We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice new hotel; amenities are great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Independence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites Independence to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Independence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20300 E 42nd St. S, Independence, MO 64015   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Parker, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice new hotel; amenities are great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I chose this hotel based on other TripAdvisor reviews, and I wasn't disappointed. It's a bit more expensive than others in the area, but it's also nicer. The breakfast was terrific and had more choices than most hotels. My girls loved the indoor/outdoor pool (and the ability to swim between them). The beds were comfortable, and the room was very clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    27
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
90
49
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tonka Bay, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We loved this place!!! Here are our Top 10 Reasons!!! 1) Close to family style restaurants!!! Culvers, Country Corner, and Arby's within 2 blocks on a private drive. These are within walking distance. 2) Very GREAT staff!!! Front desk, food service employees, maid service all were prompt, efficient, and wearing smiles! 3) Great rooms!!! Beds are comfy, refrigerator and microwave in room, quality towels and linens. 4) No problems with parking!!! Lot is big enough to handle a full hotel. 5) The 5-7:30pm "Kickback!" It is great to know after seeing the sights all day, you can go back to the hotel and basically have "dinner" for free!!! Free cocktails for the adults, too!!! Real white meat chicken tenders, mac and cheese, chili, baked potatoes, nachos, popcorn, pop, and much more. 6) The unique pool!!! It is half indoor and half outdoor, and the kiddos LOVE swimming under the wall. 7) Jacuzzi!!! Who doesn't love a jacuzzi? 8) The HUGE shower head!!! Wow! We were on the 7th floor and had GREAT water pressure and the widest varieties of water temperature you would need from brisk and cold to super (muscle stiffness) hot! 9) Drury's commitment to the environment! No more little bottles for shampoo! The hotel has wall mounted dispensers for shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. Also, they change the linens for longer stays every 4 days to save $, but also to use less resources! Take that "Great Pacific Garbage Patch" (plastic pollution off of California. 10) My kids comments!!! When asked what adventure we should go on, my daughters stated, "We just want to stay at the hotel. It is AWESOME!!!"

Room Tip: We chose to be on the 7th floor on the "non highway" side and it was very quiet and pleasa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My family and I recently stayed in this hotel while we were on a trip to Schlitterbahn Waterpark in Kansas City, Kansas. The staff of the hotel was extremely helpful. The rooms were up to date and very clean. The breakfast was good, and the staff was very helpful and courteous. I would recommend this hotel for anyone coming to the Kansas City area. It's close to the stadium complex as well as Independence Center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I love this hotel! It is clean, comfortable, and has a great staff. We stay here often. The dining area staff are very attentive and keep every thing neat and clean. Their food offering is nice, not high-end of course but more than adequate and the evening offering is great--a nice evening snack or even your evening meal if you wish. The rooms are a nice size and very comfortable. We always get the two room suite and we are very comfortable with our kids. We began staying here right after the hotel opened and they have done a great job of keeping it clean and well kept--it is not getting run down like some hotels do. The pool is great fun. There is pleanty of room indoors to lounge and a nice jacuzzi and another large area outdoors (it is a swim-through pool from indoors to outdoors, kids love it!) with pleanty of seating. Everything about this hotel has been really great for us every time we have stayed here. It is a little ways out but in an area we prefer and rather nice to be out of the thick of things. Tons of great shopping, movies and restaurants close and a straight shot down the freeway to Kauffman stadium and all that. Excellent family hotel. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a typical Drury Inn with the friendly employees who always greet you with a smile. The rooms are very quiet with the exception of doors shutting in the hallway. The beds are very comfortable with a variety of pillows to choose from. Big flat screen TV with a nice desk to work at. All the rooms have a refrigerator and microwave but you won't need them much as they offer a great breakfast and a very good happy hour spread that they call snacks and I call dinner. If you haven't been to a Drury before, they also offer adult beverages along with popcorn and Pepsi products all evening and it's all free. The bathroom is very spacious and the water is hot with good pressure in the shower. I highly recommend this motel and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We do not normally stay at Drury Inns but decided to book it because of the reviews. We were not disappointed. They were full to capacity with ball teams but handled it nicely. The room was clean and average size. We slept comfortably with 2 adults and 2 children. We all enjoyed the free popcorn upon arrival and the snack/cocktail time from 5:30-7:00. We gave up dinner plans because the snacks were much more than snacks. They were more like a dinner. It wasn't anything extravagant but when you are tired and traveling with the kids it was like a little slice of heaven to not have to get back in the car. The indoor-outdoor pool was an average to small size for this sort of hotel. The kids had fun swimming back and forth under the wall. We enjoyed our stay complaint free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Room was clean and bed was quite comfortable. The included evening food and drinks were a welcome bonus, and the breakfast was very good. The pet-friendliness is important for us. We found out a couple of hours after we'd checked out that I'd left my watch in the room. We called and it had already been turned in and was waiting for us when we passed back by there later that day. We'll definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Independence

Address: 20300 E 42nd St. S, Independence, MO 64015
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Extras Aren't Extra at Drury Hotels! Our guests can enjoy free hot breakfast, free hot food and cold beverages at the 5:30 Kickback, free wireless Internet access in all rooms and throughout the hotel, free long distance calls and free popcorn and soda in the lobby daily. An indoor/outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool are available for guest use, along with an on-site 24-hour fitness center. A microwave and refrigerator can be found in all rooms. Drury is family owned and operated so you can expect the same great value, friendly service and cleanliness at every location. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Independence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.