We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great home---an 1856” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Heart Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Silver Heart Inn to your Saves list
Silver Heart Inn
1114 S Noland Rd, Independence, MO 64050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Independence B&B and Inns
Walden CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is a great home---an 1856”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

work in progress with details aplenty from your hostess, Melanie Johnson. After less than two years in business they are quickly establishing their reputation for careful attention to the needs of their customers. We loved their advice on additions to our itinerary and the breakfasts were delicious. As we launched the Eastern half of the Oregon Trail, the Silver Heart got us off to a great start with Harry S Truman thrown in for an extra measure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
30
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We went back to Silver Heart over an extended holiday weekend for some much needed rest and relaxation. Once again, the cottage was a great choice for us - very comfortable bed, cozy decorations, yummy snacks and the wonderful kitchen amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I recently had the absolute pleasure of having my wedding ceremony and reception at the Silver Heart Inn. From the beginning stages of planning, to the day of saying our I do's, Melanie and company at the Inn were a dream come true. I don't think many brides get to say that not one thing went wrong at their wedding, but I am able to! Melanie was a such a blessing when it came to the wedding planning because she took some of my biggest worries away immediately. She hooked us up with an excellent photographer, caterer, and cake maker all in the first appointment. I immediately felt a huge weight lifted off my shoulders and could use more of my time to make sure that the little details could be attended to. As far as decorating went, the house already has such a romantic and intimate ambience that we were able to achieve a lot with very little. Which, given our budget, was a score in the plus column. Speaking of budgets, the package prices Melanie has put together for weddings plus the rental of all of the rooms for the night was phenomenal. We were able to allow parents and grandparents to stay at the inn for evening, giving them a special treat, and we were in the cottage behind the house, giving us the perfect "getaway" after an extremely hectic and exhausting day. I could really just keep typing about how wonderful everything was about Silver Heart Inn, but I think you get my drift. We will absolutely be back to celebrate our 1 year anniversary!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverheartinn, Manager at Silver Heart Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
No stone unturned, no detail to small to keep your wedding day perfect for all! I wish that we could take all the credit but it's our hand chosen bridal team that brings many talents together with you in mind that made it happen. Our focus on making this easy for you, unstressful for you, and blissful for you as you walked to your groom is what we are all about. Thanks most humbly for choosing Silver Heart Inn. May you have many years of blissful anniversaries to share together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterset, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Silver Heart Inn to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The rooms are nice sized and are preserved as much as possible to the original state. Also, the city and the Inn have so much fascinating history - the breakfast was so good that I even asked for the recipes!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverheartinn, Owner at Silver Heart Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We so enjoyed having you stay and getting to know you. We gladly share a few of the favorite recipes. So many guests have commented on the preservation of the historical aspects of the house but also how modern amenities have been carefully worked in for guest comfort. We think it is the perfect blend of the past without giving up the present. We hope to see you in Independence again when travels lead you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at the Silver Heart Inn for our anniversary. The accommodation were wonderful and the food was excellent. It was so convenient for us because it was only 20 minutes away, but it felt like we were on vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverheartinn, Owner at Silver Heart Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
It is so true that often we just need to reconnect or recharge but don't have the time to do a long vacation. Guests have often come here for just a night or two to escape daily life for a while. It always seems to do the trick! I am so happy to hear that your experience with us was refreshing and revitalizing. It's not how far you travel, its the experience once you arrive. Thanks for letting us know your experience was extraordinary! Come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed two nights in this wonderful B&B and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. While the breakfasts were delicious, it was the warmth and welcome that Melanie and Perry provide that made this a wonderful experience. Our room was very nice, comfortable and spacious. The added touches like snacks in the room, hot chocolate and muffin brought to our room in the evening, luxurious robes made this a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverheartinn, Owner at Silver Heart Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing to share your time here together at our inn. It really does mean so very much to us that we have made it a special and memorable getaway for you. Yes, we always go the extra step to ensure that you feel pampered while you are here. Looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We found the Silver Heart Inn to be a delightful place to spend two nights. We were revisiting the beginnings of our married life in Kansas City. Celebrating our 40th Anniversary and Melanie was a delightful hostess. Beautiful home, delicious food, warm ambiance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverheartinn, Owner at Silver Heart Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We are honored that you chose to stay here for such a memorable occasion, and hope that you now have new memories to add to the cherished ones of the past. A great joy to the innkeeper is your shared stories, because now it is a part of the history of Silver Heart Inn too! Thank you for your kind recommendation and recollection of the love and care that we shared with you. It is our standard with every guest, and every stay, to achieve and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Heart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Heart Inn

Address: 1114 S Noland Rd, Independence, MO 64050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1850's Antebellum home in historic Independence, Missouri. Close to Kansas City attractions and events. Handicapped accessible. Take a moment to step back to an elegant time with all the modern amenities. Lovely garden courtyard for relaxation. Secluded cottage also available on property. Small wedding and events venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Silver Heart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Heart Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.