We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Presidential Library” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harry S. Truman Library and Museum

Harry S. Truman Library and Museum
500 W. US Hwy. 24, Delaware Street, Independence, MO
816-268-8200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Attractions in Independence
Type: Libraries, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exhibits and archives relating to Truman's life and administration.
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A Very Good Presidential Library”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

A well organized set of exhibits. Love that the working office was left as he had it so one gets a sense of his real style and work habits. The presentations flowed nicely. A good mix of information on President Truman and the times he lived in.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    67
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Exhibits are great --- and I learned a lot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I will admit that I didn't know much about Truman before my visit. However, after spending a few hours at the Library, I feel like I know a lot more about him, and history in general. The exhibits here are so well put together, that it's easy to linger and really get a lot of information in an interesting and engaging way. It was fascinating to learn not only about Truman, but about some of the events that happened during his administration. After visiting the Library, I wouldn't mind reading more about him now.

Really a great place to visit!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We found ourselves in KC visiting family for a short visit and had some time to explore. Well everyone said we should visit Truman's Library so we did. Very interesting. Lots of history and well worth the visit. Learned a lot about one of the more humble presidents we were fortunate enough to have. Unfortunately we spent so much time here (you can and should do this) we weren't able to tour the home. We did manage to stop at the soda shop on our way out of town.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Truman Library”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Excellent museum tracing the life and times of the Truman's life in Missouri and Washington DC. Only drawback is limited parking and a long walk to the Museum from the parking lot.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very interesting, I'm glad we went!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have lived in the Kansas City area for 14 years and wish we had visited the library years ago! This is the first Presidential library we have visited and I was pleasantly surprised that it is so much more than a library! I would recommend that prior to touring the library and museum you view the film documentary -- it gives a great background to all the exhibits and I felt like I had a better feel for the exhibits and Harry Truman. The staff was very helpful and gave us very interesting tidbits about the library/museum and President Truman. I will definitely recommend this for visitors to our City.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry S. Truman Library and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Harry S. Truman Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry S. Truman Library and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.