We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many happy returns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Independence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Independence to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19677 E Jackson Drive, Independence, MO 64057   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book in advance and save!
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Independence
Garland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Many happy returns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Truly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Checked in with my husband, to celebrate our anniversary. We loved our stay....it was close to the mall and several other places to have dinner. We did eat at the hotel restaurant....awesome food....we will return..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
The Hilton Garden Inn wishes you a very Happy Anniversary. Thank you for staying with us for your special occassion. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    79
    36
    19
    9
See reviews for
69
43
18
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I work for a luxury brand hotel company and always compare the accommodations. While not comparable to the luxury brand--- this is a very clean property. You will not be disappointed. Bathroom was very clean and bed linens were exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Independence, we truly appreciate your business. If your travels bring you back, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
depew, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel was in a perfect location for our trip. We were here for the Little League World Series. The staff was very helpful. Everything we needed was in this location - shopping mall and movie theatre just around the corner and all kinds of eating places. We will definitely stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience at the Hilton Garden Inn. We always enjoy the World Series Baseball teams. We hope you placed well in the tournament. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

World Series little league trip, kids had so much fun and there is so much to do in surrounding areas. close to everything, this place stays busy people coming and going every day. very easy to get to. Just wish the pool had been outside an bigger the boys would have had more room an fun. Great time had by all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are very glad you enjoyed your time here at the Hilton Garden Inn Independence. We do share our reviews with the staff to celebrate successful guest stays. Thank you for sharing and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Everyone is smoking in their rooms and management seems unable to stop it. Water was leaking from our ac creating a wet spot on the carpet. The beds are made of cement. Very small bathrooms. I guess because of the cheaper price most of the guests look like criminals. The only upside to the rooms are the large tvs. Definitely not a typical Hilton property.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
The Hilton Garden Inn in Independence would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the recent experience you had at our hotel.

We pride ourselves in our excellent service and product. Unfortunately during your stay you did not receive what we are capable of providing. I understand your frustration level when traveling and the hotel not exceeding your expectations. We would like to discuss this situation with you further. Please contact myself or Karrie Bury at 816-350-3000 at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Club, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The pool was extremely cold and the maintenance department refused to address the issue. They stated the equipment showed the water temperature at 83 degrees but he would not even stick his hand in the water to feel how cold it was when we told him if felt like the water was around 72-74 degrees. We shortened our stay at this hotel and moved to another hotel that actually had a heated pool with water that was 84 degrees and felt like 84 degrees.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I’m so sorry you experienced issues with our pool and maintenance staff during your stay. I have reviewed your experience with the Chief Engineer to discuss re-training the staff. Please consider staying with us again the next time you are in Independence. We’d love to make your stay with us the best hotel experience ever. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed only one night on our travels west and overall was very pleased with this property and especially our room. Conveniently located a stone's throw from I-70, I recommend this location to others without hesitation.

Check-in was OK - the front desk clerks appeared a little confused and uncertain how to retrieve my reservation from their reservation system but eventually did. Unlike other properties which expedite check-in by NOT requiring me to produce my credit card, ID or sign a folio, this property did. No big deal but if other Hilton properties can do expedited check-in, it makes you wonder why others can't. One of the clerks did not have a name tag on - a no no in the hospitality business.

The room (like the rest of the hotel) was superbly clean and nicely apppointed - we loved it. We were assigned a room at the end of a hall - just where we like it - nice and quiet. The only problem with the room was it appeared they cleaned the carpet right before we checked in because it was still damp. Not a big deal except I almost fell in the bathroom when my wet sneakers slipped on the tile floor. It eventually dried several hours later but would suggest hotel mgmt. watch this more carefully. Room AC operated perfectly and was reasonably quiet so we slept very well. Again, very nice room.

We had next morning's breakfast included in our room rate because it was discounted so well. This was our greatest disappointment - food was OK, nothing special, and not quite as robust in the variety of selections as I've seen at other HGI's. But what topped that was our server. Our server seated us, brought us coffee and told us we may help ourselves but that was the last she spoke to us or came to our table again. She never came back to take dirty dishes away (even though she looked directly at us when we went back for seconds) or to check to see if everything was OK. She exhibited a very lazy approach not typical to what I've seen with other Hilton employees nationwide. As a result, I suggest others skip the breakfast here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy_yates, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Independence, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you sharing your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Independence. I’m very sorry you experienced some issues with wet carpet and the breakfast service. Our housekeeping staff works diligently to keep the carpets in excellent condition and I regret to hear you were checked into a room not quite ready for guest occupancy. I apologize for the inconvenience regarding your reservation and the check in process. We will be using your experience as a training lesson for our staff. Please consider staying with us again the next time you are in Independence. We’d love to make your stay with us the best hotel experience ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Independence

Address: 19677 E Jackson Drive, Independence, MO 64057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Independence Hotel Independence
Hilton Independence
Independence Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Independence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.