We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely remodeled and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Truman Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Truman Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Truman Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4048 South Lynn Court, Independence, MO 64055   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Spencer, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nicely remodeled and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Though we usually stay in more upscale lodging, the Truman Inn was at the right location for us for a night's stay near a relative, and I'm glad we chose it. Our first impression was positive, as the exterior and lobby are very inviting, and the front desk manager was friendly and courteous.
The motel surely had been recently remodeled; with fresh paint and new bathroom fixtures and furniture, the room was quite pleasant. Sparkling white towels for the bath and clean smelling sheets on the comfortable bed were great.
Another reviewer commented on a loud air conditioner. Ours was so quiet we hardly noticed when it came on. A different reviewer commented on an odor they believed to be covering up the smell of smoke. There was a fairly strong, though pleasant, odor when we first arrived, but I didn't notice it later, even after leaving and returning. I never got the slightest hint of a cigarette smell. My suggestion would always be to ask for another room if you sense a problem; usually these things can be resolved. The real problem occurs when they are not taken care of.
I have nothing negative to say about this property. We definitely would choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Truman Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello cliving,

Thank you very much for the very inspiring, generous review for Best Western Truman.
Your comments indeed inspire us to be more productive in performing our responsibilities and be able to provide the best value service for all our guests. Indeed, things can be resolved with proper communications. Your reviews guide us to address our guests requirements and preferences accordingly.

I am sincerely grateful for appreciating our effort to implement a better, more inviting environment in our property.

We look forward to your next visit in our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    130
    44
    15
    7
See reviews for
94
83
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The beds were the best, very comfortable. They provided a great list of places to eat with directions on how to get there. Breakfast was super. They have a pancake maker. Fresh and hot in about one minute.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Truman Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello Miss Peggy,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Best Western Truman.

Your reviews complete our business and ensures we have successfully provided your most deserved accommodation for giving us your business. We are happy that we have served your breakfast to your liking.

We assure you, we will work our best to maintain the quality of services you enjoyed during your stay.

I look forward to your next visit in our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful. We were a large group and everyone was helpful with accommodating us. We used the pool and the breakfast area. They opened the conference room and started breakfast a bit early as there were so many of us. The breakfast was very good, as well, with a good variety. The only issue that people brought up was that some of the showers did not drain very well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Truman Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello Jason/Daniel K.,

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in Best Western Truman including your breakfast.

I apologize however for the inconvenience in the shower area. We assure you that this matter was already corrected and you will surely have a better stay on your next visit in our hotel.

Thank you very much for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great location and accessible to many good restaurants and entertainment venues. A good price and quality while not having to spend the cost of staying in a big city location. Rooms are clean and service is excellent. Was not an issue for me but it should be noted that a railroad track is just to the west of the hotel and Interstate 70 runs parallel to the south side of hotel. During warm weather, enjoy the Sheridan's Ice Cream right next to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveParmar, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Truman Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mr. David T.,

We are grateful that you find our hotel convenient for your travel purpose and our services of good value. Receiving positive reviews from our guests motivate us even more to work for continuous improvement and provide our guests with nothing less than the best in return for giving us your business.

We look forward to your next visit in Best Western Truman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Upon our trip home from Ohio to Oregon, after a brief stay over in Louisville, KY. My wife and I drove to Independence, MO. this Best Western reminds me of the old motels I used to stay at while traveling as a child with my parents. All room have outside access and parking right outside the door. Room was nice, however I do have to say the "red" shower was somewhat a surprise. We did not use the pool, however it looked really nice. Although the motel is right next to I-70 you could not hear the trucks as they pass thru. The breakfast in the morning was very good. Breakfast burittos, fresh fruit, pastries, pancakes, cereal, milk, juice,coffee & teas, Motel staff nice and helpful. I would recommend for all travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg MD, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very close to Kauffman Stadium and Truman library and museum the two places we wanted to visit. The room was clean and service outstanding. There was a good variety of options at breakfast. We would definitely stay there if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Ball team wasn't used to a facility that was more like a motel (outside entrances to rooms) but this one looked nice and had a nice pool area. Room was fine with a very comfortable with a king-sized bed, although toilet and shower area were just a little small, but that was really no issue. Staff were very friendly. The only thing we brought up was having outside trash receptacles dumped more often.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Independence/Kansas City Area
3.2 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#4 of 19 in Independence
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
3.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 19 in Independence
3.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
4.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Independence
Drury Inn & Suites Independence
#1 of 19 in Independence
5.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Truman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Truman Inn

Address: 4048 South Lynn Court, Independence, MO 64055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Independence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Independence
#5 Business Hotel in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Truman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Truman Inn where the service is impeccable, the amenities top-notch and the accommodations are comfortable and affordable. This Missouri Best Western hotel offers guests convenient access to many area businesses, attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Independence. Guests staying at this Independence hotel will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable satellite television, microwave, refrigerator and free high-speed Internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served every morning in the hotel's breakfast area. The Best Western Truman Inn is also equipped with an outdoor swimming pool for relaxing. The hospitable staff at the Best Western Truman Inn is ready to ensure a comfortable stay. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Truman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Truman Hotel Independence
Best Western Independence
Independence Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Truman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.