We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky but clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Higher Ground Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Higher Ground Hotel to your Saves list
Higher Ground Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Delaware, Independence, MO 64050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Garden Rebirth Special !
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Funky but clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

This hotel exceeded my expectations. It is right across the street from the Harry Truman house and down the road from the museum. The building might have been built for some other use than a hotel - and the entrance and office are a bit funky. But the room was huge and very clean. The beds were very, very comfortable as was the covers and pillows (and I am very picky). We had a very quiet and restful night. The complimentary breakfast was at our leisure, again very clean area - and good, but basic food: lots of fruit, yogurt, bagels, english muffins, cereals and coffee. Also, great in room coffee. This looked to be one of the few hotels right in the "Truman" area of Independence. We were pleasantly surprised by our stay. Staff was also very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    25
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
44
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Location was perfect for browsing the shopping district. ( Independence square) Shops and restaurants galore. Started raining. So we made each stop an extended stop. Everyone in town was wonderful to us. Thank you again. I would recommend setting aside at least two days to visit the shops and historical areas.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

My husband & I were staying on business at this hotel. My husband was in a conference and I was at the hotel. We were there for 5 days. I felt at home. The owners of this establishment were friendly and attended to all of my needs. Any questions I had regarding places to see or eat they accomodated me. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

A friend and I attended a conference at the Harry S. Truman Library and Museum in Independence, Missouri. Someone recommended the Higher Ground Hotel. I'm glad they did. It was a great location, near the Library, the charming couple who own the hotel were delightful, and the original paintings were gallery worthy - stunning. Also the continental breakfast was enjoyable. I couldn't have been happier with the service.

Howard Lee Kilby
Hot Springs, Arkansas

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Our room was big, clean, comfortable beds, and quiet, and was priced reasonably and close to attractions, and with a few final touches, it would be perfect. The curtains on the windows were very sheer so the room was bright by 5:00 a.m., they should invest in some black-out curtains. The bathtub drain was clogged and water backed past our ankles. Breakfast was just bagels or cereal, I expected more from something called a "bed and breakfast." There was no way to control the temperature in our room. The air-conditioning was on, and during the day it was comfortable, showing 70 degrees, at night they turned it up to almost 80..way too warm & made it hard to sleep. We asked for a fan finally. I would also suggest bringing a white-noise machine to block out noises from outdoors like a train that runs all night tooting it's horn.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Stayed for 19 nights in April due to delay with our transatlantic flight.
The hotel provides good value and clean accommodation, is well located for visiting the area and had a good range of services. Breakfast good variety and quality.

Not the most attractive from the outside but a welcoming, helpful atmosphere made the stay very enjoyable.
Wewere so happy have already booked again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhull, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Enjoyed the friendly staff. I found everything to be very clean and nice. I had a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Higher Ground Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Ground Hotel

Address: 200 North Delaware, Independence, MO 64050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Higher Ground Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Higher Ground Hotel is a boutique hotel located in a wonderful Historic District across the street from Harry S. Truman's home and close to his library and other attractions. We are within 3 blocks of Independence Square surrounding the Historic Courthouse. There are many restaurants and shops on the Square, plus a movie theater and a bowling alley. There are several museums in our area and many fun things to do like take a covered wagon ride around the area. The hotel has a beautiful garden where you can relax. We have a large selection of Blue Ray Movies that you can watch free in one of our 2 lounges. You can also order High Tea in the Afternoon served in our library or your room. There is much to enjoy at Higher Ground Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Higher Ground Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Higher Ground Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.