We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Different Type” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
116 S Pleasant, Independence, MO 64050   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Independence B&B and Inns
Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Different Type”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

My husband and our daughter stayed in the "Spirit of Independence Suite” suite for 6 nights. I thought the place was very charming and reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area. I was somewhat disappointed by the lack of a phone, and my husband missed watching his cable T.V. However, they did have wireless Internet that worked well. The host and hostess were very pleasant and accommodating. Doug took us for a tour of the entire house and Susan has the rooms stocked with little amenities, toothpaste, toothbrushes, tea, coffee, soaps, and even candy in the dishes. The rooms were very eclectic and clean (I even check under the mattress for vermin). The living room furniture was not the most comfortable but the beds were great. It was great having a full sizes kitchen and the garden was beautiful. Breakfast was always at 8AM sharp and always consisted of quiche, a muffin, and stewed fruit. However it was good and the coffee was great!
Don’t stay there if you’re looking for something similar to the Holiday Inn. If you like something a little out of the ordinary, this is the place.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — no phone
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    1
    1
    7
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

We recently stayed for 2 nights in the carriage house at Serendipity B&B, and were thouroughly impressed. Although not terribly excited about the many antiques in the photos, this B&B truly was a pleasant suprise. The hostess was great, the property was within walking distance to several restaurants, and the breakfast was good. Be sure to ask for a very interesting tour of the main house! We would highly recommend this as a place to stay in Kansas City, and thouroughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2005

My wife and I have stayed at this B&B at least once per year for the last five years. It's such a pleasant getaway no matter what season of the year. The breakfast we were served was wonderful. Our host was very courteous. The historic downtown Independence is so close too. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a fascinating overnight stay at a beautiful old home.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2005

I have stayed twice at the Serendipity B&B, and if in the KC area, will again. I found it such and interesting, old mansion, and when asked for a tour of the main house, Susan was more than happy to show and tell the history and stories of the place.
I stayed both times in the carriage house, and enjoyed the B&B, town and area so much I plan to do so again.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2005

Our anniversary was a memorable occasion in the Serendipity Carriage House surrounded by Victorian antiques, a window full of colored glass vases, beautiful lithophanes (porcelain pictures), lots of interesting old books, and colorful gardens. After a delicious breakfast of spiced fruit, strawberry muffins and ham and cheese quiche, the owner took us on a tour of the 14 room home built in 1887. Every nook and cranny was filled with beautiful antiques. A very pleasant experience. We highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2005

Nine of my women friends & I spent 2 nights in the cottage house having a terrific adult "slumber" party. We had use of the complete house, including the kitchen, and had a wonderful time. Susan was very accommodating about everything. She even took our group photo and gave each of us a copy our last morning. While there, a terrible ice storm occurred and Susan insisted that we stay past normal check-out time to give the road graders time to clear the streets. We are only sorry the weather wasn't suitable for a ride in the antique car.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2005

My husband and I spent a pleasant weekend at the Serendipity B & B. We brought our small dog and were accomodated very nicely. We were given an informative and interesting tour of the main house after being served a delicious breakfast. All of the furniture, dishes, etc were from the victorian time period. The garden was especially beautiful with hidden treasures everywhere you looked.
We would suggest you make Serendipity your next stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Serendipity Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Address: 116 S Pleasant, Independence, MO 64050
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Independence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Serendipity Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list