We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to watch the game” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Steakhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Outback Steakhouse
13710 E US Hwy 40, Independence, MO 64055-5842
(816) 478-6460
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 218 Restaurants in Independence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place to watch the game”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Visited several times late nights (they close at 11pm), the service is ALWAYS prompt and friendly. When we can't decide, we always agree on the Outback Steakhouse. Big screen's to watch the Royals and excellent food. Follow up service is A+

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Easy Place to Stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had lunch here with a friend, and it was good, but nothing really distinguished it from any other decent place to eat. They had a versatile, well-rounded menu, and the food tasted fine, but it was not remarkable.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
1 review
“Not very good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Our waitress Jescie was not very good. She was never to be found, always in the back. Ordered a seared steak and wasnt done like i had said. Friend of mine got the wrong soup and even found a hair in it. She didnt bother to give us a discount nor did a manager come out to talk to us to say sorry. Im a manager myself so therefore this wasnt acceptable for me even though it wasnt my food. Only refilled drinks once. Just poor waitressing that needs to be addressed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't trust the hostess”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We never did get to eat. We arrived around 4pm it was not that busy, 4 adults and 5 kids ages 2-10. We had just attended an event in KC, the kids were hungry so we were looking for a restaurant who could seat us quickly we went to a couple different ones and then the hostess at Outback told us all she needed to do was wipe down a table then we would be seated within minutes, well 27 minutes later I asked the hostess how much longer it could be and she gave the exact same line "all I have to do is wipe down a table your party will be seated in a few minutes". I then called IHOP next door and was told they could seat us immediately so we went there. The hostess should not have lied about seating time, and then to say the same thing nearly a half hour later-she must be trained to say that all the time. Fail!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Tasting Food and Very Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Dined here last month with my son and visiting out-of-state friends. We've eaten at other Outback restaurant locations and the food quality remains very good at most locations. The servers are always very pleasant and friendly and that adds each time to making a visit worthwhile.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.