We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a motel should be.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19400 East 39th Place South, Independence, MO 64057   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clinton, Arkansas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Everything a motel should be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Every year I spend a week in KC watching the Royals. I have stayed everywhere you can think of in Independence, but now my search is over. This is the best of the bunch. The staff was as friendly, helpful and cordial as you could wish for.

The room was great. I had a Queen suite and it was plenty big. The kitchen was nice and fully stocked. My only complaint, which is the same complaint I have at every suites, is that the ice maker takes so long to start making a useable amount of ice. No problem if you are there for a week, but very frustrating if you are there for just one night.

The front desk was exceptional. They helped me book some rooms for a Bruce Springsteen concert in November--they went out of their way to help me get conneting rooms for me and my grandchildren.

Definitely my "go to" place in Kansas City. Excellent! One night at the social they had hamburgers and hot dogs. They were better than a lot of hamburgers you would get at fast food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    13
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
15
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Booked a number of rooms (11 to 13) over multiple days. All the other reviews cover most of the bases. Will only add that for those staying a week or more, a Costco is just around the corner for basics, a full mall is just across the street, and a full service hospital is around the corner (one of our family had to use the ER during the stay). Very short drive to all the sites in Independence (Turman House, Turman Library, etc) as well as a 20 minute drive to downtown Kansas City. The Tuesday thru Thursday evening meal is just that, a full meal after which there is no need to go out to dinner. Used a dedicated room as a Hospitality Room which could easily handle 12 to 15 people at a time to talk and gather. The "Great Room" also service as a very good gathering spot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My first Staybridge Suites experience and the next time we take the grandkids on a trip I will look for one of these! This property is fairly new. Great friendly staff - fun atmosphere. Great suite! And it really is a suite - not a just a few extra feet of space with a loveseat squeezed in. And the kitchenette is nicely tucked into the corner by the door, not right next to the bed. As it is newer, it is nicely furnished - lots of quality furniture, nice carpet, excellent bed and bedding. Furniture is larger than most places - a spacious desk and large nightstands. TV etc was fine. What I really liked was the "hall table" that extra bit of surface space that most hotels seem to be missing. Cute little living room, nice bedroom area and divided bath with the sink outside of the tub/toilet area. I know some people don't like this, but the counter area and sink storage were spacious. and a great real closet, with some horizontal lower shelves and a laundry basket. Overall the space was comparable in size to a couple of senior assisted living apartments that I have seen. And an excellent courtyard - when I arrived at 6ish (pm) groups of people were gathered around the area at tables with adult beverages they had brought and it is a great place for socializing. There are also a couple of outdoor areas with grills to grill your own food. Did not get to use the pool or hot tub, as I was out for the evening until pool closing time - but there were still people in there and it looked like a great fun hot tub and pool combo. In the am I had coffee out there and it is also a lovely garden area. Breakfast was super - and they keep refilling right up until the end. I did notice that I could hear noise from other rooms - but I travel with a small fan for white noise and had no problem sleeping.

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground floor by the pool - actually pretty quiet but I am a late night person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

From the moment I arrived, I was greeted and helped by an extremely helpful host on both trips. They explained everything to me about what I call benefits of staying at Staybridge! Breakfast and dinners included, cozy pool and hot tub, hands down the friendliest staff I have ever encountered at a hotel. From now on when I travel, it's Staybridge for me, even if it means I have to drive a little further! Just can't be beat!!! Thank you all for making my stay extremely pleasurable. And thank you for honoring my military service, it means a lot to us veterans!

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor on both visits so far; not a single complaint!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I recently had 8 weeks of training in Kansas City and was worried about where I would be staying for such a long period of time. From the moment I checked into Staybridge I felt welcome and comfortable. The room i was staying in was well provided with a stovetop, microwave, good sized fridge, and comfortable bed. Everything about my first half hour at Staybridge was impressive, and I could easly spend 8 weeks in a place like this. To my surprise a great room and great hotel was filled with great people, not the snobby people you would expect from a well kept and run hotel. These people were some of the friendliest people i have encountered on the road. From Mike the GM who runs this great hotel to Luis who cooks and serves most of the meals, these people were top notch. I trained during the day, so I didnt have much interaction with the daytime crew at the hotel, but I have to say that the night crew who ran Staybridge, Antionette, Tayler, and .....Morgan, were people who, after 8 weeks, you didnt just feel were workers at the hotel, but friends. These people are some of the most welcoming people I have ever had the chance to talk to, and the did one hell of a job at answering any questions or any requests I had.
To anyone who has a long trip comming up in the future, I would highly recommend Staybridge Suites, Independence MO, and enjoy every minute of it.
One more tip, make sure if you do visit, goto the Longhorn steakhouse in LeeSummit, one of the best Longhorns Iv'e ever been to. B )
Tobin66

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific northwest
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Perfect ! Beautiful suite, super comfortable furnishings, wonderful breakfast, really friendly front desk staff, tasteful common areas. Will definitely stay again when in the KC area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is my second time staying at this hotel. I went early one morning after I had been to a concert.The room was nice and clean. The front desk person was nice and helpful. My problem was housekeeping knocked on my door 3 separate times! I checked into my room after 3 am so was trying to sleep til checkout. The issue was I didn't realize they have magnets instead of the hanging thing for the door to say do not disturb. This could have been because I was sooo tired. It would've helped in a situation like this for the front desk person to mention to put the magnet on the door if I wanted to sleep late. I'm not sure what the housekeeping policy is but they knocked on my door at 9:30, 10:30, and 11:30. I didn't get up because I was not fully dressed to open the door. It was just so frustrating considering I had a long drive ahead of me and was trying to get as much sleep as possible. Other than this problem, I love this hotel. I just will know next time to use the magnet for my door if I want to sleep in.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence

Address: 19400 East 39th Place South, Independence, MO 64057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel. 102 suites: studios; one-bedroom; two-bedroom; conference suites. All suites have a full kitchen. Pet friendly hotel offering complimentary full breakfast buffet daily. Sundowner receptions Tues, Wed & Thurs evenings, offering a light meal, beer & wine complimentary. Business Center, complimentary guest laundry, outdoor salt water pool & spa, all suites feature DVD players, DVD's available on loan at Front Desk, Fitness Center, and many additional features. All of the comforts of home while on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence Hotel Independence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.