We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch - always good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smokehouse BBQ

Smokehouse BBQ
19000 E 39TH St S, Independence, MO 64057-2315
(816) 795-5555
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 218 Restaurants in Independence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lunch - always good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always good and can depend on this. Servers sometimes not as good as the food, but no one horrible. Fairly quick and awesome beans plus some excellent non-barbecue choices with steak, fish and chicken

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Seven of us had dinner here, and it was all good! Our server always had a smile, and we enjoyed being at a round table for ease in conversation. This BBQ restaurant is more attractive and roomier than most. All of us had excellent meals---no complaints. The baby back ribs here melt in your mouth. Sides are also good. We eat here a few times a year---always enjoyable!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Barbeque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We were in Kansas City for 1 day. This place had great reviews and believe me they were telling the truth. My husband is from Texas and is a BBQ connoisseur. We had the dinner for 2 with pork ribs, chicken and brisket. All were delicious. Side dishes of beans and coleslaw really great. Don't miss stopping in if you are anywhere close. We would definitely come here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Smokehouse was pretty darn good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Spur of the moment for some BBQ is what brought us here for our first visit. Ample parking and the restaurant was good sized with lots of seating. Very comfortable seating for a BBQ place and one thing we really liked was it was QUIET. So many restaurants are LOUD to the point you can't hold a conversation with the person you are with but the way this place is laid out made it not that way at all so for that I would give it 5 stars!

We ordered our food- Me, Super Crispy Burnt Ends, Fries, Baked Beans, my wife had a Pork Platter and a Salad. She enjoyed her food very much and her salad was huge. My meal was just what I wanted... good Burnt Ends but not as "super crispy" as I would have liked but still nice. The Baked Beans were good but as a preference I like mine over cooked, but thats just me. The sauce was a little on the "Ketchupy" side. It wasnt terrible, but I've had better, but again thats just a preference thing. Overall I think its a very good BBQ place with great fast service and good flavored food. We will return again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Among the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Smokehouse Barbecue came on the recommendation of a local. It doesn't come up if you Google K.C. Barbecue but it should. Great service, great food, and fast, but hot also. We had a salad with a homemade ranch dressing that was the best ever. We each had a selection on our dinners, with ribs, sausage, pulled pork and chicken among them. All excellent, and with just the right amount of sauce. The slaw that came with it was perfect. Mayonaiise based with a hint of vinegar. There was not one thing wrong with this barbecue. I might drive 4 hours back just to eat there again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 
Independence, MO
Independence, MO
 

Been to Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokehouse BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.