We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it was...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rhineland Restaurant

Rhineland Restaurant
208 North Main Street, Independence, MO 64050
816-461-5383
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 218 restaurants in Independence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was here the last week of June. We came for lunch and were disappointed to see that sauerbraten was not on the lunch menu. I was looking forward to it especially. We had 5 adults in our party (there were also 3 children with us but I had brought kid food for them) and it took 40 minutes to get our meals. Apparently the order from a party of nine had beat ours to the kitchen. Please hire another cook! I had the beef lover's sandwich with the german potato salad on the side. Sandwich was good, but the salad was bland. Not enough vinegar in it. My husband said the red cabbage side dish was good. I won't remember this place as fondly as I used to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    15
    18
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I were in Kansas City on a business trip, we stayed in Independence and found this lovely little German Restaurant on the downtown square. My Mom is German...so anytime we find a German restaurant we try them....and we were not let down by the Rhineland Restaurant! I would recommend this restaurant for sure to anyone wanting to enjoy a wonderful German dinner. The food was great and the staff was wonderful!! We will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent German food & friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just down the street from the ticket & information center for the Harry Truman Home, this restaurant serves excellent German fare, with a wide range of familiar dishes. With friendly service, it was obvious that this restaurant is a favorite with local residents. As tourists, we felt lucky to have chosen it for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good German Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The food here was good German fare. We lived in Germany for two years so we recognize good German food. We had the schnitzel and it was excellent. I recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Authentically good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I don't know if it is authentic German food but it is always authentically good food. I think their prices are a little high ($3.25 for a glass of tea) but the food, service and atmosphere make up for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhineland Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rhineland Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhineland Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.