We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The WOW Factor"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivilore

Vivilore
10815 E Winner Rd, Independence, MO
816-836-2222
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 218 Restaurants in Independence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sugar Creek, Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"The WOW Factor"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The minute you step in the door you are "wowed"! You are surrounded by art, antiques & fine furnishings. The bar is beautiful & you can try one of their specialty hand-crafted drinks(I recommend the signature drink "The Vivilore"). With drink in hand you can begin a self-guided tour on one of the many floors that offer home decor, art, antiques, jewelry etc. The Art Gallery(top floor) features local artist paintings/artwork which you may also purchase. As you enter every decorated room there is plenty to see & enjoy. The owners are collectors & have a flair for showcasing their pieces. As you continue on you will be awed by the breathtaking patio which is paradise & immaculately manicured with beautiful foliage. It seems to be the popular spot for dining or just relaxing with a cocktail. The menu offers a variety of choices for every taste. All hand made desserts daily that are hard to resist. A fabulous choice regardless the drive, it will be worth it. A great addition to Independence.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    2
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vivilore Luau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Vivilore had a luau dinner in June instead of their wine dinner. Unfortunately it was held inside because the temperature was sweltering that day. The food and drinks were amazing. The luau was complete with a band and dancers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We just came home from having a truly delightful evening at Vivilore. We took advantage of their Happy Hour and had 2 scrumptious appetizers: bruschetta with an array of toppings (delicious) and a fresh seafood tostada that we will definitely order again. If you appreciate great tastes with eye pleasing presentation, you will not be disappointed. We finished our "meal" with cinnamon bread pudding accompanied by fresh fruit and cream, one of several tempting desserts. And the setting? We had our choice of tables sprinkled amidst the most lovely flowers, ivys, planters and more. We kept looking around, enjoying innumerable artistic green creations. (Their gardeners must love what they do; the garden is a work of art.) Our server was friendly and attentive; the owner was very welcoming. Before leaving, we visited their art gallery and shop of unique offerings. We went home with a small copper wall cabinet, purchased at a very reasonable price. The next time we have out of town guests, we will be excited to share with them this HIDDEN TREASURE in Independence. But until then, we will be inviting our in-town-friends to enjoy this special dining experience with us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SIMPLY AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The most AMAZING restaurant, garden, shop, gallery... The food was fabulous! The owners and staff were wonderful! The garden is a dream. We didn't want to leave. We will be back again and again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Deliusions Of Grandeur”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

On the whole, as it should be, I must rate this restaurant/antique venue/art gallery as POOR. First, what was good. We ordered a flatbread appetizer with chorizo. It was delicious. We both like salmon very much and with wild Alaskan salmon ($26) on the menu, we both ordered it cooked through. It arrived as ordered. Succulent! The salad that came with the meal was larger than expected and very good. The Kenwood cab “Yulupa” ($32) we ordered was bold yet smooth. Given the tiny tiny window of nice weather now in this zone of the USA, we dined on the very pleasing patio.

Moving on: the price of the bottle was about a little more than 2 and ½ times the lowest price I could find a few days later when I desired another bottle. I know the owners want to present an upscale image, yet paying more than twice the liquor store value seems unreasonable to me. The dessert we shared was a lemon cake with lemon ice cream. The cake was moist and tasted great, but the ice cream was bland, almost flavorless! Visiting the restrooms, we are left to continue wondering have the owners not heard of the toilet paper holder invented a long time ago? Going into the bathroom and seeing the toilet paper roll resting beside the toilet brought back all those memories of filthy service station restrooms visited always out of supreme necessity years ago! Come on, hang the paper from a holder: free-standing or embedded in the wall!

There are steps at the rear of the restaurant/antique store/art gallery from the kitchen/bathrooms area up to the patio or to the upper floors made of some stone. To say that the risers are different is a gross understatement. One step is much higher than usual and the next (going upward) is fewer inches than usual. Who knows how these steps were fashioned to be so disorienting and very dangerous? Even without the addition of alcohol to the system, the human brain is accustomed to risers and, to a certain extent, treads on stair steps to be generic dimensions. These steps, without familiarity or ever-present attention, will and probably have caused a stumble. We were warned, yet thirty minutes later, the precautionary note faded. Fix the steps! Would a cautionary note prevent a successful lawsuit?

Finally, the male owner of the establishment passed near our table through the patio on multiple occasions. Only once out was three to four times did he attend to removal of used dinnerware. The waitress was not necessarily inattentive, yet the owner could have made the experience much better simply by removing soiled dishes. We always like to not see the bowls, plates whatever when empty. Perhaps he is just short of a detail-oriented mind, as there was no notice (signage outside, table tent inside or waitress mention) of the art in the gallery on the top floor. We more or less stumbled upon it with no fore-knowledge.

You know the old saying...for want of a nail, the shoe was lost. For want of a shoe...This is presently Vivilore in June 2013.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vivilore also viewed

 

Been to Vivilore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivilore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.