We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step into the Old West and experience Frank James, Jesse's brother!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jail, Marshal's Home & Museum

Jail, Marshal's Home & Museum
217 North Main Street, Independence, MO 64050
816-252-1892
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 23 attractions in Independence
Type: Historic Sites, Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Site where Jackson County Historical Society researches, preserves and exhibits law enforcement papers and objects from 1859 to 1882.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Step into the Old West and experience Frank James, Jesse's brother!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Frank James spent a few months in this jail and that is interesting enough to warrant a trip! There is much history to partake in this little gem and worth the visit. **tip: Two for one tickets are available on the website visitindependence.com.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The old west in Missouri”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a small Museum, but loaded with fun facts, and artifacts from that period. It is a self guided tour but you can take your time as you go through out it. Frank James was in jail here. It will only take you about an hour to see all of it, but it was very interesting. The staff was very helpful. and loves what he is doing. I would recommend this, just keep in mind it is small.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Cannot believe how well maintained this place is. A genuine mid 19th century jail where Frank James was a prisoner. A lot of memorabilia from the time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great for history buffs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A small but well preserved part of u.s. history- the trip was made special by the ladies on the front desk who were very knowledgeable and made us most welcome. However if you are not into history there is no more than 10 minutes of content so best avoid. We found it fascinating.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Small but interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had an admission coupon from the Independence visitors website, so my 12 year old son and I decided to check it out. The lady from the historical society was very friendly and knowledgable. She described everything that we were going to see and told us stories about the James brothers and the Civil War. She even let me use her outlet to charge my phone, which had gone dead. The museum is small, but the cells are interesting. I don't think it would have been as good if we hadn't gotten all of the information from the lady in the front. It was a nice place for a quick diversion.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jail, Marshal's Home & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jail, Marshal's Home & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jail, Marshal's Home & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jail, Marshal's Home & Museum to your Saves list