We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay. Close to Truman Library.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Truman Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Truman Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Truman Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4048 South Lynn Court, Independence, MO 64055 (Formerly Shoneys)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Independence
Seattle, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay. Close to Truman Library.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Comfortable hotel, nice amenities. Friendly, professional staff. Breakfast at the hotel had good food and a nice assortment. Nice that the hotel is so close to the Truman Library. Receptionist was right on with her dinner recommendations. Thanks for a nice introduction to Independence, MO.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Truman Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello Miss Diane R.,

We sincerely appreciate your very generous reviews for our services and accommodation provided for you during your stay in Best Western Truman. Your comments inspire our Team and we assure you that we will maintain the quality of service that we provide for all our guests.

Thank you for giving us your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    87
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
61
49
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Very satisfied with our stay. Rooms are very clean, due to what looks like outstanding teamwork on behalf of housekeeping staff. Bathroom is very small, so big folks beware! They are pet-friendly as well. Great job, Best Western Truman Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Truman Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello Miss Wendy,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Best Western Truman.

I apologize if our bathroom size has discomforts you. We will make certain to provide you a room with bigger bathroom on your next visit in our hotel. We are glad that we have provided you comfortable accommodation and our place convenient for your travel purpose. Your positive review indeed inspires our team to be more attentive and keen to provide our guests with the best, deserved, quality accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

check in was great. room was another story. upon entry noticed a smell in room from carpet . complained to front desk and they switched us to another room which also had a odor but not as bad . bed was good . 1st room had micro fridge. second room didnt.management was great thru it all took care to make sure we were satisfied.

Room Tip: always try to get room on back side away from hiway. much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Truman Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Ron C.,

My sincerest apologies for the inconvenience on our carpet issue, we assure you we will implement corrective measures to address these concerns accordingly. Thank you for appreciating the effort of our staff in making certain that you will be comfortable in your room.

We hope to have another chance to provide your next accommodation needs in Best Western Truman soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel was very clean. Front desk staff very nice. Would stay there again, just not park in the front parking lot. It is so small and you can get stuck there till other people finish checking in. Park in the back and walk up to the front of the hotel to check in. Otherwise you may be waiting a while.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Truman Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Miss Christine,

Thank you for your positive reviews on the cleanliness of our hotel and our staff’s responsiveness, it is an added motivation for our team to be able to be on top of our priority at work at all times. I appreciate your posting parking tips for other guests as well, grateful. I will evaluate that matter and implement corrective measures.

I sincerely hope we could have another opportunity of providing your next accommodation needs soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Though we usually stay in more upscale lodging, the Truman Inn was at the right location for us for a night's stay near a relative, and I'm glad we chose it. Our first impression was positive, as the exterior and lobby are very inviting, and the front desk manager was friendly and courteous.
The motel surely had been recently remodeled; with fresh paint and new bathroom fixtures and furniture, the room was quite pleasant. Sparkling white towels for the bath and clean smelling sheets on the comfortable bed were great.
Another reviewer commented on a loud air conditioner. Ours was so quiet we hardly noticed when it came on. A different reviewer commented on an odor they believed to be covering up the smell of smoke. There was a fairly strong, though pleasant, odor when we first arrived, but I didn't notice it later, even after leaving and returning. I never got the slightest hint of a cigarette smell. My suggestion would always be to ask for another room if you sense a problem; usually these things can be resolved. The real problem occurs when they are not taken care of.
I have nothing negative to say about this property. We definitely would choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Truman Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello cliving,

Thank you very much for the very inspiring, generous review for Best Western Truman.
Your comments indeed inspire us to be more productive in performing our responsibilities and be able to provide the best value service for all our guests. Indeed, things can be resolved with proper communications. Your reviews guide us to address our guests requirements and preferences accordingly.

I am sincerely grateful for appreciating our effort to implement a better, more inviting environment in our property.

We look forward to your next visit in our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The beds were the best, very comfortable. They provided a great list of places to eat with directions on how to get there. Breakfast was super. They have a pancake maker. Fresh and hot in about one minute.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Truman Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello Miss Peggy,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Best Western Truman.

Your reviews complete our business and ensures we have successfully provided your most deserved accommodation for giving us your business. We are happy that we have served your breakfast to your liking.

We assure you, we will work our best to maintain the quality of services you enjoyed during your stay.

I look forward to your next visit in our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful. We were a large group and everyone was helpful with accommodating us. We used the pool and the breakfast area. They opened the conference room and started breakfast a bit early as there were so many of us. The breakfast was very good, as well, with a good variety. The only issue that people brought up was that some of the showers did not drain very well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Truman Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello Jason/Daniel K.,

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in Best Western Truman including your breakfast.

I apologize however for the inconvenience in the shower area. We assure you that this matter was already corrected and you will surely have a better stay on your next visit in our hotel.

Thank you very much for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Truman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Truman Inn

Address: 4048 South Lynn Court, Independence, MO 64055 (Formerly Shoneys)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Truman Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Truman Inn where the service is impeccable, the amenities top-notch and the accommodations are comfortable and affordable. This Missouri Best Western hotel offers guests convenient access to many area businesses, attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Independence. Guests staying at this Independence hotel will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable satellite television, microwave, refrigerator and free high-speed Internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served every morning in the hotel's breakfast area. The Best Western Truman Inn is also equipped with an outdoor swimming pool for relaxing. The hospitable staff at the Best Western Truman Inn is ready to ensure a comfortable stay. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Truman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Truman Hotel Independence
Best Western Independence
Independence Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Truman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.