. All for about $7.25. Drive through window for pickup. Food is tasty and their hot and sour soup is among the best. Take all credit cards including American Express which I appreciate. Probably get food here once a month at it is always consistent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Take-Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Ordered wonton soup to go and was very pleasantly surprised to find in addition to wonton .... shrimp, beef, chicken, sugar snap peas, carrots and mushrooms swimming in a great broth. Portion was a quart for $6. Wonderful!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Master Wok Lees Summit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a party of 9 around 6pm. We had not been to Master Wok since they had moved from their Lee's Summit 291 location to 150 highway years ago. The food was as good as I remembered it. Nice size pour for a glass of wine. Love the spring rolls. Crispy and tasty. Everything was delicious. Can't wait to go again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not Here But Good Chinese Food Does Exist”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Carryout on a rainy day - $50
Driving back for the rice they forgot - 40 minutes
$10 coupon for next visit instead of apology - really?
Carthartic internet review - priceless :-)

Rude and uncaring but at least the food was boring and expensive. Wait! That's not right; Chinese food doesn't have to be that way! The best Chinese food I ever ate was in Davenport Iowa at a little shack on... hwy 61 south, Brady I think, near Locust Street. A one woman shop and let me tell you this lady could coook! Fresh meat and vegetables, a hot wok and cold oil, yummmum! She was polite and diligen and took pride in her work. Quite different from these "big box", food off the truck, "Americans only care about money" oriental places that have popped up all over the place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Master Wok of Independence also viewed

 

Been to Master Wok of Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Master Wok of Independence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.