We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of fleas!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Kansas City Independence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Kansas City Independence to your Saves list
Residence Inn Kansas City Independence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3700 South Arrowhead Avenue, Independence, MO 64057   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Independence
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beware of fleas!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

We chose this hotel because of the suite style rooms and we were happy until we began picking fleas off of us right before bed. My husband and I were not sure what to do at such a late hour, but since our 1 yr old son had bite marks on him we knew it was not safe to stay the night in that room. When we were half-way moved into a new room, we noticed fleas jumping off of us and decided the safest and most sanitary decision was to switch to the neighboring hotel that was also owned by Marriott and managed by the same property group. We once again packed up and wiped down all of our belongings, toting all of them across the parking lot late into the night. The next day when discussing our horrifying and exhausting experience with the hotel manager, he insisted that a dog never stayed in our original room and that the hotel doesn't have a flea problem. In the end, we were told that a complimentary night stay for our troubles would only be granted if we returned to the flea infested Residence Inn. Now that we are home from our trip, we have cleaned or thrown away our belongings and fogged our car with the hopes that the fleas from the hotel do not make it into our home. We hope that no one has the nightmare experience that we have had.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Independence, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Residence Inn. I would liket to offer my sincere apology for the less than enjoyable stay you had at our hotel. I appreciate your concern, interest and the extra time you have taken to bring these matters to my attention.

Your comments regarding fleas are very disturbing to me as they certainly do not represent the quality of service we have proudly built our reputation. I can assure you that we have taken immediate steps to ensure that other guests do not suffer the inconveniences you experienced.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write. I sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportuity to show you our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly.

Sincerely,

Josh Reichert
Director of Sales
Residence Inn
816-795-6466
josh.reichert@archonhospitality,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
32
9
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

I stayed at this hotel with my mother while we were in town for a class. The desk staff was courteous and the room was very clean.

The breakfast was wonderful every morning. The bedding was very comfortable and the pool and jacuzzi were wonderful. The exercise room was small and warm. The air conditioner didn't work and there was only one treadmill working.

I did ask for an extra blanket in the morning before leaving for class, and had not received it by the evening when we returned. I did go to the desk and asked again and they were able to get one for me right away.

Our room was a decent size but the bathroom was small. The bathroom door didn't close all the way for some reason. There were plenty of towels and shampoo, lotion, condition.

The kitchenette was well stocked with pots/pans/glasses/silverware etc.

Overall it was a great stay!

  • Liked — Less than half mile from the mall and WalMart... lots of places to eat and shop.
  • Disliked — Noise outside the window at night...
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

Just stayed here for most of a week with a large group (softball team). We had a great stay and the hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. An excellent place for an extended stay and we were all very pleased with the service that we received. Breakfasts were good and the evening receptions were also. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Kansas City area - very convenient to many restaurants and close to the KC sports complex also.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

We stayed here for a week recently, and liked it. Clean, safe, quiet neighborhood, great breakfast, nice indoor pool, good access to surrounding area. Marriott has strong quality standards, and that's why I keep coming back. Not luxury, but for extended stay it is a good place to call home. Two small problems - front desk service could have been more attentive - we had a person who did not seem to care and gave us keys to a room that was not ready, also there was major construction on the main road nearby (5/07) and easy access to the hotel was often a real pain. From what we saw, I doubt you do better in the Independence area.

  • Liked — clean safe good size room
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

Great, Clean , Nice Place to stay.
Roomy rooms, Great Hot Breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2005

This Residence Inn is very nice. Our room was in excellent condition and clean. The help was helpful with a smile. Indoor pool, didn't give it a try, maybe next time. Also the commerical neighborhood, the mall & etc just two blocks to the south. In a quiet neighborhood, no noise from traffic! Thumbs up baby!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Mo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2004

We stayed here while work was being done on our home. The staff was friendly, the suite was clean and roomy. I would recomend this hotel to anyone needed more space than just a "hotel room" and staying in Independence.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Kansas City Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kansas City Independence

Address: 3700 South Arrowhead Avenue, Independence, MO 64057
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kansas City Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Kansas City Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kansas City Independence Hotel Independence
Residence Inn Independence
Independence Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.