We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Independence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Independence to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19677 E Jackson Drive, Independence, MO 64057   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast Package
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plymouth, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for a stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very friendly staff, beautiful well-maintained landscape. We were only here for one night but found it to be a clean, comfortable stay. There were lots of shopping and dining options in the area. The A/C put off a icky smell, but cooled very well. Free WiFi, bottled water and mini-fridge was a plus. This was a good value and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Hilton Garden Inn Independence. We truly appreciate you choosing our hotel and will share your comments with the staff. If you are traveling through the area again we hope to see you. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    93
    38
    20
    13
See reviews for
77
51
22
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Our visit got off to a rocky start. First the key to the laundry room did not worked. Quickly taken care of. Then I noticed that the dryer was broken. Front desk staff saved the day again when they agreed to have their maintenance staff put our laundry in their dryer. Bravo!! Last but not least, the person in the no smoking room next to us started smoking and the smell was permeating into our room. In less than 20 minutes, we we upgraded , moved and got a voucher for a free breakfast. What a great staff..
The hotel is very nice. Super clean, quiet and comfortable. Good housekeepers.
The breakfast bar is good. If you don't want to pay nine dollars for the hot and cold bar, all the cold items are available for one dollar each.
There is water and lemonade in the lobby during the day with fruit as well.
Walking distance to several restaurants.
Free parking and lots of luggage carts at the front door. Wifi can be iffy.
All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We use your review to improve our guest services and facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly share your positive comments with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jefferson city, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

not a bad price for a nice property and location was great ! 200 characters not really needed and denotes a flaw in survey as it brought me back to this point for n o other re let me see if I am at 200 ? Now says too many repeated letters, you have oddity to ask for my experience and that tell me how many charters I must tell you how good you are?? this part of survey is terrible

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We use your review to improve our guest services and facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly share your positive comments with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed the night with an unusually large group--over 100 cars and 200 people. Check in was smooth and fast. Breakfast was equally smooth, fast and good. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. Excellent access to freeways and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Independence. We truly appreciate your business and glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was my second stay at this facility. I was here the same time last year for a boxing tournament where I volunteer as a ringside physician. I did not get to spend a lot of time at the hotel because of the 18 hour days at the Sports Complex. Last year was a little different as there was more time available for resting up. First of all,Missouri itself is a very very very RED state. That being said, itt carries over in the way the employees will view and treat you probably without their even realizing it. We will talk abut that later. The hotel itself is quite beautiful. There is a gorgeous outside fountain decorated with hanging annuals ( a prelude of things to come?) and the entrance thankfully had luggage dollies. The staff up front was courteous I and mostly kind. My problem here is that the youth of today are not that much into going the extra mile. If a guest is asking for directions to a destination why ask if we need them printed out and then frown when we say yes? Yes, we could use our phones like you I do but we were sharing a car between several groups of older people so the attitude that came along with printed directions was unnecessary. We were place on the 5th floor which gave us a nice view. The I room was her standard issue except that I was pleasantly surprised that there was both a microwave and fridge in the room. There was also the one cup coffee maker and standard horrible ground coffee assortments. There was one bottle of water in the fridge that never got replenished after the first day. We stayed for 4 days.That's about as nice as it got. The bathroom was also standard issue. They cleaned it everyday with something that made the floor of the tub incredibly slippery. We had to wipe it off with fresh towels before we took showers. The hot water was a joke. It got about as hot as a medium setting in a better hotel. The drain in the bath was very slow and annoying. The AC in the room was responsive but incredibly loud. Almost like a grenade going off!! We were in an adjoining room.and the sounds from the other room at 2am were annoying and creepy.the internet wifi was skippy and buggy. It constantly kicked me out so I just used my AT&T on the iPad.

Moving on, the elevators are extremely slow unless it does not have to stop anywhere. There are newspapers and the like in the the very open and public lobby and dining area. The dining area is adjacent to the food line. You can get a decent breakfast for $9.99 a day and eat all you want. They have an excellent menu with a cook who can put together an omelette. This is where the trouble began for me. Last year, the staff behind the food line was rude and obnoxious, this year, they were indifferent. Let's look at what happened. Being an individual of color I am used to being aware and apprehensive. As I approached the food line, nobody said a mumbling word to me. They just looked at me as if to keep an eye on me. When my wife, who happens to be Caucasian, approached the same people they greeted her with "Good morning! What can we do for you? Would you like a custom omelette mam?" Even my wife immediately caught on to the difference in approach. I just ignored the whole thing because, well I'm used to that kind of subliminal message and racism, loaded up my own plate with food and sat down to eat. It just got worse. I got a coffee cup and walked around looking for the the coffee machine. One again, the staff just looked at me like they just needed to keep an eye on me, didn't ask me what I was looking for or offer me assistance so once again I sat down. Now many of you might ask, why didn't you just ask? My response to you would be why should I have to? I'm paying for service and convenience, not my nature to start asking a bunch of questions of people that don't want to help me in the first place. I have asked people like this in the past for help and they either ignore me or things, shall we say, escalate, so I chose to just return to me seat. Tight schedule, no time for arguing or engaging with morons. The server came over and asked me if I would like a cup of coffee after I sat down. I just said yes I would. I asked her where the coffee was located and she told me it's kept in the back. Sooooo, I suppose somebody with a brain behind the counter could have said, " you looking for the coffee?, sorry it's in the back but we can bring it to your table" that's all anybody would have had to say. Anyways, it's never good to try to extract info from people like that. The last day we were there which was a Saturday, the breakfast serving did not start until 7am which I thought was rather strange since most hotels will start at 6:30 am all week. Of course we had already paid for the meal ticket and they refused us a refund. So, all in all the hotel in my view gets a poor rating for being consistently racist and indifferent along with a horribly maintained bathroom. However if you are Caucasian and a republican, you should really like this place and it's klanish staff. I will never stay at this particular hotel again and will not recommend it for use next year for the physicians to stay in. Many will differ with me but if they really want to understand, read the book "Black Like Me" or watch the movie with Spencer Tracy, then come back and read this again and you may get an inkling of what it's like to walk a mile in my moccasins.

Room Tip: Stay away form elevator doors and ice machines, try to get a room at the end of a corridor at the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us on improving our service and quality.

I am hoping to get an opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay and do hope to hear from you soon. I am sorry for the experience you had and ask that you please either email or call me at my contact information below. Your opinions are important to us.

Kind Regards,

Marcy Camburako
General Manager
marcy.camburako@hilton.com or 815-350-3000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Hotel and Staff were Very Good, even during busy vacation season. I travel nearly every week on business, and was very pleased to find this facility running so well at full capacity. Staff was helpful and friendly with all the pressures of dealing with a very busy Summer weekend. Room was clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We use your review to improve our guest services and facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly share your positive comments with our team. Thank you for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa, United States
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This Garden Inn is always consistant every time you stay at this property. Always clean and quiet and well maintained.

Best thing is the steak house that is attached to the hotel. Everything on the menu is spectacular, and the onion rings can't be beat anyplace. Also must mention how polite and professional all the young servers are.

Only one bad thing to report, and that is the matress is getting old with a dip that should be replaced.

This is a great place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your great experience with the Hilton Garden Inn. We truly appreciate our reviews as we use them to better both our product and our service. We hope to see you again if in the area and want to that you for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Independence

Address: 19677 E Jackson Drive, Independence, MO 64057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Independence Hotel Independence
Hilton Independence
Independence Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Independence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.